We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was very convenient for us as we caught the express bus from the airport, straight to the bus station across the road from the hotel. It's a little walk to the shopping area but only a few blocks and still convenient to the free tram and the river with Southbank and the casino on the other side. Our room was clean and tidy and the staff on reception, very helpful with recommendations for dining.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbity5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    516
    67
    20
    3
See reviews for
276
569
122
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we arrived at the Alto, we were early, the office staff stored our luggage and allowed us to stay in the coffee lounge, and then they let us know when our room was ready!
The coffee lounge is amazing, there is a coffee machine that allows the guests to have either a takeaway espresso or hot chocolate, also there is tea available!
We enjoyed being able to have a coffee or hot chocolate whenever we wanted!
When we first arrived the room was neat, clean and modern. Our luggage had been delivered, and the room looked amazing.
The location was amazing, with a shopping centre only a few buildings away and a seven 11, Hudson coffee and a subway very close. The Alto is located right next to the tramline.
We loved our stay and always felt safe and welcomed from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

There are no surprises staying at The Alto. Everything was very good. Very Clean and excellent customer service. Beautiful Breakfast. The only downfall was the coffee at breakfast. Unfortunately we are spoiled with nesspresso at home. And at The Alto the coffee which is serve yourself is ordinary and to out taste quite weak. But this is only a minor co0mplaint. We will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel. it's small neat and clean but Thank you for your service my friend and I both loved it and Great service with a smile. Very close to everything in Melbourne city tram station right outside with taxi's available at your door 24/7

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although the room and amenities at Alto were very good, I found the customer service appalling. It was such as shame, as I was celebrating my birthday weekend.

While I was out celebrating my birthday, one of the occupants back in the room had dirtied the carpet. Upon my return to the hotel, the receptionist on night duty treated me in a provocative manner which I found to be highly unacceptable. Prior to even showing me the damages, he damaged for my credit card to pay for dry cleaning services. He also threatened to call the police if I didn't provide my financial details.

This was extremely unprofessional behaviour with little regard to customer service. Of course, after I was shown the damages, I willingly offered my credit card for compensation. However, I believe the whole ordeal could have been dealt with in a much more amicable manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MysticMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am disappointed that our customer service was found lacking. Our front desk staff believed they were being frank and concise however as you have stated you felt that this was provocative. We are appreciative that after initial denial of responsibility for the unnecessary and avoidable damage, payment was made for the estimated costs for extraordinary cleaning and sanitising of room. I note that a refund was subsequently made to the guest as the actual costs incurred by the hotel was lower than estimated.

It would appear that the front desk staff may have been more abrupt than necessary. This has been addressed with them directly so that a balance between applying policies and retaining exceptional guest service can be met. The front desk staff manner may have been in response to another breach of the agreed conditions of stay where several additional guests above the registered names and number permitted for occupancy attempted to gain access. There may have been a misunderstanding regarding police involvement as they would be asked to attend only in the extreme circumstances that someone had been asked to leave the premises and had refused, therefore commit a trespass. This would have been discussed in relation to excessive number of people occupying the room.

Gary Stickland
General Manager - Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill End, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We picked up 2 nights for the 2013 GF at a joke price, but at least we had a bed. Our room was on level 2 and the noise level is a serious problem.

When we finally did get to sleep, the morning trams woke us up! Given the room size and noise, there are much better offering elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Rooms at Alto are fitted with double glazing that can be open for fresh air. When closed the double glazing keeps out most of the big city noises. AFLGrand Final weekend is certainly a busy weekend with most hotels fully booked and comparatively high prices charged due to very high demand. Since this stay Yarra Trams have undertaken significant work on the tram tracks that run past the hotel. These repairs have removed the tram / track noise that some guests may have experienced in the past.

Gary Stickland
General Manager - Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
335 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a 4 night stay with our 2 teenagers. Good location. Even though we had requested and parking was included in our booking we had to insist that this was the case upon check-in. They needed notice to reserve the park also. Parking is off site across the tram track. Dryer is hopeless in the room as it is a combined washing & drying machine. You will need to use the guest laundry room for this. Handy though to everything which we liked.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good Location indeed. Alto is centrally located within easy walk of most attractions or take one of Melbourne's famous trams just outside our door to other locations in the city.

While parking is included in some packages as spaces are limited a booking for car space is required.

Our 2 bedroom Superior & Deluxe Apartments as well as 3 bedroom apartment are fitted with a combined washer and dryer. The dryer uses condensing technology which removes moisture from the air in the machine and drains into normal water waste instead of exhausting moist air into the apartment. Condensing dryers have a longer cycle than a conventional dryer. We have indicated on the appliance instructions that a standard load will take 60-90 minutes to dry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing