We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alto hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alto hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Alto in March 2013 , in total we had four people two married adult couples and decided to look for accommodation which could cater as such ,they had a two bedroom apartment on offer which seemed to suit our needs . You are always a bit wary when trying a new hotel, but wary not, this place turned out to be brilliant.
The location is ideal, just a short walk from the depot at Southern Cross where the sky shuttle delivers you from the airport. The tram for getting into central Melbourne is just outside the front of the hotel and going the opposite way takes you to St Kilda terrific. Our arrival was met by one of the many happy staff, with a sense of humor to boot, nothing was to much trouble, so far so good.
The room we had more than catered for our needs with facilities for making your own meals and still big enough to lounge around. But the really good part was the beds possibly the most comfortable i have ever slept on in Melbourne , the week that we arrived was almost a heat wave , but the air conditioning throughout was so good and so effective, and so welcome.

They have a green policy which encourages recycling and most of the buildings electricity is run on wind power and encouraged all types of energy saving devises without scrimping on your overall comfort. I would recommend using Coles for any food items you need , this is located at Southern Cross station, you can obtain alcohol at Coles as well, some of the other shops close by can be a bit more expensive
I cannot vouch for the other double or single rooms but I would think they are just as good if not similar to the quality of the apartment room we had , cost wise it is very competitive with other hotels in fact we found this to be cheaper, you will not be disappointed with the staff or the location.
I look forward to returning to stay here again in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    489
    64
    19
    3
See reviews for
260
544
115
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good service and good location; this hotel has wind turbines which provide all its power plus a few other eco considerations such as re-cycling bin in room and none of those tiny bottles of shampoo/ conditioner (there are re-fillable dispensers instead.)
Lots of food options close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street frontage rather than alley then there'll be more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for over 2 weeks in Jan 2013. Felt welcomed from the moment we stepped into this hotel until we checked out. All staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to all our requests. We had a 2 bed apartment over two floors which, although a little small, had everything we needed. Free wi-fi was an excellent bonus and kept our daughter entertained. Fabulous location with trams only a few meters away and Southern Cross rail at the end of the street. Plenty takeaways and restaurants in the locale. Also got great tips on where to eat from the hotel staff. Only went to breakfast once and had no complaints. Great choice. Also made good use of the complimentary fruit and hot drinks machine on a daily basis. Would definitely stay again x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilliebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros:

Room was spotlessless clean and newly decorated. Beds were amazingly comfy. Had everything we needed including the smallest microwave I've ever seen :-)

Hotel is eco friendly, being completely wind powered. They use recycled toilet paper and make it easy to recycle by having a special bin in the room. I thought the skylight was a good touch as well to help save on electricity (we were on the top floor).

Staff were helpful, we were able to arrange late check out for a nominal fee which I thought was totally worth it considering it gave me time to get my toddler into gear for the day ahead.

A few minutes walk from the Southern Cross Station, Sky Bus and tram stops. A few more minutes takes you to a decent sized Coles (supermarket) with a pharmacy, bakery and liquor store as well as fast food eateries. Go the other direction up Bourke St about 10 minutes and you'll come to Hardware Lane which is nothing but great restaurants with live entertainment.

Easy to walk to Southbank, Bourke St shopping area or Harbour Town (well the last one is a good 20 minutes but walking is what you do in Melbourne!). The Alto is in the CBD so it's not at the tourist end but very easy to get to that side by foot if you're in the mood or by the free City Circle tram.


Cons: So small :-) It is Melbourne city centre so space is at a premium. Granted, "small" is a relative term and whether or not you agree will depend on what you're used to. If I'd just come from London or Amersterdam I'd have thought the Alto large or at least "normal". Having arrived from Perth however, our 2 bed superior apartment looked very small indeed.

On balance however it was a good choice and good value. I can't fault them on anything other than the size which is not the hotel's fault and is pretty much par for the course in that part of Melbourne. We enjoyed our stay and I'd be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the side away from Southern Cross station. The hotel is double glazed but the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We caught the Air Bus from the airport to Spencer Street station. The Alto is within easy walking distance of the station. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready. The two bedroom loft apartment was fairly small with the bedrooms upstairs and the lounge/ kitchen downstairs. The bonuses to the loft apartment were two bathrooms, and two very small balconies which although small enabled fresh air to circulate through the apartment. A tram stop is a few yards from the hotel. Walking distance to Etihad Stadium for any football supporters.

Room Tip: If you are in Melbourne for a few days, choose a loft. Extra space in lounge/kitchen, fresh air and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staying at Alto in Melbourne reminded me of a neat little hotel I stayed at in Barcelona, the Hotel Denit. I loved that hotel in Barcelona just like I loved the Alto. The room is very modern, appears to have been recently renovated with the latest décor. It had a roomy shower with those groovy soap and shampoo dispensers. There is a hot plate, sink, dishwasher, fridge, cutlery and crockery if you want to make your own food. The room is very compact but if you want to stretch out you can do so in the common room downstairs that has a coffee machine and tea making facilities. It was Easter, so we were treated to some chocolate eggs and there was always fresh apples to eat at reception. This is a very environmentally aware hotel so there is no waste. The location is very convenient to everything, especially the airport shuttle which stops about 200m away, so you just just walk up the road and share a wonderful bus with all the other greenies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a view from any rooms, so they are probably all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Alto provided three fussy and mature women a most comfortable 3 night stay right in the heart of Melbourne. Very unusual to find a 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with all self-contained facilities. Could have done with 2 couches instead of one, but enough seating overall. All the beds have new luxurious bed toppers as well, and crisp quality linen. Very clean, modern and bright in a building with character which felt safe as well. Great location so we didn't need a car for our stay either. Great value for money, I would highly recommend the Alto.

Room Tip: We had to have a 3 bedroom apartment so this came with airconditioner condensors on the roof outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeganK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,409 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing