We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible cramped place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #142 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible cramped place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

We arrived with our daughter expecting a two bedroom apartment to find the queen bed was actually located in the lounge room that had been slightly partitioned off in a corner to provide just enough room to place a two seater sofa, TV and coffee table between the sofa that had little room between the TV and the sofa. The two seater table for eating was in the hallway and it looked like the old kitchen was the single bedroom as there was a servery window that went to lounge room. The kitchen was more spacious than the bedrooms and I agree with other comments the apartment was grotty. The beds were uncomfortable - almost stiff boards. We were so disgusted it was advertised as a two bedroom apartment we up and left.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Feelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    103
    93
    38
    50
See reviews for
92
78
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Harbourview Apartments in Melbourne. The apartment was very dirty and obviously hadn't had a proper clean for years. The apartment block was rundown and several aspects of the apartment needed upgrading or replacing such as the kettle and cupboards which had yellowed over many years of use. The bedsprings were coming out of the bed. The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean the shower while we were there and once we found that the bedspread had been pulled over the bed and the bed was unmade underneath!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — very dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skymaiden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

After arranging to stay in this hotel I read the scathing reports on this website. I was dreading turning up because the reports had been so negative.
Well our experience was far better than I was expecting and we would definitely stay here again.
Yes the apartment is small, but bigger than a regular motel room which the price compares to. You must compare apples with apples.....price range with price range. For the price the rooms are great, we paid $ 129.00 plus $15.00 for parking.
The restaurant downstairs was well priced with nice food. Their wine list was very average...so we didn't drink much. However $6.00 a glass for all wines was cheap for wine in the City.
I went to the fitness center, which only had 3 pieces of equipment , however they were well maintained and of a high standard. There was a Tv to watch as you trained.
Staff were excellent and friendly. It is in a great location if going to Telstradome...only a 5 minute walk.

  • Liked — Very central to all city attractions
  • Disliked — Bad wine list in the restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizzmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

The hotel was generally OK and the staff were friendly - BUT ... Our room looked like it was never properly cleaned. Carpets looked dirty and the walls were covered with streaks, scuffs and runs. The toilet smelt stale when we booked in. Everything just seemed grotty. The beds were cheap and uncomfortable and each bed seemed to have been short-sheeted. It was as if the sheets were actually too small for the beds.

We were given a corner apartment on the lowest residential level (Level 3). This was very noisy as the the hotel is located on a major tramway junction. Trams seemed to run all night and the squealing of steel on steel, tram brakes, tram bells and the occasional electric flash from the overhead wires tended the keep us awake. The older Melbourne trams make a sound as if someone is wheeling a trolley of steel ball bearings down the street.

Needless to say public transport was very convenient!

  • Liked — Handy to transport
  • Disliked — Apartment was dirty and noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

I have stayed here several times. It has many conveniences including spacious carparking and a nice restaurant downstairs that provides friendly and prompt room service.

The rooms are light, but quite cramped - they've squeezed as much as they possibly can into the space available. The rooms are run down, the furniture and fittings dated and poor quality.
It's a gamble as to whether you'll get a nice room or not - some have black grout in the showers and marks on the carpet, others have been recently repainted and are a lot nicer.

The most noticeable thing about the rooms is the smell, either stale cigarettes or sickly sneeze-inducing room freshener. I think they should definitely air the rooms for a few hours each day during housekeeping.

An investment in double glazing wouldn't go astray - the apartments are on a corner and you have the pleasure of hearing badly oiled trams turn the corner all day and night.

If you're off to the footy, Jeff's Shed or docklands, the location is great. I wouldn't recommend staying more than two nights here.

I also think management should replace the tacky flourescent gerberas poking out of the urn on the reception desk. It screams 'discount store' in a lobby that should make the most of the marble and gold surrounds.

  • Liked — Location, good off-street car parking, price.
  • Disliked — The smell.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

My girlfriend and i spent three nights at harbour view and we found it an excellent place to stay .. so much that we have planned another stay for four nights in july. the rooms are very good with full kitchen facilities.. the view out over the Telstra Dome is tops as well ... the hotel is also very well placed to the Market.. Telstra Dome.. Skybus.. Spencer Station.. Coles and the DFO... we Highly recomend to others for a great stay in Melbourne.

Dale Sheppard
Tasmania.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank demes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Booked a Penthouse suite for $189 a night for two nights. Good location, handy to sporting venues and shopping. Restaurant downstairs is excellent, good food and service so sharp that even if you are against tipping, you tip. Room was neat, tidy, staff were always helpful and courteous .

The penthouse suite was big enough for two people and had full kitchen facilities which included oven, cooktop, microwave and dishwasher. The apartment was laid out nicely and there was plenty of hanging space to put my wifes excessive purchasing for the weekend in.

I must say after reading previous reviews I was quite hesitant but I guess some people will always be glass half empty type of people. I have travelled a bit and found the habourview apartments on par with most name hotels I have stayed in. The place made for an enjoyable weekend

  • Liked — Convienient
  • Disliked — Needs a bigger bathroom, I guess
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bannedspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#146 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#125 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HarbourView Apartment (also known as Arrow on Spencer) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing