We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. Each if us had our own bathroom and we shared a kitchen/lounge area. Everything was clean, and in excellent condition. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would rate them down on is the breakfast restaurant. It is too small and the service was slow. However I can easily live with this when everything else was perfect. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oskieboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had this hotel booked through my work as I was attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. The room is a comfortable size, modern amenities, a comfy king size bed and a tram stop is just outside the hotel. Most things (Southern Cross Station, MCEC, supermarket, restaurants) are within walking distance though.

I had 4 nights in a king studio with a "lovely" view of a very close brick wall, I probably would have preferred more natural light as I was working from my room at times during the day. You can hear the faint rumblings of the tram going past and the loud woman talking in the room adjacent, however it isn't enough to be irritating.

The free coffee/hot choc is lovely, the staff are friendly, and I would definately consider staying here again, be it for business or with my partner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovegelato82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I discovered the Alto on Trip Advisor. Something in the style and the reviews really attracted me.

I was not let down. The Alto reminds me a little of a place we had stayed at in Barcelona about 12 months earlier. Friendly, casual, an easy home away from home. And I particularly like their environmental standards.

The staff were first class. As an example - we were taking a day trip by hire car down to the Mornington Peninsula. I was unsure just how to get out of the city and onto the tollway. I asked for directions at the desk, and the fellow (whose name escapes me, because I would like to have personally thanked him) loaded a journey on Google maps and then printed it out for me, so that we had specific instructions/directions. Well beyond what I expected (I expected a verbal instruction something like "drive down X road and turn into Y road", etc.)

Location is very handy. Just up the road from Southern Cross Station, it is also an easy walk into the main part of the city and surrounds.

Highly recommended, and now top of my list as my preferred place to stay when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This cute hideaway in the centre of Melbourne City is a truly amazing place to stay for business, pleasure or both. Counter staff were especially courteous and went out of their way to ensure that our stay is both pleasant and enjoyable. My family and I (3 grown up girls) came to Melbourne for the MBA Graduation (both of my younger girls) at Victoria University. We arrived earlier than the 2PM check in; we were given free coffee and access to the relaxation room with massage chairs! In fact, our apartment was ready much earlier than the 2PM. Room was really clean and shower was amazing! Will definitely choose Alto the next time around!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusli8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stay 1 night in May 2013. Decent sized, clean and modern looking room with free wi-fi. Courteous, polite and helpful front desk staff. Booked through hotels.com with yummy hot breakfast provided. Conveniently located, within walking distance to Southern Cross Station. However, need to walk a little to the nearest free City City Tram stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from four nights at the Alto. Excellent location, easy walking distance to everything in the main centre plus Docklands and South Bank. Very comfortable accommodation, we had a two bedroom / two bath with kitchenette (which didn't get used!). Beds were very comfortable, linen crisp and the room was very clean. Very quiet property as well given its central location.

Really appreciated the free Wi-Fi and unfortunately, we didn't get to use the relaxation room but it looked comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Alto is a little gem of a hotel which is not only green but handy to public transport and within walking distance of everything in the CBD. I stayed 5 nights in a studio room while attending a conference. Having a kitchenette was handy and the room (and the rest of the hotel) was quiet, clean and comfortable. And as a bonus, wifi was complimentary! My room had breakfast included and while the continental buffet selection was small, being able to select a delicious made-to-order hot item from the menu was a pleasant surprise and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
785 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
3,561 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing