We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a wonderful apartment for our first visit and can only say our next stay was just as good. The apartments are extremely well furnished, modern, beautifully clean and met every requirement. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a very convenient location to access Melbourne's transport and attractions and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Melbourne and the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    189
    58
    23
    15
See reviews for
175
106
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed with my partner and my mum at Short Stay Apartments for 5 nights in a beautiful 2 bedroom and 1 bathroom apartment on the 34 th floor. We all loved the apartment which was very well appointed, modern and had great views over Melbourne. The kitchen had everything we needed and we cooked almost every night there. We really liked the location on the Southbank at the Yarra River with only a short walk of 10 minutes to the city centre. Restaurants, supermarkets and bars were also closeby and in walking distance. We would definetely recommand these apartments and would love to come back ourselves!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuTReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed in a 3bed 2 bath apartment with a group of six. Bright, clean and generally pretty good. We had a few minor issues with aircondiditoning but staff promptly addressed those issues, and the apartment could of had a few more wine glasses given that it accomodated 6-7 people. The carpark, while convenient, needs an explanation of how to exit it but ultimately it wasnt difficult to work out! All round a very good apartment and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Booked for two apartments and asked same building same level. Got same building because I asked twice but same level remained a dream. They did not care in fact. Given the security policy in force, staying in this building was a nightmare. At check-in, the guy forgot to debit my credit card for reasons I still yet do not understand. Thus they try the next few days to debit the card for the total amount without the pin. At the end, VISA blocked the transaction at 3000A$ with a balance of 500$A. And then Short Stay blocked my access to one of the apartments whereas my wife and two of my children were still locked in. I get back the access to the apartment once I menace to set off the fire alarm and call the police. Damning day not saying the apartment floors were dirty, the dishwashers broken and the service far below the minimal level. Run away

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Beautiful, modern, well-appointed, 2-bedroom apartment in a fabulous location just south of Yarra River in the Southgate neighborhood of Melbourne just a short walk across the bridge from Federation Square. The apartment was well maintained and included nearly everything needed for a short stay. If you are hiring a car, the parking accommodations are reasonably priced and incredibly convenient. The only issue we had was that the air con system was not able to keep up with the 40 degree heat wave and hence the bedrooms became hot and would not cool down until hours past sunset. We rented through Wotif and had a very good deal; hence this apartment was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed recently stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment over Christmas Day.
Despite this peak period, we were checked-in promptly by friendly staff and enjoyed the use of the apartment, which was clean and fully furnished with all that you need. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the 173 City Rd apartments on the 21st floor for two nights in the week before Christmas in a 2 bedroom/1 bathroom apartment. It was clean, bright and modern, with full length windows, though ours didn't have much of a view. Beds were firm but comfortable. Our kids had a swim in the indoor pool which was great after a long day of sightseeing. The only thing I could comment on in the negative was that the complementary shower and body lotion bottles had been used previously. The bathroom itself was spotless. No sign of bugs of any kind in the apartment! I can't imagine that would be likely with the excellent standard of hygiene we experienced and I'm pretty fussy. Loved having a washing machine and dryer to do our laundry overnight. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful in booking the skybus connector bus and letting us use a bathroom to change before our flight. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to Flinders St Station and all the laneways and coffee shops of Melbourne. About 5 minutes to Southbank eateries.
All in all it was much more spacious and cheaper than a hotel for 2 adults and 2 children in a very convenient location. Wifi internet access was $10 per 24 hours.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,615 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#75 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing