We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in a three bed apartment, it was compact, but very cleverly designed and provided everything we required for our stay.

Breakfast was not included with our apartment, but with supermarkets located nearby this was not a problem, and we were able to have breakfast in our apartment each morning.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, car parking was located close by, and the location made it very easy to explore Melbourne.

I would have no hesitation in staying again, or recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
There are newer reviews for Alto Hotel on Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well located and short walk from Skybus terminal. Friendly reception. Not 5 star but very comfortable bed and breakfast included in good value rate. Free wifi worked well. Only downside was construction noise from building site. Used gym pass and nearby gym very well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got a great deal at the Alto, including breakfast and car parking. The room is not large, but very convenient. Your stay includes a gym pass. Only catch is the gym does not open until 10.00am on a Sunday.

Car parking is a short walk away and the parking outside the hotel is limited, but we seemed to manage OK.

The hotel is only 200 metres walk to Southern Cross Station. It would be ideal for traveller's from interstate or country Victoria. They Skybus from the airport is 200 metres away as is the Country and Interstate train terminal. The tram stops at the front door and the free city circle tram is only 150 metres away.

Rooms are insulated and very quiet!

Good supermarkets and liquor stores are located at the station and great restaurants only a short walk away [Scugnizzo's].

A later check out was arranged with no fuss.

Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfb_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It's location is easy to find and a short work from southern Cross Station where the airport bus drops you off. We could walk all over Melbourne from the hotel. We liked that it was eco friendly.

Room Tip: Great place. Asked for a quiet and it was very quiet. Staff was very helpful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingSue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My petite queen room is nice and clean and everything a single traveler needs. The bed is very comfortable and I slept well. I was going to say like a baby but that's not always a good thing. The staff are helpful and courteous in the right measure. I like the green environmental policies and actions.. I only wish my little spunk could be here to enjoy this Melbourne stay with me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tradeshowkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a 1 nighter before the GP race and was pleased to find that was not gouged on price due to limited amount of rooms available.
Got into room early and got an upgrade as well which was a boost.
Hotel reminds me of the european boutique type that you find in major cities.
Rooms were on the small side but well equiped and just what you need when out and about all day.
One thing they have which for me was the creme de la creme in a city centre hotel was secondary glazing on the windows. SO NO STREET NOISE AT ALL.
Finaly a hotel which has thought things through.
Had a brilliant nights sleep and an excellent breakfast in a lovely cozy friendly enviroment.
The hotel is wind powered and has its own honey bees on the roof so they do actualy care about the enviroment and actualy do try to help local producers as the food is all localy bought.
I had to move on the next day to meet friends but wished could have stayed here even longer.
Perfect for a romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Andrew on our arrival and he helped us with our questions. The hotel is central to everything, tram stop almost outside the hotel door, railway station a very short walk away, also the depot for Sky Express bus to and from Melbourne Airport.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good with lots to chose from or the chef will cook a hot breakfast which was delicious. It's a great idea to have free coffee available all day/evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the ease in traveling around. We had trouble with the wifi (probably down to us!) but there is a computer downstairs. We would definitely stay here again next time we are in Melbourne. One negative was checking out, perhaps a bit too rushed to get us out. Overall, a well run property, friendly staff, and great location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
8,154 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing