We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and overrated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #145 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service and overrated.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Booked a superior room. Walls were paint patched, queen bed was in the lounge whilst single bed was in a pokey bedroom. Poor customer service. I asked for 2 extra towels to be rudely told no I couldn't. Can me back from day out and bed hadn't been made and top sheet wasn't replaced so slept in bed with just a blanket and glasses were still dirty in the sink. So no room service was done. Furniture was dirty. Wouldn't stay again and being I am a housekeeper myself I expected better.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bratz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    107
    97
    39
    50
See reviews for
96
81
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had booked a one bedroom room. It was ok. The kitchen was big and it had everything, the bathroom was a little dirty (shower), the lounge was very small and the hallway to the bedrooms and the lounge was very small. It really had a small table to have dinner/brekky at as well. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: get a 2 bedroom apartment, may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawks_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Firstly, I must say that the actual apartment looks way better than the photos on the website. They really should do a better job with the website!

Nonetheless, our stay there was pretty eventful. We came back one night to find that our power was shorted. So we called reception to have someone come and reset the power board.

The next morning, we realised that the power was shorted again. The guy at reception claimed he "wasnt an electrician", but he "googled it" and had us try unplugging all the devices, then reset the power board and plugging everything back in again. Wow, very helpful :P

We finally figured out that it was the fridge that was causing problems, so we called reception again and they agreed to replace the fridge for us. When they came to replace the fridge, we heard a single knock before they immediately barged into our room. Wow. What happened to waiting for the door to open?? Thankfully, we were all dressed, or it would have been awkward. Barging into rooms is a big NO NO for ANY hotel :(

Other than the small incident, the entire stay was pleasant. Location is accessible. 5 min walk to Southern cross station for the shuttle to the airport. 1min walk to the city circle tram station (Spencer & LaTrobe).

My only qualm is that they only provide 1 hour of free wifi for your entire stay :(

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I booked for only one night in January so we could take our boys to the cricket at Etihad. It was in easy walking distance, even for our 2-year-old.
The Apartment was lovely and clean with nice linen and towels. And plenty of space for the 5 of us. Coles and an Asian supermarket very close by if you want to cook.
It'll cost you $15 on top of your. If hits stay for parking, but it is secure so is great for peace of mind.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burdett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for our xmas holiday break. We had 2 apartments booked and 1 double room, 2 on level 5 and 1 on level 7. We were greeted with friendly helpful staff and the rooms were just perfect for all our needs. Perfect location, great for the shopper as trams stop out front trains just up the road. Very clean, our beds made everyday and clean towls which was fantastic. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in 6 apartments/ hotels in this trip. This is the only one that we dislike.

We were served by an unhelpful and unfriendly staff when we reached the hotel. She did not allow us to park our car in the premise just for a short while to unload our luggage. The staff also refused to help us book the skybus hotel transfer service, saying that the hotel was so near to the station and there was no need for the service. We tried to explain to her that we had two elderly who were in their eighties with us and it would be very difficult for them to walk that distance with their luggage. However, the staff was apathetic.
The room was old but quite clean and adequately equipped. It was difficult to sleep well at night. The sound from the trams was bad but the worse was the sound from the window blinds. When the air from the air con blew at the blinds, the blinds would hit against the walls. The sound produced was so unbearable that we had to roll up the blinds when we sleep.
The location of the hotel is good. The tram stop is just in front of it and southern cross station is nearby. It has a few very helpful and polite staff (two female Chinese receptionists and a male Chinese cleaner, probably from China) that made our stay more bearable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xiaojiumu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked to stay 7 nights at this Hotel but after arriving decided that it was certainly not what we were expecting We discussed this with the receptionist who was very helpful and but could not do much as he did not have the power to make decisions. He suggested that if we found somewhere else they would refund our money. This we did but and Harbour View refunded 5 nights. The hotel was tired and in need of a upgrade and the only plus is that the linen was clean. It could have made the difference to our holiday which was the first in 5 years. My adivse is to read reviews before booking as you don't get what they say.

Room Tip: There are not good rooms when you have a block wall facing your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raewyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 159 in Melbourne
1,821 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#146 of 159 in Melbourne
600 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#138 of 159 in Melbourne
237 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing