We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$99
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$190
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$161
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$92
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$80
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$159
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
247
262
87
32
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
262
87
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity roadthese apartmentsepic apartmentscrown casinobedroom apartmentsouth bankminute walkgreat apartmentmain bathroomwalking distancewell equipped kitchenconvenience storewashing machine and dryerfloor to ceiling windowsfull kitchenlaundry facilitiessmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 655 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The apartment was clean but starting to look a little tired. We had a reasonable views from the balcony but the blinds were older and not in the best condition and did not block the early morning sun, which meant that there was no sleeping in as sunlight would get through. The internal carpark which allowed us to access our car as often as we please without needing an attendant to get the car for you was a bonus. This allowed us to come and go as we pleased. The living area was spacious and all the kitchen facilities worked. The location was great. We were close to the Casino, South Wharf DFO, all the restaurants by the river and the CBD was a max.10 min walk away. The apartment was reasonably priced however the carpark should have been included and not an extra charge.This apartment building is not fit for anyone wanting to party all night long as they have a noise policy of no noise after 10pm, so keep that in mind if your thinking of going there to party hard!

Room Tip: Try get a high level room for a better view of the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear OzTravelGuy,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments. We love hearing from our guests as it helps us to ensure we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

Firstly, I apologise if your sleep quality was impacted on by the blinds in your apartment. I am pleased to let you know that we are currently undertaking a replacement program of our blinds in these apartments, in response to feedback from our guests. At the same time we will refresh the apartments with some new soft furnishings to provide a fresh lease on life!

I am delighted to read that you found our secure on-site car parking to be so efficient, and at $16.50 per day, we feel we are very competitively priced for an inner city car park, with most locations priced well over that per hour.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartments and the full-sized kitchen. We hear from so many guests how much they enjoy being able to self cater, especially after a trip to the South Melbourne Market to pick up some fresh ingredients! It's fantastic that you found the location to be so convenient to Crown and the abundance of restaurants and bars along Southbank, plus the bargain shopping at DFO and short walk into the city centre.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked this accomm via Wotif, under the "Wot Hotel Mystery deal" - well I learnt my lesson: never again. This accomm is located very conveniently over the river from Flinders St Station and near the Eureka building in Southbank. Check in is clunky and not streamlined like you'd expect from a large inner city hotel but they are apartments and these apartments are being sold and rented as same time. Huge towers with a pool and gym. The check in is on City Road but the apartment tower entrance is around the corner and the building work every where in the adjacent blocks means you trot around the block from check in. If it had been raining we'd have gotten wet, we had 2 children with us and no way we could get any concierge help - there isn't one. and we had to walk on the road as footpath closed as building stuff went on. Got into the the room. Great floor to ceiling windows with a bit of a view southwards towards the Bay. This will not last long though as the entire area is being built out with apartment towers. 2 bedrooms and a funny little vacant room we couldn't work out what it was for. The bathroom was dirty, the tiles moldy and grout cracked. The toilet seat was shamefully worn out and disgusting. Its a very cheap repair but these managers aren't interested in maintenance. Airconditioner ( reverse cycle) was really noisy and we had a small column (oil) heater but these couldn't cope with the cold conditions so the main lounge is quite comfortable but the bedrooms freezing.
Got out the supplied blankets during the night as so cold.
BUT when I went to put the blankets away in the morning noticed they were filthy with what appeared to be lashing of human mucus like stuff crusted on and dried to them. Nearly threw up.
Called reception all apologies but took ages for housekeeping to come up to apartment to remove the filthy blankets & clean the mold from the bathroom, the attendant then told me wouldn't be cleaned properly as the grout was cracked. Informed her that a liberal application of thick bleach would most definitely get rid of the problem in the short term but maintenance should be informed. Also pointed out the toilet seat and got a mumbled reply that would let maintenance know. We had checked this accommodation out on Trip Advisor after we found out from Wotif and we looking forward to or stay but the dirty bedding and the mold stained bathroom and ancient peeling toilet seat put us off.
We were booked for 2 nights but decided to leave half way through second day and didn't stay another night. There is better available especially if you have children and don't want to risk some kind of infection from a dirty bathroom, peeling toilet seat ( yes the plastic toilet seat was delaminating) and filthy bedding.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one, and check bathroom and bedding for cleaniness.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleum1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear caroleum1965,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review following your recent stay with us. We truly value the feedback we receive as it helps us to continue to improve our guest experience. It was a pleasure to speak with you over the phone and I'm glad we were able to discuss your stay in more detail and how we have resolved the issues you raised.

It was so disappointing to hear that you did not experience the outstanding level of quality, cleanliness and service that we pride ourselves on delivering to our guests, and for this I sincerely apologise again. As mentioned to you on the phone, I can assure you that the comfort, safety and security of our guests is of utmost importance to our team. As discussed over the phone, each of the items you highlighted has been addressed; the toilet seat has been replaced with a brand new one, the shower grout has been thoroughly cleaned and repaired, the shower screen silicone has been replaced, as has the silicone around the vanity mirror. In regards to the blankets, as discussed, the substance you found was dried washing detergent. We are working with our laundry company to find a way to avoid this happening in the future. Your feedback regarding the miscommunication between our housekeeping department, reception and yourself will be used in developing communication training modules for our team.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the convenient location and the large floor-to-ceiling windows that your apartment offered.

Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and I do hope that we get the opportunity to give you the outstanding guest experience that we pride ourselves on during your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Short Stay. Fantastic location close to the casino and town. The room we had was very nice on the 29th floor. Views were superb. Only minor complaint, was it was a bit of a hassle arriving as we were outside of check in etc. Great facilities though, pool kept our youngest daughter entertained. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Colleen4154,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us in September.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your family were able to take advantage of the complimentary access to our building's leisure facilities. It's so great to read that you found the location to be so convenient to Crown and the CBD and that you were able to enjoy some great views from your Premium View apartment.

We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with your after-hours check-in. We are currently undertaking a review of our booking confirmation paperwork to ensure that the after-hours check-in procedure is very clearly defined.

Thank you once again for leaving your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed with 2 daughters on the weekend of the grand final, good location but despite booking through Expedia they tried to charge some exorbitant rate which I had to set straight ... The room was average and could do with a bit of maintenance.... I asked for 2 single beds and got a double for the 2 girls so one ended up on the lounge.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Murray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Murray K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback during your stay with us over Grand Final weekend. We appreciate hearing from our guests as it helps us to continue to improve our guest experience.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments regarding the condition of the apartment to our Maintenance Manager to follow up.

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by your apartment not having two single beds. While we make every effort to honour requests made by guests when making a reservation, at times, like over AFL Grand Final weekend, availability doesn't allow for it. I am also sorry for the confusion experienced during check-in regarding the nightly rate and I am happy to hear that it was rectified on the spot. We will use this example as a team training topic.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

These apartments are really great. They offer heaps of space and are really clean. They are also very close to all the action. We have now stayed there three times and it is our only choice now when in Malbourne. The rooms are large and there is plenty of room for the kids to move around. Love them.

Room Tip: The views from all the rooms are great and they are nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Wenkrs,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments following your recent stay with us. We love hearing from our guests because it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

We are thrilled to read your five star review! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed the space that our apartments provided you and the kids during your stay; we think they're ideal family accommodation, but we're a little biased! We are glad that you found our location to be convenient to the action of our vibrant city, and I'm sure you'll agree there's plenty to experience in Melbourne.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip here.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews