We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #12 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in City Road South Bank Melbourne and we were very pleased with the accommodation. First I would like to mention that the staff at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments were very pleasant, welcoming and friendly. As for the accommodation, the apartment was very clean, with two bedrooms and a great kitchen. The living area was great too. The location was excellent, handy to all South Bank attractions, and close to the city square. There was a Food Works supermarket just over the road for groceries, and there was parking available if required, which we used. It was $99 for seven nights parking, which I thought was quite reasonable. The apartment had awesome views of the city, all around, (we were on the 34th Floor), and it had fantastic heating which was very comfortable. The only other thing we would have liked in the apartment was another toilet as it only had the one toilet/bathroom, but overall we would definitely stay there again. Super !!

Room Tip: High floors had great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    218
    65
    24
    18
See reviews for
207
125
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Melbourne Tower, which is on the same side as the office. Room 152, 15th floor. The apartment had everything we could ask for, we knew prior that they had basics and we were to supply food etc, this is the same for many apartments. The rooms were very clean and spacious. With a good view, to be honest we didn't stay inside alot as we were too busy checking out the city. The layout in this apartment was fine(I had read some were near the front of the apartment). The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home-had the best nights sleep. Southbank, Crown Casino very close, we went to see a footy game at the MCG, which was fantastic, we walked to MCG from the hotel, it took approx 30 min, the free tram is not that far either so getting around to other parts of the city is not a problem. Great pub meal can be found at PJ O'Briens in Southbank. We were very happy with the apartment and found that the staff were more than happy to help us. They booked a shuttle which takes you to the skybus and followed up when the shuttle was running late. I couldn't find any negatives with Melbourne Short Stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shzflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were staying at short stay for 2 weeks for work. I spent the first night in a heinous apartment after stepping on exposed nails in the hallway. I complained to the office with a list of issues. Including white crusty stains on the carpet and couches, dirty glasses and dishes, a bedoom door which wouldn't stay open and a front door that wouldn't close and an air conditioner that was louder than the dryer.

After discussing these issues with reception, I was told that all the apartments are at this standard (low). I asked to be moved the following day and was put in a different tower on the 34th floor. The cleaners didn't come till 3 days after scheduled but signed that they had and reception told me explicitly that they do not restock washing powder, toilet paper etc. this was false.

The service was appalling but the building and location was quite awesome. The pool Nd gym were really quite good too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispyslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the City Point apartments at Bourke Street. They informed us when we made the booking that check-in was at City Tempo at Queen Street, so we had to make a detour in order to get our keys. On-site parking added another $16.50 per day to the cost of our stay, but at least it was covered and secure. We booked a 2-bedroom 2-bathroom apartment, and I would say the best thing about it was the view from the 23rd floor. The apartment itself was rather dated. It was winter when we arrived, but there was no heating in the bedrooms. The only source of heat was the air-conditioner in the living room.
The location was good; most places were accessible on foot, and the public trams stop right in front of the building. However, the free tourist trams and buses do not stop near the building and you have to walk about 10-15 minutes for the nearest stop.
Like other travellers have noted, the apartment was not serviced during our 5-day stay. Considering we paid more than $350 per night, we expected that someone would come in to do a light cleaning at least once. Overall, our stay was uneventful, but the experience could have been much better.
MSSA handles bookings for a few properties in Melbourne, so do check carefully which one you are booking. Perhaps Tripadvisor could separate the reviews for each property so that travellers know which one they are reviewing or considering to book.

Room Tip: Believe it or not, even on the 23rd floor, we could hear the trams! If you are sensitive to sound, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Really impressed from the moment we walked through the door, the view, location, staff, proximity to Southbank. Like another reviewer would have been good to know that the apartment was different locatin ( kavandgh St) rather than city as the central office.
There is a great free shuttle ( which comes close to the apartments- 5 mins away ) and a free tourist tram both are great for getting around.

The views were so good, that a couple of nights we got food and a bottle of wine and just enjoyed the view and apartment!

All in all this apartment helped make our Melboiurne experience even more special than it was.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up the building we where in 31st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2 br apartment for a week while attending a conference in Melbourne Convention Centre. The location was very convenient. It was only 10-15 minute walk to the conference, and the Central Business District was within walking distance as well. The neighborhood is dominated by high-rise apartment buildings and the Crown Casino. There is lots of traffic and not many people on the streets, so it's not very pleasant to walk around. To get to decent local restaurants walk 15-20 minutes to the South Melbourne neighborhood. There is a small grocery store across the street with decent selection and prices.

The apartment had fully equipped kitchen, washer and drier, TV and internet ($10 a day or $50/week). Parking was available in the building and was pretty expensive. The apartment was very comfortable and clean. There was a nice outdoor swimming pool and a gym in the building.

In general I was very satisfied with my stay at MSSA, but we had two inconveniences:

The 2br/1ba apartments were advertised to accomodate 4 people. Unfortunately only 2 sets of keys were provided. Coordinating between 3 persons with different schedules and 2 sets of keys was difficult, especially since not all of the cell phones we had worked in Australia. It also required waking up in the middle of the night to let the 3rd person in. While I understand the desire to prevent overcrowding, I feel that it if an apartment can accommodate 4 adults, every one of them should get a separate set of keys. At least this limitation should be disclosed at the time of booking, so that one can make a better choice of apartment type.

The other inconvenience related to the internet. Only 3 devices could be used in an apartment at a time. That could have been sufficient 10 years ago, but in 2012 most people use laptops, smartphones, and sometimes tablets to access the internet. Having to log in and log out all the time was a hassle. It would be so much easier if WiFi would be included in the price and did not require one to log in.

The internet was not working well for a few days. The reception was forwarding my calls to the internet provider, while the provider was instructing me to perform lots of diagnostics, ultimately suggesting to ask MSSA to replace the router. That solved the issue, but I feel it should have been handled faster and more professionally by both MSSA and the provider.

In conclusion, I would definitely stay at MSSA again if I was in Melbourne for a business trip, but I would probably get a 2br/2ba apartment for more than 2 people

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 3 nights in the Sentinel building. One thing to note, though not a problem, is that your apartment building may not be in the same street as the office where you check-in. The Sentinel building was in the street directly behind the MSSA office.
The apartment was clean and spacious with all the amenities we needed. The kitchenette was well stocked with cooking equipment/utensils and included nice touches such as a bodum coffee press. The beds were firm but very comfortable.
From our 27th floor apartment we had great views of the MCG.
The building is secure and is located a short walk from the Crown complex.
The only downside was that there seemed to be a wind-tunnel in the building that was very evident in the foyer of our floor - so much so that there was a wind-stopper provided to chock against the apartment door, and even then if you shut the bedroom door it vibrated all night.
We got a good price around $200 per night as a "Wotif Wot Hotel", and I would definitely stay there again at that price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank barrydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing