We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Nearby Hotels
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$312
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$201
$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ovolo Laneways(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$49
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveler rating
975
573
76
23
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
573
76
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern cross stationtram stopgreen credentialspetite queen roomfree applesfree wifiboutique hotelsmall hotelskybus terminalbrick wallsky buscoffee machinespencer st stationshort walklounge areabreakfast was includedcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,322 - 1,327 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We decided to stay at this hotel while we were visiting Melbourne. I have to say that I was particularly looking forward to staying in a 4 star hotel but I have been left disappointed. The room has a tiny window with a view of the opposite building wall and it is very noisy with all the traffic outside. Understanding that the only positive thing about this place is the location is that it is quite central you would of expect some noise but then again you would hope that the rooms would be sound proof but they are not. Staff are rude and unhelpful and cleaning of the rooms is poor after finding out that towels are just folded and put back when they should be replaced. Overall, disappointing for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to read your stay with the Alto left you feeling disappointed.

The Alto Hotel is centrally located, as you stated, however; with such a central location surrounded by shopping, restaurants, and transportation to most attractions we are prone to some of the noise they create. We have taken measures to limit the sound in the rooms with double glazed windows - unfortunately if the windows are open the noise from the street will be heard. We also try to offer the option of an alternative room should a guest not find theirs satisfactory. The Alto Hotel is a heritage building and as such we face certain challenges with our room configurations. We do take pride in our low rise heritage building in a city of high rises but also understand the lack of views because of this.

The Alto maintains very high standards in our housekeeping department. As a hotel committed to sustainability we do have a policy of only replacing towels if they are placed in the bath tub/shower, unlike the majority of hotels that replace towels every day. If they are hung up we will not replace them. This is in an effort to minimize water usage to launder the linens. There is a card on the bathroom counter top explaining this. We may need to reassess the placement of the card to ensure guests are aware of this policy. Our 24 hour reception is also able to have fresh towels sent up upon request.

I apologize your experience with the the staff was negative. Guest service is definitely something the Alto prides itself on and as a manager I am disappointed to read your interactions were not up to our service standard. I would like the opportunity to speak with you further on this matter and have sent you a private message through Trip Advisor so we may be in contact.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to the Alto and show you the exceptional service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to going on a cruise. The hotel was in a very good position and was advertised as four star. We were greeted very pleasantly and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean and bright. However, on entering our room we were very disappointed to find that we had a slit for a window, thought nicely dressed) and very, very little daylight. It was necessary to have the lights on all the time and it felt very closed in. (Fine for just an overnight stay) The room was smaller than we'd expected but quite adequate and all was clean. My advice would be that should you consider making a booking at this hotel you request a room with adequate daylight as I am told that the room we were given was within a certain category. Unfortunately we did not realise this when we booked as the hotel was not cheap, had good reviews and did not indicate the possible lack of daylight. Apart from this we had a very pleasant stay and as stated, the staff were very, very pleasant and helpful. I have since corresponded with the management who were very apologetic and regretful that we had not contacted the desk on arrival when they would have attempted to change our room.

Room Tip: Request a room with daylight.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolklady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

We are very sorry your stay with us was less than ideal and appreciate you mentioned the things you enjoyed about Alto Hotel, as much as those you did not.

Boutique Hotels in heritage buildings are a challenge for architects and hoteliers alike. Not all rooms are the same, and are therefore priced accordingly. The room type mentioned is our least expensive room; the relatively high room rate charged, is due to this booking having been made for the period over The Australian Tennis Open, which is the dearest season in Melbourne’s calendar.

We hope we will be allowed another chance to welcome you at Alto Hotel on Bourke, and promise to do better next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Alto trades as an environmentally friendly hotel and they do walk the talk, from 100% wind power to bins for recyclables. But there is no stinting on comfort or quality. The hotel is well located near Spencer St Station and airport shuttle buses, and its an easy walk to most offices, shopping and entertainment. My room was very quiet and comfortable. There is no view out the window but that aids the privacy. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the ambience is that of an establishment where the people care about what they do. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have found the service here really friendly and helpful. The room is small but in good condition. Strong antiseptic smell this time, but didn't notice this last time. I love the location too. So great to get off the Skybus from the airport and be under 5 minutes' walk to the hotel. Just really impressed with the service this time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a nice little boutique hotel which is reasonably priced and kept in good shape. The hotel room (room 202) we had was very small in comparison to the larger chains but was very clean and tidy and would suit either a single traveler or a couple.

No real view from our room but we were at the back which makes a big difference because its quieter than the front.

The staff were very helpful and attentive. We really enjoyed the massage room. They have these really expensive massage chairs that are amazing.

My only complaint would be the bed. They called it a queen but its really a double and while that doesn't matter to some, it does to me because I'm very tall and so is my partner. The bed seemed quite old and not very firm at all.....we both got a backache from it.

So if bed size and quality is important to you then you need to specify that at check in time

Overall w had a pleasant stay here during the tennis.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSIMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews