We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No WOW factor!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for a family of 5 week in Melbourne. Great location with easy walking to CBD, Southbank, Crown etc, nearby convenience stores and grog shop (there was another nearby bottle shop outlet that was grossly taking advantage of location and prices were grossly inflated). Check in was easy and efficient with helpful staff. Some choice or consultation on room would have been nice and in hindsight the opportunity to decline a room would have been good. Overall the room was good, fresh sheets, linen etc. Spacious and comfortable. The TV was small, the couch was like one of the mini ones they use in display homes and wasnt all that flash. Unfortunately our room was let down by dirty carpets, carpets need more than a quick vacuum from time to time! Fittings in the kitchen were broken and the kitchen wasnt well equipped considering the available beds/accommodation! Generally it was good, certainly no problems but I would ensure I got better value for money on the next visit!

Room Tip: Book early, bit hard with this type of thing, if you are attending a specific event then book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    224
    68
    27
    21
See reviews for
217
130
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Melbourne Short Stay apartments were great to stay at when visiting Melbourne. They're only a short walk for the Yarra River and the main shopping area of the city and there's also easy access to trams nearby. The apartment was outstanding. Very clean, modern, comfortable beds and a great view - especially from the 31st floor where our room was. The apartment was also great value for money. The staff were very professional and had great customer service skills and were helpful when giving information regarding places to shop and also with organising hotel transfers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Grove
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent two nights in the city road apartments great location very modern well furnished apartment. Very clean would definitely stay there in the future well worth it. Staff friendly and helpful . Place was originally recommended to us

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alllywarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on southbank this time and it was easy to get into the CBD. Our apt was badly overlooked by nearby blocks, which we didn't like but not all are. Views were not as good as in Bourke street and they are building another tower block nearby which, from our apt, will cut off the views towards the river. I think you need to be choosy about which apartment. Ours was a two bedroom apt and as usual the set up was superb. Floor to ceiling windows in the bedrooms were magnificent.
One thing the southbank apt had over Bourke street was that there were no disco noises till 4am on the sat, so that for us was a definite plus!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sagawithattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

On arrival at this property we found the office closed and locked and had to call a security company to gain access to our apartment which was located in another building around the corner.

We stayed in a comfortable one bedroomed apartment in the Sentinel Building, well maintained and well equipped with a spacious living area, full kitchen, dining area and laundry within the spacious bathroom.

The apartment had a small balcony with limited views, but wasn't really useable as no patio furniture was provided and was quite dusty.

The bedroom had very comfortable bed, good quality bed linen and plenty wardrobe and storage space. The only downside was no in room TV, albeit one in the living area.

We were awoken on Christmas Day at 4.25 am by the fire alarm - thankfully a false alarm - but quite a hike down the 22 flights of stairs to the street level :-)

Well located, comfortable and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very comfortable stay with the most fabulous view. Pool excellent for those who like to do laps. Great location so close to events centre, south bank promenade and trams etc. handy having the IGA underneath.

Room Tip: Try and get as high as possible with a view towards the city.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annabeljazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenage boys), & stayed in a 2BR apartment on the 15th floor, for 5 nights in Dec 2012.

Firstly, the negative: .. via Trip Advisor, I found a great rate on Webjet, @$260p.n. I phoned MSSA direct, but was told quite abruptly that they could not match that price. I then (very politely) mentioned this seemed at odds with their Best Rate Guarantee: only then did they (reluctantly) agree to match that price. When i provided this feedback after my stay, to my surprise, Marcus, from their management team responded immediately with a full explanation, an apology & an offer of credit. My subsequent communications with Marcus indicated their focus & commitment to their customers: a great example of turning a somewhat negative first-impression into a really positive outcome. Highly commended!

As to the rooms: ....

We were in the Sentinel building in Kavanagh St. This had a fantastic tennis court (as well as a pool) which kept our boys busy 3 or 4 times each day. The apartments themselves were spotlessly clean, 2 very large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.... The lounge/living area was very big, but was somewhat cut in half by the furniture arrangement. Regardless, heaps of room. Great view, no issues with sound unless you opened the windows - then, the usual city noises, but certainly this was not intrusive.

One weird thing: you need to have both the "light" switches on in the main bathroom, in order for the washer and/or dryer to work!!! We discovered this by trial and error: there should be signage to indicate this (again, management have committed to follow up on this)

We also had secure undercover parking for $16.50 p.n., which i thought was great by comparison to many other city apartments. I agree with earlier comments re Internet being charged for (no hotel should do this these days), altho if you book via Trip Advisor you may get this thrown in.

Overall, these apartments represent fantastic value for their size, location, and amenities. especially given the fantastic follow-up by their management team, i would not hesitate to stay here again next time i am in Melbourne. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozkazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,983 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,489 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 160 in Melbourne
3,649 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing