We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Looking for an affordable city location close to everything you need? Look no further, the Alto has everything you need! The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy and the staff are brilliant. Especially the guys on reception, very helpful with directions, public transport tickets and suggested locations. Anything you need, the staff will make it happen. The Alto has a cosy little restaurant with beautiful breakfasts and an awesome unlimited coffee / hot chocolate machine available All day long!!!! Considering the great city location, the hotel is very quiet with zero street noise.
The most amazing aspect of the Alto is the location. With a tram stop right at the Alto door step and Southern Cross station 2 min walk away, you have public transport at your finger tips. Docklands and Etihad Stadium are only 8 mins walk away and Crown Casino 10 mins.
Shops, cafes, restaurants, pubs all very close by - walk or tram ride, you can see & go anywhere. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, we loved it! Oh, and the shower head is AMAZING and the beds are super comfy!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamsta_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We like helping our guests and are grateful that guests appreciate our efforts. We researched and tested to get the right mix of water efficient but luxuriant shower heads. A comfortable bed in our our opinion is a cornerstone and essential for a good hotel. Our investment in selecting and designing the Alto Indulgence Bed has been well received by many guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    501
    65
    19
    3
See reviews for
268
552
120
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kurri Kurri, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel offered many of the 5 star luxuries without the pretense and price tag.It was clean,, beautiful linens, adorable library/rest nook and massage chair room as well as a coffee machine in the mini-restaurant that guests were able to use free of charge at any time of day. Also free wifi. Location - close to Southern Cross Station, with a tram stop practically outside the door and 3 stops to the Bourke Street Mall - so convenient.

The Staff were also efficient, friendly and professional.

For the Greenies - it is eco' friendly and has the awards to prove it. If you are not a lover of recycled loo paper though, might be a good idea to take your own! Ditto tissues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just spent 6 nights here to be tourists in Melbourne, especially to see the Monet exhibition but also to see other places around and outside the town.
Rooms
We had an ordinary room, bed, en-suite, arm chair, ergonomic computer chair, fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, microwave, plates, cups, cutlery, free wifi. We could have eaten in the room if we chose but there were actually lots of eateries nearby and the hotel listed their favourites in the room guide, which was great.
The room faced onto flats and there was a loud airconditioning unit, not the hotel's, on the roof below. The noise was horrible if the windows were open, unnoticeable if they were closed. However, I did find that a bit claustrophobic. Basically the rooms were small but functional. I wouldn't want to spend too much time there.
Staff
Staff were friendly and approachable but didn't seem to know too much of the area (restaurants on a Sunday evening) or the facilities that are advertised such as the car available on the goget scheme.
Location
Brilliant for taking the Skybus to and from the airport, for hiring a car at the Southern Cross train terminal, for visiting Ethiad Stadium, for tram transport around Melbourne and lots of local restaurants including Movida and Bistro Vue.
Overall, recommended for tourists in Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way. No street noise but noise from local a/c units is loud if the windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenethorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

8 couples met a the Alto Hotel from all over Australia. We loved it's close proximity to the stadium. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was great, with fresh food and friendly staff. A nice touch having apples in bowls at the front stairs. The rooms were comfortable and quite. The Alto is within walking distance of hundreds of restaurants. We loved and Melbourne and the Alto we will be back. Most impressive was the Wallaby Win!!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gounch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just had two separate stays and I must say it was perfect for us. My wife, I and our son were over to support the Lions and having a serviced self-contained apartment was ideal. The position on the edge of the CBD could not have been better - opposite Southern Cross station and on the tram lines. The rooms were small but were well maintained and it was well stocked. Certainly if we returned we would certainly stay again. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieO186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my second stay at the Alto. It is very clean and comfortable, friendly staff and a very cosy and warm reading room. The "Green" philosophy is great also. It's well located and walking distance to Bourke Street Mall for those who like to shop!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alto. I really like the 'Green' philosophy of this hotel but enjoy the cleanliness of the rooms and the very friendly and helpful staff more. Both trips have been for work but I will be back for fun sometime soon. Very comfy bed as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,603 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#6 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing