We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Nearby Hotels
$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$179
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$180
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$271
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveler rating
997
577
78
23
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
997
577
78
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern cross stationtram stopgreen credentialspetite queen roomfree wifiboutique hotelsmall hotelskybus terminalbrick wallsky buscoffee machinespencer st stationshort walklounge areabreakfast was includedcomfortable bedetihad stadium
Filter
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want maximum convenience, superb comfort and awesome service at a great price. Modern decor, quiet and very comfortable, the Alto has it all. I've never slept in a more comfortable hotel bed and even though Melbourne was extremely cold while I was there, the bed and suite were toasty. Very eco friendly and the rooftop honey at breakfast time was delicious. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. Also, when booking opt for the extra $16 and get breakfast too. You won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank My0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose alto due to its location and it looked really nice to spend our first wedding anniversary. The hotel is walking distance from the sky bus and train station. Room was ready early which was a bonus. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed was super comfortable. We loved the massage chairs. We had breakfast included in our room price. There were plenty of choices we settled for French toast and pancakes. The Sunday morning they were very busy and we thought they had forgotten about our orders. If in Melbourne again and wanted to stay a little bit more luxurious we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazdaCraigmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the weekend in a 2br apartment, it was very comfortable, nice & quiet. The staff were very helpful & pleasant. The beds very extremely comfortable. Furnishings were very nice. All in all a great little hotel. Tram outside, taxis and Skybus around the corner

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annier127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

All hotels should be like the Alto. This is a hotel that walks the talk. All the energy is produced by the windmill on the roof and there are no disposable shampoo/conditioner/soap containers that the other hotels use and eventually end up in the land fill. If you're looking for a great business class hotel that has a low carbon footprint, the Alto is one to consider. As an added bonus, they have fantastic staff who go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. A great choice if staying out by Southern Cross station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank businesstripsaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our stay at the Alto was great. Booked on-line some time ago, and only had to pay a deposit, rather than the whole amount up front. Check-in was smooth and easy, room ready and very clean and quiet. Housekeeping came in swiftly and no hassles. Liked the in-room safe. Breakfast each morning such a bonus, especially being able to have a hot item, otherwise the buffet would have got boring for the 5 days. The location was quite central, near Southern Cross station and Ethiad, although a little bit of a walk to get to Bourke St Mall. Check-out wonderful and they were able to store our bags free of charge for a few hours, then called us a taxi to airport. Great service, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 255103Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews