We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space and the kitchen was well equipped when we arrived we didn't think the room had been hoovered-hair and dust all over the floor. We called down to reception who then tried to initially tell us the room hadn't been cleaned and wasn't ready - not the case unless the previous occupants had neatly folded all their towels and made the beds!! They did send up two girls to re-Hoover the apartment very quickly though. We then came to the conclusion they need a new vacuum!
Otherwise the apartment was nice and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill&Pete45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family of 6 had a great stay at the apartments in City Rd over a four day period. The location was great - an easy walk to Crown and Southbank and to the City Circle tram. Check in/check was easy and all staff that we came into contact with were polite and well-mannered. The lifts were nice and quick - no waiting around. Car parking was secure and although costing $16.50 per day it was well worth it. The kids loved the pool and swum everyday - it was a great way to relax after hours of site seeing and walking. We were located on the 14th floor and the 3 bedroom apartment was clean and furnishings were lovely. The beds/pillows were great and the two bathrooms were an added bonus with 6 of us. Foxtel was a bonus. We had a lovely view over to the MCG, Crown etc... and the kids spent ages gazing at the bustling city and lights. The apartment had everything we needed - my only gripe would be that the rooms were quite hot and doors had to be left open for the coooling to reach all rooms but this was only a minor worry although full on summer may be a different story. It was extremely quite and relaxing at night. Thanks for having us and I will recommend your apartments to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porcharoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

our family stay at the sentinel ;their was 2 adults, daughter is 15 and our twins who were 1 and half in a great size 2 bedroom apartment it was great to have that full kitchen with the younger ones it would of been nice to have a extra bathroom nice view it was great to be able to go down for a swim but it was quite cold and the only problem we had was we payed for 2 portacots 1 was broken and we only was given a sheet and 1 small blanket so they ended up sleeping with us and the other problem was our travel agent called them to check were we had to pick up the key and was told that we go straight to the hotel so when we got there we was taking to city rd to a small office and then we had to then walk around the block to the hotel normally i wouldn't worry about this but we had all our lauggage and 2 babies it was quite hard.. fantastic location close to southbank and casino

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Short Stay apartments are not bad at all. The location is excellent and their the best feature, with easy access to trams, a walk to the city centre and Southbank precincts.

The building facilities (pool and gym) are well kept, as are the furnishings and the balconies are great, decent sized, except that you're not allowed to put anything on them, including furniture.

However for an extended stay they lack any personality or sense of homeliness. For self-contained apartments, they also have an inconvenient lack of key items for settling in quickly, such as: no access to drying rack (although there is a dryer), no start ups in the kitchen (e.g. tupperware or cling wrap, butter, oil, the things you don't want to buy a full packet of when you're away from home).

But it is secure and so convenient. Good beds, good pillows, air con but expensive internet.

I have stayed at both the Kavanagh St building, and also the one on the corner of Clarendon and Whiteman Sts. The latter is meant to be the "deluxe" property, but the one bedroom apartments are exactly the same as the standard ones, except for having cable TV and a better view with more privacy (over the city vs into other apartment blocks). I wouldn't bother paying the extra for this 'deluxe' property if you don't mind people potentially peeping into your room when the curtains aren't drawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a building that doesn't look into other apartment blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amymorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just finishing a five night stay with two adult children in a spacious and well appointed three bedroom apartment on the 32nd floor of these apartments. From the easy check in and welcome package to the end of our stay everything went smoothly. Apartment was clean modern and had a spectacular view over Melbourne. Situated across the road from crown casino at southbank it was convenient and easy to get around Melbourne. Great place to stay for a vacation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sitting on the 26th floor with a superb view of the city, this truly was a great weekend away. The central location to almost everything was fantastic. The facilities on site with the pool, gym, TV to name a few were second to none. The lobby of the building was like something from from an exclusive resort in a tropical location. The parking was also very easy to use and no distance to travel from the apartment. I will be back and comes highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Was in the Victoria tower in south bank -
Clean, modern and some good views - albeit looking into a series of adjacent high rises- so I had the blinds drawn for most of my stay- excellent access to the delights of south melbourne markets and the arts precinct and a food works mini market on city road for stocking the kitchen.
A three week stay was enhanced by a lap pool, gym and sauna and a concierge who was friendly.
Highly recommended amenity for the modern traveller in a fantastic metropolis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Southbank Central property. The location really does make it easy to enjoy the Southbank arts and culture precinct, South Melbourne Market, Southgate shopping centre and the world-class restaurants and bars along Southgate promenade. We are pleased to hear you made good use of the leisure facilities on offer and thank you for your kind words about your friendly concierge.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#37 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing