We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, party-hostel”
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 21 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good location, party-hostel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

this is a party hostel!!! If you're looking for a quiet place, this is not your choice! But when you like parties, beer-pong, themed nights and a crowd who like all of these things, you should stay here!
Rooms are small but tidy and clean, but there's not much space for your stuff.
Bathrooms are cold but quite clean, and there are enough on every floor.
The downstairs common area is big and nice, but even in the day time there's loud music playing all the time, so it's hard to find a quiet spot if you wanna read or write your journal.
The kitchen which can be used by everyone is ok, but a bit small regarding the number of people staying here.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room on a higher floor, to avoid the noise from the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalujulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    83
    94
    58
    64
See reviews for
5
42
122
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great hostels, clean and nice staff would recommend staying in nomads hostels when travelling Oz and NZ we never had a bad experience in them! The private rooms are really nice and no different to a standard hotel. Apply for a MAD card and get discounts it's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great staff, nice beds, all was super good and super fun!
I really liked it and can recommend to everyone/great place to meet other people in the bar on the ground floor. Very friendly
And I loved Melb

Room Tip: Go go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place I stayed in Australia and I have to say it set the bar pretty high. A large hostel with a great place to meet other backpackers due to the bar on the ground floor. Playin the Wii with other people is a great way to get people involved.
Met alot of people here that I'll never forget.

Only bad points are the kitchen is very small but I never used it and just tneded to get the wedges from the bar which were enough to feed two people for 5 dollars. Also its been the only place that offers free pasta and rice to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 9 days recently in 3 different rooms. 4 bed, 6 bed en-suite & 6 bed mix. All the rooms were clean and spacious, there was lockers in every room except they were the usual nomads black ones that are just the right height for hitting your head off especially in the dark. The beds were very squeaky and you felt as though you woke the room everytime you moved.
The staff were very helpful however there was always a queue at the reception.
The location was good, about 15/20 minutes to the main square and Coles.
The bar was quite good but very expensive for a backpacker hostel. $8 for a pint!
As with all nomads we've stayed in the wifi was incredibly EXPENSIVE $4 per hour and it was extremely poor strength.
The kitchen as mentioned serveral times is TINY. There is no space for preparing food except for outside in what seemed to be more of a smoking area. There is always a queue for the single sink and the hobs. There is very limited fridge space and you had to squeeze your bag in. You had to queue again at the reception to get a pot and pan. For the size of the hostel and the number of guests it is far far from adequate. Following the preparation of your lovely meal there was no where to eat. There were benches outside but it was usually too cold outside so that left either the bar or the reception area... The did however provide free rice and pasta and tea/coffee.
Finally, we felt it was way over priced for what you get. They also increase the prices by 30% at the weekends so we ended up paying $76 for a 4 bed mix dorm!!!
Overall our stay was fine but our bank balances had taken a serious hit by the time we left.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunchaser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed for one week in the Nomads Industries because it was recommended to me. The first impression was pretty good, the ground floor looks new with a nice bar and pool table.
Internet is via Global Gossip, so you have to pay for it.
The rooms (I hat ha 6bed dorm) are quite big with lockers for valuables. The bathrooms and toilets are the average of a hostel but they can be cleaner!
The worst thing was the kitchen.It's just a small room and it's hard to find space for your thins, doesn't matter if you want to put things in the shelf or in the fridge (and the hostel wasn't fully booked at this time!). You get Potts and Pans at the reception, kitchen was dirty and people don't care about washing their dishes or dry them up. Outside is a "food prepation area" which is also a a smokers area. Wouldn't prepare my steak next to an ashtray!
And all the bed's in my room squeaked!!! Terrible!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Nomads for three nights. We lived in a 4-bedroom dorm with our window just above a party/BBQ-area. There was loud music every night until 3-4am, even on a Sunday (arranged by the hostel) and alot of yelling and stupidly drunk backpackers just a couple of meters from where people tried to sleep. I guess this is a good place to stay if you're planning on partying, but not really if you're tired and just want to sleep.

They do have a pub and a large screen projector that shows the footy matches which is good. They also have a tiny kitchen which seemed to be a bit overcrowded but that didn't really bother me that much. The bathrooms are reasonably clean and the showers are good with warm water. The rooms where vacuumed everyday. I thought $72 for a couple in a 4-bedroom dorm was a bit on the pricey side and they didn't offer discounts for longer stays (e.g. weekly stays).

Room Tip: Don't get rooms that overlook the "backyard", you won't get any sleep... you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,841 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#11 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Property: Nomads Melbourne
Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing