We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spencer Backpackers
Ranked #112 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in it for one night - was a hot summer so we suffered as there was no air con or fan. Cheapest in the city so I know we can't complain much just that it was soo hot. So we opened up the window and woke up super early in the morning to noisy traffic. Ok for one or two nights but def no more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiNZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    14
    9
See reviews for
2
16
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was there for a few days before Easter and the room was average. But i just wanted it for a bed and to get around Melbourne. That is what it is all about; the sights of Melbourne. Only one power outlet in my room so i couldnt have the camera charged or the laptop running so that was an issue.

Quiet location, in fact that part of West Melbourne is incredibly dead, no pub downstairs or anything just a gutted shell. Overcharged for my stay as i change dthe booking but they were unreasonable with my request as i was stuck in Canberra and i requested this to be corrected.

Balcony was not sealed correctly and smokers would be out there and the room would be filled with the foul odour of cigarettes.

Bathroom facilities and toilet facilities were woeful.

But if you need this place to dump your bags and hit the town and just sleep and get back out there, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geanaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hostel is a stone throw away from the circle tram that runs through the city (for free!!) with nice, cowsy, lovely little rooms with a closet and balcony. There is a rooftop balcony with BBQ to use, adjacent to the communal kitchen which was dirty, but mostly because there were a lot of drunk idiots making a mess at night time.
The shared bathroom was being repainted when me and my girlfriend were there, so it's good to see that they were working on making the hostel look nice and clean.
The downside of this hostel was that there is no staff at night time, so when people go party upstairs they'll keep you up if you want to sleep. The next day they sorted it out though, other than that no complaints whatsoever. It's good value here, so be sure to book in advance in summertime, because it can be fully booked. Its close to the Victoria Market, which during summer has a nightmarket on Wednesdays with loads and loads of food, bars and bands playing. Be sure to check it out!
Furthermore, the staff was very helpful and altogether I'd recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to explore Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hostel is one of the worse ones Ive stayed in. My sister and I had a twin room and it looked like something out of a youth offenders institution! The room was dusty and the whole hostel smelt like cheesy feet and it made my asthma worse! The kitchen was small and dirty and the bathrooms were horrible. The hostel was very noisy with 18 yr olds drinking in the corridors until 2am. The location wasnt great either and although it had tram lines a few minutes away it was a long walk to the centre or harbour. Pay more and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bright_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you like to party then you might like it here as everyone drinks in the corridors and are noisy until about 2am. The kitchen was unclean and crowded and there weren't enough bathrooms or showers on each floor for the amount of guests staying. The location was rubbish as its about a 30 minute walk to Federation Square, there are tram and bus stops near by which is fine in the day time but less regular in the evenings. More importantly the place stunk of cheesy feet, we could smell it from down the road! And it made my sisters asthma bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Ok for city centre. Stayed in better/cleaner but not the worst. Bathrooms pretty clean as is kitchen but we only used it in the morning for the free tea and coffee as only there 2 nights (one getting over jet lag) can be noisy but not all through the night so good for sleeping if your ok been next to a busy road. Best thing is how close it is to the vic market. It's a basic hostel good for a couple nights.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The plus points: friendly and helpful staff. Cheap laundry facilities. Clean bed, though parts of the bedroom clearly hadn't been checked - lots of dust on wardrobe, previous people's belongings in the bedside drawer. Clean toilets and bathroom. Soap and towels are provided (at least in our double room).

The downsides. It's on top of a pub/bar. This apparently is not connected to the backpacker. On our second night there was an all night private drinking group until 7am. We were on the floor directly above and could hear everything. They did not keep the noise down when we asked in the early hours of the morning- we were prepared to put up with some noise but had enough at around 5.30. On our first night some of the guests were talking loudly at 4am in the corridors.

It is also fairly run down, and desperately in need of renovation, a lick of paint, and new carpets.

It was one of the cheapest hostels out there, but to be honest, I dearly wished I'd paid more and gone somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#153 of 160 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#31 of 142 in Melbourne
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#109 of 142 in Melbourne
480 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#30 of 142 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 142 in Melbourne
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Backpackers

Property: The Spencer Backpackers
Address: 475 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Backpackers is a small, friendly hostel that caters to all budget travellers. We have a fully eqipped, self catering kitchen for those on a budget and a great bar with fantastic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Spencer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing