We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
Ranked #9 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great staff, nice beds, all was super good and super fun!
I really liked it and can recommend to everyone/great place to meet other people in the bar on the ground floor. Very friendly
And I loved Melb

Room Tip: Go go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 417 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place I stayed in Australia and I have to say it set the bar pretty high. A large hostel with a great place to meet other backpackers due to the bar on the ground floor. Playin the Wii with other people is a great way to get people involved.
Met alot of people here that I'll never forget.

Only bad points are the kitchen is very small but I never used it and just tneded to get the wedges from the bar which were enough to feed two people for 5 dollars. Also its been the only place that offers free pasta and rice to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 9 days recently in 3 different rooms. 4 bed, 6 bed en-suite & 6 bed mix. All the rooms were clean and spacious, there was lockers in every room except they were the usual nomads black ones that are just the right height for hitting your head off especially in the dark. The beds were very squeaky and you felt as though you woke the room everytime you moved.
The staff were very helpful however there was always a queue at the reception.
The location was good, about 15/20 minutes to the main square and Coles.
The bar was quite good but very expensive for a backpacker hostel. $8 for a pint!
As with all nomads we've stayed in the wifi was incredibly EXPENSIVE $4 per hour and it was extremely poor strength.
The kitchen as mentioned serveral times is TINY. There is no space for preparing food except for outside in what seemed to be more of a smoking area. There is always a queue for the single sink and the hobs. There is very limited fridge space and you had to squeeze your bag in. You had to queue again at the reception to get a pot and pan. For the size of the hostel and the number of guests it is far far from adequate. Following the preparation of your lovely meal there was no where to eat. There were benches outside but it was usually too cold outside so that left either the bar or the reception area... The did however provide free rice and pasta and tea/coffee.
Finally, we felt it was way over priced for what you get. They also increase the prices by 30% at the weekends so we ended up paying $76 for a 4 bed mix dorm!!!
Overall our stay was fine but our bank balances had taken a serious hit by the time we left.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunchaser100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed for one week in the Nomads Industries because it was recommended to me. The first impression was pretty good, the ground floor looks new with a nice bar and pool table.
Internet is via Global Gossip, so you have to pay for it.
The rooms (I hat ha 6bed dorm) are quite big with lockers for valuables. The bathrooms and toilets are the average of a hostel but they can be cleaner!
The worst thing was the kitchen.It's just a small room and it's hard to find space for your thins, doesn't matter if you want to put things in the shelf or in the fridge (and the hostel wasn't fully booked at this time!). You get Potts and Pans at the reception, kitchen was dirty and people don't care about washing their dishes or dry them up. Outside is a "food prepation area" which is also a a smokers area. Wouldn't prepare my steak next to an ashtray!
And all the bed's in my room squeaked!!! Terrible!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Nomads for three nights. We lived in a 4-bedroom dorm with our window just above a party/BBQ-area. There was loud music every night until 3-4am, even on a Sunday (arranged by the hostel) and alot of yelling and stupidly drunk backpackers just a couple of meters from where people tried to sleep. I guess this is a good place to stay if you're planning on partying, but not really if you're tired and just want to sleep.

They do have a pub and a large screen projector that shows the footy matches which is good. They also have a tiny kitchen which seemed to be a bit overcrowded but that didn't really bother me that much. The bathrooms are reasonably clean and the showers are good with warm water. The rooms where vacuumed everyday. I thought $72 for a couple in a 4-bedroom dorm was a bit on the pricey side and they didn't offer discounts for longer stays (e.g. weekly stays).

Room Tip: Don't get rooms that overlook the "backyard", you won't get any sleep... you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It am basically a budget traveler, wanna a nice hostel & reasonable in Mel was really difficult, many times to find but finally i got this hostel for usd$25 per night in a nice mixed room. Many travelers come to stay,, they used to cook & talk together everything seems noisy & crazy here but i really felt nice cause i like the noisy & exciting moment. i did not cook but others invited me to use food together, we all felt lightly , trying food while listing to music. Additional, the location was nod bad, we all get in to the bar nearby to take some cocktails & play billiards as well. will be back soonest

Room Tip: they have good services of kitchen, activities was amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alien k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is right in the middle of the city and you can easily walk everywhere. The kitchen is clean, but too small for such a big hostel. The fridge is too small, while we were there it was absolutely overfilled and we couldn't get our things in. The bar is modern and we enjoyed relaxing there in the evening before going into town. The rooms are ok, but in our room.it was impossible to open the window properly and the beds creak extremely loud with the slightest movement wich was really annoying. The bathrooms are fine, but a shelf or something to hang your clothes was missing and the basin is really low and small, so you hit your had by brushing your teeth. The carpet in the rooms and the corridor is smelly and seems dirty, the hostel should definately remove it. But the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
658 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 156 in Melbourne
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 156 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#35 of 156 in Melbourne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range: $32 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing