We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet, Modern and Close to the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #12 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, Modern and Close to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was quite adequate for our party of four, 1 couple and 2 singles. The rooms were big enough, and it was quite modern looking.

The view was nice from the small balcony, the aircon worked well, there was loads of cupboard space and even a weird little room for putting bags? naughty children?

Its very close to the casino, and a short 20min walk to the city.

The service was good, We had a couple of niggles which I don't think should detract anyone from staying. Someone had switched the phone handset plug, so it didn't work at first. The iron was missing, but reception brought up a new one, and the toilet fan, didn't really do anything, (don't let any of your group eat curried beans!) luckily reception sent us up an air refreshener. All the appliances looked pretty, but we didn't make use of the dishwasher, fridge washingmachine or dryer.

A couple of other things, The hairdryer sounded like it was going to blowup, as it had a broken peice of plastic that rattled around inside it, and the shower squirted water on the ceiling from somewhere. I think I fixed it by tightening part of the shower conduit with my hand. These things were probably unique to our room, and did not detract from the experience. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncingmolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    198
    63
    24
    16
See reviews for
185
115
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great place to stay while in Melbourne, located in the central CBD area and within walking distance to the South Bank and the restaurants located there. Rooms are well furnished and the views from the premium rooms is worth the extra cost. I highly recommend this as a place to stay while in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igweh_Onisiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

My cousins and I stayed here for 2 nights. Found out about this apartment via the Internet and they even have their own website that I booked through. Considering it was very last minute, I have to give them the thumbs up for excellent service at such short notice.

FYI, I booked the 2 bedroom apartment at City Point Apartment on Bourke Street. Apparently there are 2 other location at City Road & Soutbank.

What I loved:
1. location.
- tram stop was right outside the apartment. Unfortunately, one has to walk a fair bit to get on the free tourist bus or tourist tram.
- very near to the Southern Cross Station (easy to get taxis)
- walking distance to Etihad Stadium, Waterfront & Harbourtown and close to the DFO store

2. view
- great view of the skyline of Melbourne and Yarra River

3. amenities
- the comforts of home: washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, all kitchenware appliances, linens etc

What I disliked:
1. picking up the keys
- you'd have to pick up the keys at another location i.e. City Road.. it's a tad inconvenient

2. extra heater
- I went there at the end of winter and there is only one A/C / heater in the living room. wished they had additional A/C / heater in the bedrooms

3. TV channels
- very limited channels.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay and withing walking distance to the main shopping area further up Bourke Street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here for four days. Found these apartments great to stay at, spotless, well equiped and very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to assist us when Jetstar cancelled our flight which meant a three hour delay and a late arrival. No ongoing personal service but this can't be expected in such a large group of apartments.
Small shop nearby selling basic foods, and around the corner great wine shop and bigger minimart. Short walk to river complex where we were spoilt for choice with restaurants overlooking the river. Casino very close-usually loath them but this one has a beautiful atrium, bars and restaurants. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
224 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I've stayed here a couple of times. The 25 m lap pool is a real attraction as I need to swim as often as possible. There's also some basic gym equipment.

The rooms are good, excellent kitchen facilities. Modern decor...it's all there.

The immediate location is a bit dull, but good if you are working in Clarendon St area, and a short walk to Southbank with restaurants etc.

I'd stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

The major problem with this apartment group is that there are two different sites, one on the city road, south bank and the other in the city by Spencer Street Station. I booked with Wotif and was assured I would be in the city address, got there 3pm Friday afternoon and was told I was in the City road apartments, sorry for the mix-up. The location of City road is outside of the main CBD area and it's a hassle walking into and back from town. The apartment itself was good, neat, clean, most mod-cons but your basic city apartment nothing more. A tad soul-less. If you can pick it up for a good price and dont mind being on the city fringe then this place is great. Not sure it warrants it's place as the second best apartment in Melbourne, the reviews are a bit over-blown in my opinion or maybe the competition isn't up to much?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taieri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights last week whilst visiting Melbourne. We were hosting an exchange student from Holland so used it as our base.

Check in was easy though the front desk staff did not exude much friendliness or charm. Apartment was comfortable with all the necessary requirements of a short stay in Melbourne.

Location was perfect as we could walk to the CBD and attractions and then wander up to the Southbank restaurants for dinner. A well stocked IGA supermarket is located in the next block and cater well for apartment living.

There is a concierge located in the lobby but more for permanent residents though we found them to be extremly friendly and helpful if we asked questions about amenities etc.

The boys used the pool on several occasions but found the water to be extremely chilly and unheated.

My only concern was that the hair dryer in the room did not work and when I reported it, the response was pretty luke warm and they made no attempt to have it replaced during our stay.

Overall good location and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing