We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hostel”
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 22 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was in an 8 bed mixed room, lots of space, showers and bathrooms were always clean. Movie room and the bar downstairs were excellent pluses, had a great time! Only downside was the huge que to check in at 2pm, definitely could have made it quicker.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Nomads Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 371 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

The room and staff were ok for a quick overnight. No significant problem with bathrooms, noisy rooms, and so on. Didn't use the kitchen. But there's no excuse in this day and age to have to pay for wifi, especially extortionate prices ($4 for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say....don't get me wrong I am pretty open minded but someone went for a number two in the shower of this hostel! The staff weren't very helpful when we asked questions about the city! The kitchen is so tiny for the amount of people that are in the hostel! The only good thing about this hostel is the location! I would have a shop around at other hostels before booking on future!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed in plenty of hostels, but this might be the worst of them all. First of all, THE KITCHEN IS TINY. You literally could not swing a cat in there. Secondly, the beds are so squeaky even a small movement will make a large noise.

Another annoyance was my key card to enter the room stopped working at least 3-5 times a day, so I would have to head back down the lift to reception again. And on the first night, the fire alarm went off at 8am the next morning. Thankfully a false alarm but nobody checked the building/our room and neither was there an announcement of any kind.

The rooftop area was nothing more than an empty rooftop. No chairs or anywhere to sit. And the cinema room was out of order for the entire three painful days I was there. The showers are barely warm and there's no shelves or anything to put any if your stuff.

The 6 bed dorm I was in was clean and had plenty of space. And the staff were helpful. Location is ok but there's better hostels in better locations Apart from that there was nothing good about this place. A seriously poor hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Adamerci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

the rooms were disgusting. shared a room with stinky boys that kept their stuff everywhere I could barely find a place for my own things. the beds were so incredibly creaky. the bathrooms didn't seem to get cleaned very often. the cleaners vacuumed around everyone's things. small messy kitchen. disrespectful people who didn't clean their own dishes. wasn't allowed alcohol in the rooms which is okay so they said they will hold it for me at reception. when I was checking out they didnt have it anymore and must have thrown it out. also 5 $ to use a towel all in all the whole time I was there I was wishing I never checked in. before you book here consider your options.

Room Tip: book somewhere else. not worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishcandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location, Victoria Queen market just around the corner and just a few blocks away from shopping at Melbourne central.
The rooms are ok, clean, but the beds sounds soo much so bring earplugs. The kitchen is really small and there's always people in there making food so it gets crowded fast.
You have to pay for the wifi, 4$/day or 12$/week.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraKOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere and get no sleep - this is the place to go. We are currently on level 1 and can hear every single conversation outside even with the window closed. There seems to be no noise curfew which is awful for people who need sleep if you have work or need to get up early. The beds squeak like nothing I've ever heard, if you roll over it feels like your waking up the whole room. My boyfriends pillow is like a tshirt - there is nothing to it. There is nowhere to put our bags which leaves our stuff to be on the floor making a mess. The staff aren't exactly friendly and to be woken up last night by one of them knocking on our door at 11.30pm wasn't exactly professional, all because one our roommates had left his ID downstairs, he surely could've slid it under the door no? The kitchen is absolutely ridiculous for the size of the hostel, 4 people in there and your struggling for room - cooking a simple meal in there is simply uncomfortable and an uneasy task! The toilets are horrible, the floors are always wet and I went in to 3 toilets and turned right back out of them all - do they even get cleaned?! And I feel like I'm showering in the rest of the backpacker populations pubes!! Boke. The rooms have no air conditioning and the fan is at the same end as the window?! How does that even work? The luggage storage room is an absolute joke you can't even get in to get your bags and 9 times out of 10 they've been chucked to the very back by someone else anyway. The wifi is rubbish aswell and for the price you pay you expect atleast half decent Internet. Can't quite understand how it takes 3 members of staff to come in, empty a bin and give the lockers a 'wipe' and another person to Hoover and yet another to make the bed...so 5 members of staff coming in is a bit ridiculous. We stayed here early this year and didnt think it was too bad, but it's clearly gone very downhill which is a big disappointment. Also how can they justify upping their prices sooo much at the weekend?! It's a joke. Overall, stay here if your looking to get no sleep or be able to cook because that's what our experience consisted of!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,196 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 144 in Melbourne
603 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#11 of 144 in Melbourne
804 reviews
Crest on Park
#5 of 22 in Melbourne
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range: $27 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing