We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nomads Melbourne” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 18 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nomads Melbourne”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here when I first arrived in Australia, and I remembered it being pretty good. This was not the case on this occasion. My room was dirty and cluttered, and the beds creaked so much, every time you rolled over you pretty much woke everybody in the room up. The staff, with very few exceptions, were surly and stone-faced, looking as if they just didn't want to be there. Worst of all is the kitchen. The hostel is big, with a lot of guests, but the kitchen is TINY. When you have about 6 people in it it looks almost full. Most of the hobs are broken, no one washes their own dishes so the sink is always full, and the positioning of everything clearly hasn't been thought out properly. I had some fun nights here, especially the pub quiz, but aside from that, the place needs a serious overhaul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    73
    49
    56
See reviews for
4
37
93
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

On first arrival staff were friendly and helpful. Dorm rooms were clean, also stayed in a private room for two nights which was actually really nice for a hostel private room!
Bad sides are that the kitchen is ridiculously small for a hostel this size, two cooker tops and only one area to prepare food. The other issue is the bathrooms, all toilets and showers are unisex. According to my girlfriend the toilets are "always covered in pee." I understand this is not directly the hostel's fault, but maybe just designate male and female toilets?
Bar has good drink deals and always has something going on.
Overall, despite some of the other reviews, I would say this is actually my favorite hostel out of all I've stayed in Melbourne. The main down side is the size of the kitchen, but when you see past that it is a great place with a friendly hostel feel. Also had brilliant deals for traveling around Australia and Thailand which we would have taken advantage of if we weren't leaving Australia so soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as the staff were so understanding when I had to change my reservation due to a crisis. Unfortunately, the room needed a good clean, especially the bathroom, there was a tiny wardrobe & little else in the room & I had a you-beaut single room with own bathroom. The lift light was not working for 2 of the 3 nights I was there so you had to get into a pitch-black cell & find your mobile to get some light to see which buttons to press. For the price, I'd have been better at the hotel across the road.
Such a pity as great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is very dirty, housekeepers need training, beds uncomfortable, kitchen tiny, I would not recommend staying here.....
Staff need more training as any request seemed an effort. Overall bad vibe and unhappy staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttowelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to write home about in this hostel...the rooms were average, if a bit unclean. The kitchen is absolutely tiny - cooking a simple dinner of pasta and a jar of sauce was seriously difficult and everywhere you stand you're in someone's way. The free guided walking tour was great, and the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, especially those on the travel desk. There are good activities every night and some free breakfasts. The one thing I will say and emphasise is that the beds are incredibly noisy. You can't move an inch without making the whole bunk bed structure creek and squeal, it's awful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charvzalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, glad I didn't stay for two as they have ZERO REFUND policy which sets off alarm bells straight away. My bed had been made but the room obviously hadn't been cleaned. The beds were squeaky so the dorm was noisy. The showers and toilets were some of dirtiest I've seen in a city hostel.

The bar down stairs was lively with beer pong and a wine and cheese session which was ace. It wouldn't take much to make this hostel great, but until then I would probably try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I usually try to see the good in such places, however I have literally NOTHING good to say about this place, when we got to the hostel, the (private) room we ordered had not only not been made up, but had rubbish littered all over the floor. The room was freezing, the toilets were bloody filthy and smelt horrible, and the general area was just grubby.

My girlfriend and I pretty much left as soon as we arrived, and we never looked

Overall, if you are 19 or under and happen to be inebriated, then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytourist92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#13 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#24 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Property: Nomads Melbourne
Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing