We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have a lot of fun there, will return”
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 25 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hostel is located in the city center, so is possible to walk to every place you would want to go. Also is near to the free tram station if you are lazy to walk. Also is close to Victoria's market so you can buy cheap food, souvenirs or cloth. The service was ok, and all were very friendly and helpful. At night the hostel have a lot of activities to have fun (like mario kart wii championship) at the bar. The pool table cost 2 dollars tough. No free wifi.
However, If you need a quite hostel to rest between 7pm-1am maybe this is not the hostel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 440 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had the most fabulous stay at nomads between 15-17th May 2013. First of all a great thumbs-up for the staff at the reception. They were really great.... helpful, friendly and very patient, despite us having a mixed up in our bookings and we arrived late, it was rectified very proffesionally and quickly.
The noise at the bar didnt really bothered us, it was great to see young ppl so energetic. We treated the music like background music, and true enough the partying stopped after 1am. So there's no big issue.
The rooms we had were clean, we were happy wt it. Even the bathrooms and toilets outside was well maintained and clean. Its also safe.
Location wise, Nomads is 2 minutes from QVM from the backdoor and just 3 minutes from the city circle tram line from the front entrance. Superb location.
We are glad to have stayed here, will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room.... back rooms tend to be more noisy in the nights till 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, great atmosphere. Convenient location near both the Queen Victorian Markets and local clubs, pubs and bars. Only a 15-20 minute walk to the Crown Casino complex too. Staff were absolutely amazing and hilarious! Had a mixture of fun and safety for all guests as their number one priority! Bar was great, especially the themed nights, prices were as you would expect. Only downsides were the incredibly squeaky beds, small kitchen and street noise! Overall, great, budget-friendly place to stay. Would recommend to all, but perhaps not families.

Room Tip: Get a room with an en suite! Only $2 extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arriving at Nomads, I was happily greeted by the reception staff and then the bar staff when I went down for a drink. The room was alright, no real space for storing anything and it looked as though the housekeeping staff didn't try to encourage guests to stay tidy if they were staying for an extended period of time. The bar was great, full of interesting people, though a few of the staff were enjoying drinks all night as well, which was a bit unsettling. Bed was decently comfortable for a one night stay. Went for a quick coffee in the morning and when I returned, there was someone else in my bed, which meant that either he or someone else had somehow obtained a key for a room they weren't supposed to be in. Hostel staff was confused by this, but I believe it is something they could have prevented. Overall, decent stay and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was not impressed. The Room i was assigned was facing the back of the building and i could hear nothing but music all night long. The majority of the staff seem to be backpackers themselves and seem to be more worried about having a party than entertaining the guests. I am aware the reviews say party hostel but you would think attending your guests needs would be a priority. I inquired about tours and prices and i was always told to come back when the travel desk attendant was there. i found it easier to chat to an online specialist who works for the same company. This place is dirty, unorganized and uncomfortable!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admin_bandidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Brizle87,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Just a few things, regarding the music, we only have a licence until 1am and therefore all music finishes at 12.30am. We have sound barriers to protect upstairs guests and hope that no guests is affected by this. Our Travel desk is open 7 days from 10am-630pm and we hope that is enough time for any inquiries etc. The majority of the staff are local Melbourne residents, although we have backpackers to help with the entertainment and games. We are sorry to hear that you believe it is not organized, but we strive to make every guest as happy as possible.

Kind Regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I read past reviews about the sqeaky beds, I wondered what everyone's problem was...but having spent a week in the hostel in October 2012 I now know what they meant! They sqeak and shake as soon as you touch them which means whenever anyone is climbing in our out you're likely to wake everyone up no matter if you're in the top or bottom bunk!
The room we had was massive for a 10 bed dorm and there were plenty of toilets and showers within the corridor for everyone to use. The kitchen is a big let down to the hostel, it's ridiculously small for the size of the hostel and is always packed with people cooking. When we were there, there was someone cleaning it constantly which was good as there was no room for any dirty pots and pans on top of everything else in there. It's really well equipped and the reception has a few pots and pans behind the desk for when the kitchen runs out.
The bar area was really good, fantastic prices and a lively atmosphere. We spent a week here but had to move on as we struggled to find work. If we ever returned to Melbourne I'd consider staying here again as it's a pretty good location and was reasonably priced considering it's a city centre hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootingstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear shootingstar13,

Thank you so much for your great feedback, you are a star. We do try very hard to make everything work for you so that you can enjoy your stay and I am very sorry that you had a squeaky bed. Our mattresses are of top quality, but some of the beds need to be tightened every now and then.
Keep enjoying yourself and we wish you the best,

Kind Regards,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's an alright place, cleanish and the staff were helpful enough. The kitchen was the worst part of my stay. I didn't use it because its so small! Also friends had food stolen. The bar was good but so expensive! And the free wine on offer (goon) was only available if they had any luckily they ran out :) there was a cheap BBQ on Saturday nights which was a bonus and free BBQ on Sunday afternoons which was brill! Location is ok. It's not the cheapest place but ok for a stop gap. Happy hour from 5-7pm was good but after that a pint of cider is $9 which for a hostel is too much. The people were the best part and generally had a good vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Davy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear John,

Thanks very much for giving us some feedback, we endeavor to try and make everyone's stay enjoyable. As for the kitchen, we understand it is small but to compensate for this we give all guests free pasta, rice, Tea and Coffee and we also put on very cheap BBQ's and as you mentioned free Sunday BBQ's. Most people forget about the small kitchen when all of this is on offer. We also put on Happy Hours all throughout the evening, but we are very price competitive with our local competitors.
Anyway I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and wish you well

All the best,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
675 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
338 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#32 of 158 in Melbourne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range: $43 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing