We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 18 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to write home about in this hostel...the rooms were average, if a bit unclean. The kitchen is absolutely tiny - cooking a simple dinner of pasta and a jar of sauce was seriously difficult and everywhere you stand you're in someone's way. The free guided walking tour was great, and the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, especially those on the travel desk. There are good activities every night and some free breakfasts. The one thing I will say and emphasise is that the beds are incredibly noisy. You can't move an inch without making the whole bunk bed structure creek and squeal, it's awful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charvzalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    73
    49
    56
See reviews for
4
37
93
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, glad I didn't stay for two as they have ZERO REFUND policy which sets off alarm bells straight away. My bed had been made but the room obviously hadn't been cleaned. The beds were squeaky so the dorm was noisy. The showers and toilets were some of dirtiest I've seen in a city hostel.

The bar down stairs was lively with beer pong and a wine and cheese session which was ace. It wouldn't take much to make this hostel great, but until then I would probably try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I usually try to see the good in such places, however I have literally NOTHING good to say about this place, when we got to the hostel, the (private) room we ordered had not only not been made up, but had rubbish littered all over the floor. The room was freezing, the toilets were bloody filthy and smelt horrible, and the general area was just grubby.

My girlfriend and I pretty much left as soon as we arrived, and we never looked

Overall, if you are 19 or under and happen to be inebriated, then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytourist92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Nomads in Melbourne, after enjoying staying in most of them in New Zealand. Good location, but found the hostel bathrooms and dorms to be pretty dirty. The really small kitchen isn't ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location wasn't the best but very helpful staff. Stuff going on every night to get you invovled, free wine and cheese night, free beer after the free city tours, trivia nights, beer pong tournaments etc. Very fun staff who really get to know you and want to hang out with you. One night we had one of the staff take us all out to a bar which was really fun. Really small kitchen, hard to get any cooking done. The rooms were decent. Very clean. VERY COLD if you are staying here in the winter as there is no heating. I had to sleep in a sweater and two pairs of socks every ngiht and was still freezing. Bathrooms are great, and very clean. Overall very nice place to stay and good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Good points - Pretty good bar, fairly nice staff, if you want to party

Bad points - Utterly minute kitchen, so so small. Incredibly rowdy, beds are so so squeaky you can barely sleep for the squeaks. I wouldn't stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here in all honesty. Not great at all. Plenty of other options that are much better and much cheaper in Melbourne. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived and went up to the room to find my bed hadn't been made and I didn't have any linen to make it myself. There was a helpful girl on reception who got me some, but I did have to make the bed myself. The kitchen here is the most tiny thing in the world !!!! Unbelievably small, especially for how many people there were. Thought the entertainment in the evening was good and the drinks in happy hour okay priced.
Location is a little out but for a hostel you expect that, it's not too much of a walk!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#13 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#24 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Property: Nomads Melbourne
Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing