We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy apartment but WiFi issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have my favourite places to stay in Melbourne for work but upon a friend's recommendation I decided to try the Alto. Check in was prompt & more professional than friendly. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and "cosy" - probably a little too cosy for my liking but fine for a couple of days. Bed was super comfortable. I had issues with wifi connection and no one at reception was able to help other than to offer a cable which I had to get myself. Had the trip not been for work it wouldn't have bothered me but time is money & it was a hassle. I didn't eat breakfast here as the menu was not at all appealing, but grabbed a great breakkie at the cafe a few doors down. I would stay here again but next time would abandon my colleague and stay in a one bedroom in the hope it was a little more spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitrioleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Great to read another guest found our Alto Indulgence bed "super comfortable" as a good nights sleep is often the main aspect wanted from a hotel. Our 2 bedroom apartments are cosy but with all the things you need like 100+ channels of Fotxel & Freeview on a LED HD TV, safe, iron and board, hairdryer, free espresso coffee and fruit in the guest lounge and prompt, profession service. and of course free wifi. While we have armed ourselves with common issues with most computers there are some tech issues beyond our knowledge base. I am glad that we had a cable for ethernet connection at reception that could be used to get online. We are in the final stages of upgrading our wifi network which will solves some tech issues that arise from time to time.

Our continental buffet has a wide range of items and the cooked to order menu options including New York Bagel, Brioche with avocado and cream cheese, french toast and pancakes plus eggs in a variety of styles and combinations. We revise the menu regularly and will do so again to try and make it more appealing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights, initially selected this hotel for location and parking. Would return thanks to very knowledgeable staff, very up to date facilities (ready to go HDMI cable for the main TV for example) overall excellent quality.

Very happy for the price paid!

Room Tip: There is a bit of tram noise for the forward apartments (Queen Spa ones) would avoid for light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you Nathan W. We do try to keep our guest service team up to date on local happenings and general knowledge of Melbourne. Generally we listen to what guests need and find answers that we can use again as the needs of one travelers are likely to arise again from another guest.

The HDMI & USB connection to our LED HD TV's is proving to be much appreciated. The choice of 100+ Foxtel and Freeview channels adds even more viewing choice.

Yarra Trams have been working with us to resolved some minor noise from some trams and have added a speed restriction sign as speeding trams at the crossover points near the hotel are the cause. Yarra Trams plan to repair to fault soon when the track is shut down for other maintenance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose to stay at Alto on Bourke due to its proximity to Southern Cross Station. It was certainly an easy walk from the sky bus drop off point and a comfortable experience overall. The highlights for us were the incredibly comfortable bed and the the restored building with windows you could open. The room we had was a petite queen which was indeed very petite, in fact more suited to a solo traveller but manageable for a couple not wanting to spend too much time in their room. When on holiday in Melbourne we prefer to stay in Southbank but as we had work commitments this side of town, Alton on Bourke met our requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights . Moderate priced and cheap overnight packing available just walking distance.. Very good location and ;you are able to walk everywhere , shopping , restaurant etc.
The staffs are very friendly and nothing too much to ask.
The room is a bit small but have a very comfortable bed.
Will certainly stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shugrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed two nights on a business trip, where location (rather than facilities) was the key concern.

Key positives:
* Location - the hotel is a 3 minute walk from Southern Cross Station, where the Skybus arrives from the airport. Being on Bourke Street, with a tram stop outside, you're in the heart of the business district. 5-10 minute walk to Southbank.
* Free internet - with a separate user ID/password issued for each device.
* Friendly service - warm welcome from the front desk. My room wasn't ready when I arrived around 10am, but they had good suggestions where to go for breakfast. My room was ready when I returned at noon.
* Comfortable room size - suited my needs very well, with king size bed, couch, desk
* Clean bathroom - 'nuff said
* Green operations - a sign in the room says the hotel runs 100% on wind power. Wasn't my key consideration when booking, but nice to know. And you can donate A$4 at the front desk to plant a tree.

Drawbacks:
Almost too petty to mention, but...
* Window looked onto a wall - didn't worry me, as I was out and about most of the time. Plus the central location was good value for money. But yeah, don't expect great city views from the first floor.

I did not use the lounge or restaurant.

Room Tip: If you must have a view out the window, specify this when booking. I had booked a Studio but got up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you Mark L. Glad you had a good stay at Alto your review sums up our hotel quite well. Friendly, efficient, clean and "green" all in a convenient location. Free Wi-Fi is one of the services everyone likes and usually make good use of. We are about to upgrade our WiFi network to ensure we are prepared for the ever increasing use of mobile devices.

Yes we are a small boutique hotel in large city so views are limited, however all rooms have a window or in some cases a balcony that can be opened for fresh air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was attracted to this hotel the first time because if its environmentally friendly stance but continue to go back every time I am in Melbourne because it is the entire package; great staff who know Melbourne and take the time to serve you without being impatient, good value quality meals, free wi-fi, free foxtel and free coffee!! The rooms are always spotlessly clean and quiet with a shower head to die for - a proper shower with decent pressure. The prices are very reasonable and if you book early enough you can get a deal with a breakfast included. The rooms have windows that open and there is a book swap which has a surprisingly decent diverse range of books.
The Alto is within walking distance to the Southern Cross Station even for unfit people like me, supermarkets, other restuarants and has a tram stop about 50m away - but you don't hear the trams from your room.
The only negative I can think of is that some of the rooms are on the small side compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a 3 day weekend with friends and stayed at this Hotel. We enjoyed our stay enormously. The staff were delightful, helpful and very efficient. The hotel is central to everything, moderately priced with super comfortable beds. Although on busy Bourke Street, we heard little noise in our room. We had a B&B deal and can only say the breakfasts were outstanding with such an amazing choice on the menu. Every morning was a treat and everything cooked to perfection and served by courteous smiling staff. Also loved the free coffees available 24 hours. We were even able to sit in the lounge area and watch the Bledisloe Cup in comfort - a lovely homely atmosphere. Would definitely return again. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms facing the alley are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyp1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing