We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Alto from 12th September. We had asked our travel agent to change our booking to this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Upon our arrival we were greeted at reception by Gary and Andrew. We had booked and paid for Alto 6 months previously which included breakfast.
However when we made enquiries about the day trips a week before we arrived in Melbourne, we discovered all of them left early in the morning with no time to have breakfast in the Restaurant. When we explained this to Gary and Andrew they immediatly organised to have a continental breakfast delivered to our room the evening before we left for the trips.Andrew took us to meet the Restaurant staff and they sorted everything for us. The breakfasts were fantastic.
As we were not in our rooms for very long during each day the smaller size was not too much of a concern. We had the Queen studio. However I personally did find the shower a bit small and a bit of a squeeze to get into. But then I am larger than normal.The water was lovely and hot and I liked the soap dispensers. We were advised that a new bed had just been installed the morning of our arrival. We found the mattress was a bit soft. However this is just personal taste. The room itself was beautiful and clean with the free wifi a bonus. The kitchenette was great and the cookies, traditional and herb teas were lovely. I like the green focus of the hotel. Another thing we noticed was the quietness of the refrigerator. We have been in accomodation where it has driven us to distraction. Also the airconditioner for heating was barely noticable. In regard to quietness the room was so peaceful. Even though there was a laneway outside we couldn't hear anything. The double glazing works a treat. The hotel is in a good location with the trams just metres away. Once we got used to which trams go where, getting around from Alto was no problem at all. There are resturants and a convenience store just a short walk away. All in all we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Alto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETWAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice hotel. Rooms had nice pics of Melbourne scenes. Decent size room, but was impressed with the environmental approach - 100% wind power, recycle bin, no unneccessary single use toiletries, etc. The umbrella in the cupboard came in very handy with Melbournes unpredictable weather. Free wifi in the room. Packets of herbal tea were also provided in the room, which was nice. Parking is offsite around the corner - they give clear instructions but its a little more complex than just driving up. Good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just returned from four nights in Melbourne and was impressed with the Alto Hotel. The room was on the small side but the beds were super comfy and the room had all the extras you could ask for. I particularly liked their clean green reputation was followed through to the shampoo, handwash etc in pump containers on the wall rather than wasting all those little containers. We had breakfast in the dining room on two mornings and the service was friendly and the options were plentiful and I thought reasonably priced. The bircher muesli was the best! It was a nice touch to have the daily papers available and tea, coffee, hot chocolate on tap for a warming evening drink. Very convenient location particularly if you are using the trains to travel a little further out of city central.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aecasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I only had breakfast there once, it was about 20 AUD and pretty decent – I went for the typical English breakfast.

The hotel room was fairly small and the bathroom as well, but it was enough for me as I was only there to sleep. As I visited in the middle of Melbourne's winter, it took between 30 sec to 1 min to get warm water – this really upsets me because I hate wasting water for no reason. And mind that I was on the 1st floor, so I was theoretically closer to the machine rooms that maybe the other rooms from the upper floors.

The internet wasn’t incredibly fast, but it worked just fine. The hotel is really in the city centre, so you'll do just fine. Right in front of it you have the train station, and in 3 min you can walk to the hotel.

The problem with my room (102) is that its window was a rectangle of 1.00 m x 0.20 m. Well, I've seen smaller animals in bigger cages at the zoo. To top that, the window was some 2.00 m away from the next building, so daylight and possibilities to aerate were next to nil.

The personnel of the hotel was nice and the room cleaning as well. You'll have all the amenities that you will expect to find in a decent 3 stars’ hotel, but as far as labelling it a 4 stars’ hotel based on the room that I got, not in this lifetime.

Because of the window thingy and the cold water waste, I'll give it 3 stars instead of 4. I'd still stay here again, as long as I could get a real room and not some kind of prison-like space.

Room Tip: Don't take room 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nuno_the_Curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a brief stay at this small well located hotel in city centre . Loved the quirky decor in the foyer . Food in the restaurant was good and very reasonably priced. Ideal for business trip. Room was small and bathroom was a bit cramped but overall good value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kismetkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Was there from 8-11 Sep 12. It is in a great central location on Bourke St. Trams and alot of shops are nearby. The reception and staff are all very warm and friendly. I love that its an eco friendly hotel that uses wind power and biodegradable toiletries.

We was very impressed with their lounge area which houses a cosy fireplace with a coffee and tea making machine. We walked to shopping areas, aquarium, DFO at south wharf and Harbourtown easily. We also used trams to the zoo and QVM.

The only gripe was the pillows and mattress are way too soft to get a good sleep, probably common across hotels i been to except some. The queen studio room was awesome, it even comes with stove, iPod docking station, dishwashing liquid and dish clothes. I am truly impressed. Its outstanding value that supercedes Crown Metropol where i stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StepheyTSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Alto hotel isn't a stunning experiece, is a good, well managed, clean, small design hotel. It's wonderfully located as it is 100m far from the airport bus station. The bus is runing 24 h a day with incredible frequence. There is not much to do after sunset, but is so close to everything that you can go walking to any central destination. The hotel is ery clean, staf is friendly and has a typical aspect of what can be call design interior. Rooms aren't huge but spacious enough and the bath too. The rooms are provided with any comfort. The small bar/restaurant close not late.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo64Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing