We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of St. Arnaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Arnaud
Ranked #15 of 23 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days during the Australian Open in Melbourne. I had a great time and the location is excellent. However, the facilities leave a little to be desired. There are only 2 showers per floor, which means that there is a long wait for one in the morning. Also, if you're a light sleeper, you might be better off ensuring you don't have a room out towards the main road, as the tram makes a lot of noise every time it rolls by. However, in general, I had a positive experience, much due to the friendly staff and the nice people I met there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 53 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I didn't mind my stay here, but I really copped it from my high maintenance wife to be. The rooms have bunks, not good for couples. The rooms on the street side are noisy due to the tram line going past, this eases at midnight-ish but starts again early in the morning. Breakfast did run out quickly, although they did replenish the bread. The amount of cutlery and plates is inadequate and this should be addressed. There are not enough bathrooms and showers, which are shared. It's in a nice area, although there are more central options if that's what you want. It is about equidistant to the city and to chapel st. The room, sheets and bathrooms were clean enough for me.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adz717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Its not the best hostel we stayed in which is such a shame as it has alot of potential. It has alot of character, and is a spacious hostel but they do not have enough bathrooms. Never cooked in the kitchen so i cant comment on that, breakfast supplied was pretty standard. Room was good and location was right near the tram.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimzy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I do not often write reviews bur felt compelled to do so in this case. Having travelled previously for three months, I was well aware of different hostels and their various problems - this did not prepare me for my stay at St Arnaud.
To start on a positive note - the location is very good and the room sizes are adequate. I'm afraid that is where it ends. The "complementary" breakfast was minimal, often having run out of essentials very quickly. There was literally no cutlery and myself and my companion were forced to spread butter with a carving knife - not exactly what I expected. There are notices asking residents to clean up after themselves, however this is very difficult to do when there is no cleaning equipment and the tea towels are sopping wet and unable to dry a thing.
The bathrooms were, for want of a better word, gross. I literally heard the bath mat squelch under my toes when gingerly stepping into the shower. Not easy to have a relaxing shower when your stomach is turning. When I informed staff about the bathmat and suggested that they may perhaps want to have a look at it as the shower base could be leaking, I was met with a rather hostile "We clean every day!". I was not disputing this, merely suggesting an investigation.
To be fair to the staff, when we did have a problem, and felt forced to contact the manager, there was an apology, and extra internet time given, although I feel I should say that I was scared beyond measure at the apology from the manager, and hid in my room until the coast was clear.
Sorry St Arnaud, but this could easily have ruined my first experience of Australia, thank goodness for the great people and wonderful city of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Do not stay here. Where shall I start. The room was not vacuumed when we arrived, and even though they said they 'deep clean' their rooms it was, for want of a better word a bit scummy. The bathrooms are shocking, dirty, wet, sodden bathmat, paint falling off the walls, hair everywhere- eugh. Also there are not enough bathrooms for all the rooms, only 2 on each floor to service about 20 people each. The kitchen is tiny, you cannot cook in there, you can't even get a glass of water easily because there is only 1 sink, there is no cutlery- trying to put Vegemite on my toast with a carving knife after a night out is unsafe. There is no duty manager, no one knows what to say and you get passed from pillar to post, I eventually spoke to the manager who scared the life out of me. On the up side, there were clean linen, towels and 2 pillows. Breakfast was toast and cereal, so that's grand.

Room Tip: If it's warm try not to go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at St Arnaud for two nights. Culd have stayed longer but found cheaper and better elsewhere. The room was fine, decent size. Very limited internet but ok if you need it for a short time. There was no where to hang the wet towels in the room. We had a double room for around 72 Dollars a night. The shared bathrooms were not very clean and there were no locks on the doors. This place caters more for young backpack travellers. For more experienced travellers who want more value then this is not the place to stay. Breakfast was self service with lots of backpackers in one kitchen making toast etc, not the best way to start your day. Location is good and bed was comfortable. Not a terrible place but not great either:-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Take a pair of flip-flops when you visit St Arnaud's!
Good basic facilities, including a clean bar fridge in the room. Clean beds, fresh towel daily.Clean and well equipped shared kitchen.Invisible staff.
All good value in this low price range :-)
The bathrooms,however, were terrible! Not just mess left behind by other guests but long -term, ingrained, stick-your-feet-to-the-floor kind of filth. YUK! The mats afforded no protection as they were just as bad.
No sign of any cleaning happening during our 3 night stay with full occupancy. Dust and crumbling grandeur has a certain quaint appeal, but BIOHAZARD does not. They need to lift their game and give bathrooms a regular thorough scrub and steam clean, and maintain with a daily once-over plus some spray product for guests to use as necessary on toilet and basin.
If the bathrooms were given some much needed attention, I could happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,118 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 162 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Royce Hotel
#35 of 162 in Melbourne
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,396 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 162 in Melbourne
8,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Arnaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Arnaud

Address: 99 Park St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Arnaud 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Arnaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Arnaud Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing