We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good 3 day Stay but Cleanliness could be Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Country Vic
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good 3 day Stay but Cleanliness could be Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very good apartment, convenient and had all the mod cons. Lots of towels, kitchen was wel stoked and the apartment all worked fine. This was a business trip and it was handy beng able t have breakfast every day in the apartment without having to pay $25 in a hotel.

Only downside was the cleanliness was so so. Soap remains in the shower soap holder, some rubbish left on top of a side table etc.

I would sty here gain and Southbank was convenient to the city as a short walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesAWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    189
    58
    23
    16
See reviews for
176
106
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a single room apartment on 180 City Road. The room was fine with everything you would want and the location was fine. The staff were also helpful. However, the noise was absolutely terrible. The apartment is on the corner of 2 main roads and the noise was 24/7. If you are a light sleeper forget it or take sleeping tablets - I had too. i am rating it poor because If I can't sleep the next day is just miserable. I was below level 11.

Room Tip: Maybe insist on a higher level?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here in 2 bed apartment during the Australian Open tennis. Ideal for walking to the tennis (which comes highly recommended), and also walking to the southbank complex of restaurants and some shops.

You end up in one apartment that is not of your choosing, within one of six tower blocks that are all fairly close together. Being low down would have been a dark, miserable experience, but we requested a high-up level, based on others' reviews, and ended up on floor 15, about half way up, which was just fine. Again depending on luck you may get a good view, as we did, or have that view a bit obscured by other tower blocks, though I have no idea what proportion of the company's lets offer poor views.

Inside of apartment was mostly a treat - spotlessly clean, modern, spacious and comfortable, though with ceiling to floor windows everywhere anyone with vertigo could really struggle - beware! Instructions for equipment left a bit to be desired. Some info was missing, and in some cases it was just plain wrong. But we got there eventually: washer and drier worked well and proved very useful. Towel supply was more than adequate, indeed it would be fair to say that we were inundated with towels! One downside was the sofa and the armchairs which were old, cheap and uncomfortable (see photo).

Pricewise this was an expensive option, maybe because of the tennis, but Melbourne is very pricey for Brits anyway.

Eating options in the immediate vicinity are very limited, though southbank is 5-10 mins away. Supermarkets were available nearby however and were well stocked and opened late, but prices of everything were about double the UK equivalent.

General area is still being developed, with construction widespread. Watching a tower block being built next to ours was actually fascinating, the noise only a minor issue. Anyway, perhaps because of all this the public transport in the immediate area has not yet caught up and must rank as about the worst in the world in the centre of big city. OK for us as we were happy to walk but if you are not so inclined beware.

North of the Yarra river there are trams galore!

On booking I thought I had secured free wifi, but due to some confusion on the tripadvisor website this turned out to not be the case. I queried this by emailing the company but got no reply. Service I ended up having to pay for was very good though.

Use of nice indoor pool and jacuzzi was included - pool unusually long and thin and well suited to length swimming if that is your bag.

So, excepting the email issue and the sofa, and the pot luck nature of the booking process, this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sno878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

great apartments, so close to the river and restaurants/bars, and the CBD just across the river. The apartment was a great size, well furnished and supplied, fantastic view, and very clean.

There was a deck on every apartment, a tennis court, gym and pool, and the office was extremely helpful.

Although only queen beds available, was a great sleep.

Will definatley stay there next trip.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments have the best views I think, and obviously the higher the better for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayla2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked 3 night stay during Australian Open tennis - booked direct. Key collection in a different location but just across road is apartment. Our apartment obviously for handicapped - lower benchtops, hated the bathroom with shower curtain and seat - maybe management could ask if we minded having this sort of room? Handbasin pretty useless as the mirror is directly above no room if you want to splash your face with water. Fully self contained with everything needed - though balcony furniture would be handy as well as a proper ashtray rather than a plastic pot plant holder with a plastic bag filled with sand. Balcony glass filthy. Cleaners may want to check things a little more carefully found a pair of knickers attached to ironing board leg - gross! On level 10 - can still hear a bit of road noise. Supermarket/bottle shop next door. Walking distance to Southbank and Casino. A further walk to markets. Handy location

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

While staying in Melbourne for a week with my family, we stayed at the Sentential Building run by Melbourne Short Stay Apartments. It was a very short walk from the Crown Entertainment Complex and easy to navigate into the CBD of Melbourne. Our apartment had a great view of some of Southbank and out over to the botanical gardens. Offices were located around the corner from the actual building we were staying at which was difficult to get our heads around at first. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmcmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for a family of 5 week in Melbourne. Great location with easy walking to CBD, Southbank, Crown etc, nearby convenience stores and grog shop (there was another nearby bottle shop outlet that was grossly taking advantage of location and prices were grossly inflated). Check in was easy and efficient with helpful staff. Some choice or consultation on room would have been nice and in hindsight the opportunity to decline a room would have been good. Overall the room was good, fresh sheets, linen etc. Spacious and comfortable. The TV was small, the couch was like one of the mini ones they use in display homes and wasnt all that flash. Unfortunately our room was let down by dirty carpets, carpets need more than a quick vacuum from time to time! Fittings in the kitchen were broken and the kitchen wasnt well equipped considering the available beds/accommodation! Generally it was good, certainly no problems but I would ensure I got better value for money on the next visit!

Room Tip: Book early, bit hard with this type of thing, if you are attending a specific event then book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,625 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#74 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing