We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment for 5 right in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Ranked #27 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Great apartment for 5 right in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our family of 5 spent 4 nights in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment at 187 City Road. We loved the apartment but the staff handled our check-in very poorly.

We arrived in the morning after an overnight flight. Since they did not have an apartment ready for us, they told us to go grab a bite to eat and walk around and they would call or text us when the first apartment became available since check-in wasn't until 2 pm. We left our luggage with them and left. They did not text or call for several hours and when we came back we were told that all the apartments had already been assigned and that we would have to take an apartment at one of their other locations......a good 10-15 minute walk farther away from the center of town.

So basically, they forgot about us and gave all the apartments away to others who arrived after us. I showed them our email confirmation that specifically listed the more central property that we had booked and was told that we had to go to the other location. They basically said "too bad for you".

We asked to speak to the manager and then an apartment suddenly became available. This mismanagement and customer service was very poor and we got off to a bad start. However, once we were in our apartment, things turned around.

This apartment was beautiful and it was great to be right in the city looking at other sky scrapers from the window. We had a washer and dryer, large kitchen and the bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice.

The location was very good and we walked everywhere. There are some great little pedestrian streets in Melbourne with fantastic shops and restaurants.

If you are a tennis fan you must reserve an arena court at the tennis center next to Rod Laver Arena,where the Australian Open is held ( which is within walking distance). My husband and son played there every day and we took amazing photos. None of the other Grand Slam venues offer this opportunity.

We loved Melbourne and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Don't let front desk staff boss you around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    182
    55
    22
    14
See reviews for
165
100
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Its aways difficult to find good accomodation for family of 4(2 adults, 14yo, 10yo). Good security, quiet complex, nice warm indoor pool.
Very roomy clean apartment with everything you need. About a 10 minute walk to city, 5 minutes to Crown casino complex. Will stay again when next in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Booked as a wotif mystery hotel and got a great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssssssnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This block of apartments is in the Southbank area and within reasonable walking distance to the city central, Etihad Stadium, Casino and public transport. It has convenience stores close by. Great location.

Room Tip: We couldn't request a particular apartment, but were lucky enough to be given one on the 35th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the 3 bedroom apartment facing the dock...bautiful view, convenient public transportation and also within walking distance to melbourne CBD (we took around 30 mins leisure walk). A quiet area which was good after long days of shopping n sightseeing

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Drove right past, they need a sign that sticks out. Had a problem with the dryer which kept cutting out every 10 minutes. Reported it mid morning next day & someone didnt come up until 5.30pm. Said if it happened again to ring. Unfortunately we didnt get home till 11 that night & the next day was Saturday. Someone came to look at it again & said it was working & to just keep pushing the reset button. Demanded access to another unit to get my drying done & access fob didnt work on floor. Eventually was able to dry the rest of clothes. Lovely accommodation if nothing goes wrong. Very secure, key fob only opens elevator on your floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthandfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed in a large 1 bed apt for a few nights - clean, bright, large and all the applicances, linen etc that you need. I only stayed for a couple of nights - but still value for money. Woudl recommend for long stay business or those with family on holidays ! As they are "apartments" there is no breakfast included or restaurant on site - but so close to southbank and city - it really does not matter !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusinessTravelsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Pros: The location and views were great, the amenities were nice (the gas kitchens were excellent for example), the price was excellent, and the staff tried hard to help.

The Cons: The equipment was the very cheapest (eg. broken A/C), the internet worked intemittently, the elevator security system kept you from meeting in a colleagues room unless you were escorted by them, the one phone and the internet all plugged in only behind the TV set (forcing you to use a laptop on the floor and not the desk), the windows allowed a great deal of sound through.

All in all, if I wasn't there for business (no colleagues or laptop), I would have been quite happy, especially considering the price

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review our property.

We agreed that our business and leisure traveler needed the option of being able to access the internet from any location from within the apartment.

I am pleased to announce that all our apartments now have wireless internet access.
The rollout of this significant infrastructure has taken a little longer than we would of liked, but now ALL Melbourne Short Stay Apartment across all our locations have the this high speed facility.

In relation to the inability to access floors other than the one you are staying on. We accept this may create some level of inconvenience, although we believe this is far outweighed by the high level of security this creates for our guest.

Thank you again for your review

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#46 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection
Address: 187 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank Collection apartments. Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Southbank Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing