We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value apartment hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #144 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Reasonable value apartment hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

I was nervous about staying here after reading some terrible reviews but we enjoyed our stay here . My husband and I stayed two nights here with our four year old and the main attraction was it has a very simple kitchenette and there was a tiny separate bedroom with a single bed perfect for our son. We could get probably a better hotel room for the same price but not with a separate bedroom for our son.

It is not spacious but the fittings were modern and quite comfortable. I certainly would not describe it as filthy but I have had better servicing of a room. We did find the bed was short sheeted as someone else noted.

The position is excellent . It isjust a two minute walk from Coles supermarket and the free city tram stop is at the door.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    107
    96
    39
    50
See reviews for
96
81
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Two of us stayed 1 week. It was a great place, comfortable, clean and very convenient indeed. The room, bathroom and kitchenette were well equipped, we could not ask for more.
Coles Supermarket, just 2 minutes walk down the street, is open till midnight. Southern Cross station is just a little further down, which is also where you can cross over to Telstra Dome. There is a Hungry Jack at the station entrance, if you do not want to cook. Bourke Street / shopping area / nightspots just a short walk or quick tram ride away. So is Victoria Market, which sells all sorts of stuff.
What was really nice was that it was just off the main shopping and activity hub to be quiet enough yet near enough to it to be easily accessible to it. There is even a car park in the building.
The noise from the trams running in the street below was no problem at all, as some other reviewers have said - do not know what the issue is about this, and our room was right on the corner facing the harbour. Great view, btw!
Next to Southern Cross station is the Skybus pickup, running every 10 minutes during the day and quick and cheap - took just 20 minutes to get to the airport.
The staff, especially the front office staff, were wonderful, every one we spoke to - very helpful and professional.
Last but not least, the price was good value for money.

  • Liked — Comfortable, well-equipped, convenient location, right next to public transport and amenities.
  • Disliked — My roomate. :-)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lpf369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We arrived with our daughter expecting a two bedroom apartment to find the queen bed was actually located in the lounge room that had been slightly partitioned off in a corner to provide just enough room to place a two seater sofa, TV and coffee table between the sofa that had little room between the TV and the sofa. The two seater table for eating was in the hallway and it looked like the old kitchen was the single bedroom as there was a servery window that went to lounge room. The kitchen was more spacious than the bedrooms and I agree with other comments the apartment was grotty. The beds were uncomfortable - almost stiff boards. We were so disgusted it was advertised as a two bedroom apartment we up and left.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Feelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Harbourview Apartments in Melbourne. The apartment was very dirty and obviously hadn't had a proper clean for years. The apartment block was rundown and several aspects of the apartment needed upgrading or replacing such as the kettle and cupboards which had yellowed over many years of use. The bedsprings were coming out of the bed. The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean the shower while we were there and once we found that the bedspread had been pulled over the bed and the bed was unmade underneath!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — very dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skymaiden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

After arranging to stay in this hotel I read the scathing reports on this website. I was dreading turning up because the reports had been so negative.
Well our experience was far better than I was expecting and we would definitely stay here again.
Yes the apartment is small, but bigger than a regular motel room which the price compares to. You must compare apples with apples.....price range with price range. For the price the rooms are great, we paid $ 129.00 plus $15.00 for parking.
The restaurant downstairs was well priced with nice food. Their wine list was very average...so we didn't drink much. However $6.00 a glass for all wines was cheap for wine in the City.
I went to the fitness center, which only had 3 pieces of equipment , however they were well maintained and of a high standard. There was a Tv to watch as you trained.
Staff were excellent and friendly. It is in a great location if going to Telstradome...only a 5 minute walk.

  • Liked — Very central to all city attractions
  • Disliked — Bad wine list in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizzmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The hotel was generally OK and the staff were friendly - BUT ... Our room looked like it was never properly cleaned. Carpets looked dirty and the walls were covered with streaks, scuffs and runs. The toilet smelt stale when we booked in. Everything just seemed grotty. The beds were cheap and uncomfortable and each bed seemed to have been short-sheeted. It was as if the sheets were actually too small for the beds.

We were given a corner apartment on the lowest residential level (Level 3). This was very noisy as the the hotel is located on a major tramway junction. Trams seemed to run all night and the squealing of steel on steel, tram brakes, tram bells and the occasional electric flash from the overhead wires tended the keep us awake. The older Melbourne trams make a sound as if someone is wheeling a trolley of steel ball bearings down the street.

Needless to say public transport was very convenient!

  • Liked — Handy to transport
  • Disliked — Apartment was dirty and noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I have stayed here several times. It has many conveniences including spacious carparking and a nice restaurant downstairs that provides friendly and prompt room service.

The rooms are light, but quite cramped - they've squeezed as much as they possibly can into the space available. The rooms are run down, the furniture and fittings dated and poor quality.
It's a gamble as to whether you'll get a nice room or not - some have black grout in the showers and marks on the carpet, others have been recently repainted and are a lot nicer.

The most noticeable thing about the rooms is the smell, either stale cigarettes or sickly sneeze-inducing room freshener. I think they should definitely air the rooms for a few hours each day during housekeeping.

An investment in double glazing wouldn't go astray - the apartments are on a corner and you have the pleasure of hearing badly oiled trams turn the corner all day and night.

If you're off to the footy, Jeff's Shed or docklands, the location is great. I wouldn't recommend staying more than two nights here.

I also think management should replace the tacky flourescent gerberas poking out of the urn on the reception desk. It screams 'discount store' in a lobby that should make the most of the marble and gold surrounds.

  • Liked — Location, good off-street car parking, price.
  • Disliked — The smell.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#94 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#147 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#108 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#131 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing