We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick over nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We regularly use this facility whenever in Melbourne. On this occasion it was just an overnight stop to catch an early flight to Queensland. The location close to Southern Cross station and the Skybus terminal make this an excellent place to stay. Front of house staff are always friendly, rooms, although sometimes a little cramped, are always clean and well presented. The small box of chocolates in the room, on arrival, is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a few nights here in July and was more than happy with the service and accomodation. Rooms are small but perfectly comfortable. Reception staff are more than helpful and try their best to solve any issues you may have. The only issue we had was with the restaurant. It was far too busy to cope at breakfast time and we had to wait for space to dine. Due to the lack of space in the restaurant we tried ordering room service. However, after a long wait we called down for our food and it was brought up rather cold and tired looking. I complained to the desk on departure and they did refund the meal. It is clear the kitchen is too small to cope with the demands of the guests, which soured what was an otherwise excellent stay. Would still recommend, but try elsewhere for dinner.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank THEWORLDISNOTENUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Glad to read that you found our rooms are comfortable.

Alto is a small boutique hotel that does have a small restaurant. We are pleased that at times our restaurant is popular. As with larger hotels the restaurant is not designed to be able to accommodate the majority of guests in the hotel at the one time. Should many guests decide to dine at a similar time there may be a slight delay in being seated. We will always do our best to seat and serve as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great staff, good location the National Gallery of Victoria and shops were within a comfortable walk, the room was clean, comfortable and the on site cafe did enjoyable food. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good staff, room facilities and location. All though small the rooms were more than adequate for my wife and I for our 2 night stay.The $10 a day car parking was a great feature. Definitely will stay in the future. Loved the complimentary hot chocolate in the foyer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaiOra_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have my favourite places to stay in Melbourne for work but upon a friend's recommendation I decided to try the Alto. Check in was prompt & more professional than friendly. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and "cosy" - probably a little too cosy for my liking but fine for a couple of days. Bed was super comfortable. I had issues with wifi connection and no one at reception was able to help other than to offer a cable which I had to get myself. Had the trip not been for work it wouldn't have bothered me but time is money & it was a hassle. I didn't eat breakfast here as the menu was not at all appealing, but grabbed a great breakkie at the cafe a few doors down. I would stay here again but next time would abandon my colleague and stay in a one bedroom in the hope it was a little more spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitrioleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Great to read another guest found our Alto Indulgence bed "super comfortable" as a good nights sleep is often the main aspect wanted from a hotel. Our 2 bedroom apartments are cosy but with all the things you need like 100+ channels of Fotxel & Freeview on a LED HD TV, safe, iron and board, hairdryer, free espresso coffee and fruit in the guest lounge and prompt, profession service. and of course free wifi. While we have armed ourselves with common issues with most computers there are some tech issues beyond our knowledge base. I am glad that we had a cable for ethernet connection at reception that could be used to get online. We are in the final stages of upgrading our wifi network which will solves some tech issues that arise from time to time.

Our continental buffet has a wide range of items and the cooked to order menu options including New York Bagel, Brioche with avocado and cream cheese, french toast and pancakes plus eggs in a variety of styles and combinations. We revise the menu regularly and will do so again to try and make it more appealing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights, initially selected this hotel for location and parking. Would return thanks to very knowledgeable staff, very up to date facilities (ready to go HDMI cable for the main TV for example) overall excellent quality.

Very happy for the price paid!

Room Tip: There is a bit of tram noise for the forward apartments (Queen Spa ones) would avoid for light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you Nathan W. We do try to keep our guest service team up to date on local happenings and general knowledge of Melbourne. Generally we listen to what guests need and find answers that we can use again as the needs of one travelers are likely to arise again from another guest.

The HDMI & USB connection to our LED HD TV's is proving to be much appreciated. The choice of 100+ Foxtel and Freeview channels adds even more viewing choice.

Yarra Trams have been working with us to resolved some minor noise from some trams and have added a speed restriction sign as speeding trams at the crossover points near the hotel are the cause. Yarra Trams plan to repair to fault soon when the track is shut down for other maintenance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose to stay at Alto on Bourke due to its proximity to Southern Cross Station. It was certainly an easy walk from the sky bus drop off point and a comfortable experience overall. The highlights for us were the incredibly comfortable bed and the the restored building with windows you could open. The room we had was a petite queen which was indeed very petite, in fact more suited to a solo traveller but manageable for a couple not wanting to spend too much time in their room. When on holiday in Melbourne we prefer to stay in Southbank but as we had work commitments this side of town, Alton on Bourke met our requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
676 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 162 in Melbourne
8,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing