We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ok but needs work!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #131 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok but needs work!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had to wait 20 mins after the 2pm check in time due to room not being ready, Reception lady was quite rude to begin with. Got upgraded to 4 bedroom penthouse due to 2 bedroom air con not working! 2 bedroom photos looked nice on website, went into 4 bedroom and furniture was old and worn out. Also room had just been cleaned so stunk of bleach and floor was still wet and slippery. Nice big room though and amazing private terrace, only problem no furniture on the terrance so we could not enjoy it! Great location though as very close to public transport. Could sleep alot of people which was great. I dont think the room is worth the price though, lots of scuffs of walls and drain in bathroom was extremly dirty and yuk looking, stairs to upstairs were flithy also. Would not stay here again until refurbished. With alittle care this hotel could be great and well worth the price but for now worn out and needing needing new furnishings asap!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccajv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    98
    80
    35
    44
See reviews for
84
69
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Harbour View Apartment Hotel provided us a reasonable price 2-bedroom apartment for 2 nights in Melbourne CBD with full kitchen, supermarket nearby, car park and free city tram & tourist bus stops at doorstep. The apartment was clean & spacious and staff were friendly. However there were few cooking utensils. The parking space (with a fee) is in the same building and reservation is needed. You have to check-in first at reception before you can enter the car park. Victoria Queen Market is within walking distance. We would recommend this hotel to our friends, but will warn light sleepers about the tram noise even at night & with window closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location was good (5 minutes walk to Southern Corss station), clean and comfortable environment. Close to amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had an awesome experience and will definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at harbour view for two nights as I was attending two concerts in Melbourne, First room was extremely noisy with road works going all night, complained so was moved to a second room, once entering the room a strong odour similar to old wet carpet was noticed, lights were not working and the air con was not working, the heat and stuffiness of the room was unbearable. Complained once again and was moved to a third room, this room was much better, quiet over night and working air con however was woken at 8am by a noise that appeared to be drilling (into the wall) from a neighbouring room, which was not appreciated since i wanted a late check out and a sleep in, after not a lot of sleep the night before. The staff however were very friendly, and helpful. The location is also great.

Had dinner at Il Sole, an Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, the restaurant prices were very reasonable, the service was fast and friendly and the meals very tasty.

I probably will not stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room layout was quite different with the main bed being part of the living/tv area and a second single bed in a small room between the main bed and the kitchen. There are sliding doors to the single room and a window from the main bed looking into the single bed. While it was a bit unusual it suited us perfectly being a couple + toddler. We were able to put our son to bed early and still watch tv, and were able to check on him by peeking through the little window which was great. The kitchen had a full size fridge, cook-top, microwave & kettle + sink and cupboards with plates etc. We did not cook a meal here, though we did prepare simple breakfast and it worked well. The bathroom (very clean) was located off the kitchen, there was a washing machine in the bathroom cupboard but it had an out of order sign on it. We didn't use it, but there was a room service menu in the room for the restaurant downstairs which would be convenient. Our room was on 7th floor and overlooked a construction site and train lines, we could see the trams coming up the road too (perfect to keep an eye out for the free city circle tram coming, then dash down to jump on it). This view was fantastic and kept my son (2 years) occupied watching the cars, trucks, trains, trams and diggers in the construction zone. We didn't notice much noise (although you would if you opened the windows/balcony door). The room was very clean, we were offered a service, but turned it down as toddler was taking a nap at the time. We would happily stay here again, although, check your bill - we got free car parking in our room deal but they tried to charge us for it as well, this was quickly removed from our account when we said it was included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bushwalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room very spacious for 2 but no free WiFi. Initially the room smelled of stale drains due to the washing machine not being in use. Although in evidence it was not part of our rental and we had to pay to use the hotel (as opposed to apartment) facility. Having said that you get what you pay for and this was decent value for money. (3 nights $485) Good central location and a bit noisy for me but Jane rather liked the trams etc. Would choose this again

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Noisy doors slamming all night, horrible service - I had paid in advance and I had to argue with them to let me check in without a credit card authorisation because I had just lost my wallet in the city. Then they wanted me to give them the little bit of emergency cash I had got from the bank for food as insurance!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#94 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#134 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#130 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel
#127 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#123 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing