We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We caught the Air Bus from the airport to Spencer Street station. The Alto is within easy walking distance of the station. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready. The two bedroom loft apartment was fairly small with the bedrooms upstairs and the lounge/ kitchen downstairs. The bonuses to the loft apartment were two bathrooms, and two very small balconies which although small enabled fresh air to circulate through the apartment. A tram stop is a few yards from the hotel. Walking distance to Etihad Stadium for any football supporters.

Room Tip: If you are in Melbourne for a few days, choose a loft. Extra space in lounge/kitchen, fresh air and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for Alto Hotel on Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staying at Alto in Melbourne reminded me of a neat little hotel I stayed at in Barcelona, the Hotel Denit. I loved that hotel in Barcelona just like I loved the Alto. The room is very modern, appears to have been recently renovated with the latest décor. It had a roomy shower with those groovy soap and shampoo dispensers. There is a hot plate, sink, dishwasher, fridge, cutlery and crockery if you want to make your own food. The room is very compact but if you want to stretch out you can do so in the common room downstairs that has a coffee machine and tea making facilities. It was Easter, so we were treated to some chocolate eggs and there was always fresh apples to eat at reception. This is a very environmentally aware hotel so there is no waste. The location is very convenient to everything, especially the airport shuttle which stops about 200m away, so you just just walk up the road and share a wonderful bus with all the other greenies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a view from any rooms, so they are probably all good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Alto provided three fussy and mature women a most comfortable 3 night stay right in the heart of Melbourne. Very unusual to find a 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with all self-contained facilities. Could have done with 2 couches instead of one, but enough seating overall. All the beds have new luxurious bed toppers as well, and crisp quality linen. Very clean, modern and bright in a building with character which felt safe as well. Great location so we didn't need a car for our stay either. Great value for money, I would highly recommend the Alto.

Room Tip: We had to have a 3 bedroom apartment so this came with airconditioner condensors on the roof outside...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeganK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really liked this small hotel. The locals say it's 'out of the city' but coming from Sydney I think it's in the city!
I stayed with my husband, 2 children and sister for one night. 2 bedroom with fold out sofa.
clean, tidy, newly refurbished.
We flew in, caught the skybus and the hotel is about 2 minutes from the main train / bus station.
Affordable too.
Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff were very helpful. In walking distance of most city centre attractions but the tram was right outside the door anyway. Well maintained and well equipped rooms. The food was excellent.

Great value for a city centre hotel.

Close to Southern Cross station and the Airport Skybus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our stay was for three nights. The hotel was close to Spencer Street railway station and the tram passed the door. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with the bedrooms up stairs which were moderately steep. The kitchen was well equipped for us to provide and prepare your own meals if we had chosen to. The apartment was clean and the beds very comfortable. Our tariff also included parking. The staff were pleased to help with any question. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the Sky Bus terminal at Southern cross station and with a tram stop almost outside. My room was compact but not cramped and it was clean and very well equipped. There was even an umbrella in the closet! The staff in reception and the bar were polite, friendly and willing to please; nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but for $16 the 'Continental' breakfast was more than adequate with fruit, muesli, cakes and croissants. For $3 more you could have a cooked selection. There was one sitting chair in my room and I would have liked an easy chair but that is my only suggestion. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Congratulations to all the lovely staff!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntieFloTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
8,156 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $100 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing