We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the deliciousness! Vego options available.”
Review of The Tippler & Co

The Tippler & Co
Ranked #342 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Asian, European, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Tippler & Co provides a place for people to appreciate all things food & drink.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oh the deliciousness! Vego options available.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I ate here with a group of friends and we had a really good night. The food is absolutely delicious and there is heaps of variety. The food is served 'share style' which means you get to try heaps of different dishes. I was pleased to find that there are several very tasty vego options on the menu. I really recommend the arancini and gnocchi!

The staff were super friendly and helpful in recommending drinks to go with our food. The atmosphere is really good and the wine list has some really interesting options.

I will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GOOOOD”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My Husband and I walked here from home after doing a quick search of nearby resturants and decided to try this one and boy oh boy are we glad we did!
Firstly let me say that we aren't ones to review, unless they are awful. It was a Friday night and we called the same day to book a table for that night without a problem.
As you walk in you don't really know where to go or who to ask about your booking as you walk into a bar and there wasn't anyone around when we arrived so perhaps management could look into that. Even a sign saying 'please wait here to be seated' or something just so patrons aren't left standing awkwardly in the middle or the room.
The dining room is small but cute, I'd say bring a sweater as they often open the windows which adds to its charm.
Waiters were very friendly and personable, even spoke to the owner who informs us the restaurant has been open for only 3 months!
Lets get to the food shall we...
Potato bravis was ok, Pea & Ham Croq were yum, stand out was the gnochhi...OMG this was the best gn. we have ever had! and at $19 for a decent serve very good value. The beef short ribs were also great and at $26 for a large pretty good value too.
We had 3 drinks, 2 entrees and 2 mains and it came to $100 and we were FULL.
The setting is cool, the food is fresh and generous portions and the waiters are friendly....what more do you want?
The owner Gus says they change the menu every 3 months so you'll bet you'll find us there in the next few weeks!!
Keep up the good work guys, I only hope you can keep this standard up without jacking up the prices too much as you're onto a winning formula.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimH783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Dinner”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went to the Tippler last night for dinner & it was very nice.
My spare ribs & my partner's Atlantic Salmon were excellent albeit the service staff were under the impression we were sharing our main course.
Which we rarely do.
We did share a dessert of :Date Pudding & Fried Ice Cream which was excellent.
Service was attentive.
Pricing was very reasonable.
The Tippler is more for people who like to share their meals( which we rarely do other than dessert) & it would be helpful,if the staff asked in advance rather than assuming as they did in our situtation where my meal came a good 10 minutes ahead of my partner's meal.
I was nearly finished when her meal arrived(not ideal).
So as to eat with her I ordered a serving of large chips which were great.
With a little more emphasis on service The Tippler should be around for long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carringtonfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This relatively new restaurant has a warm and friendly ambience. The food is excellent and they catered so well for one of our group who requires gluten and dairy free food. The service was wonderful and we all enjoyed visiting this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Cliffs, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Selected to dine here because of great reviews and as we were staying next door and partner can not walk far. We were offered seating on the stools in the front room or at normal tables in the smaller room. Chose the later. Very extensive drinks list; not as large menu but very interesting. We had the Piri Piri chicken and the Fried lemon gnocchi. Chicken was very tasty and the gnocchi was amazing, never had anything like it. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3496JulieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tippler & Co also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Tippler & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing