We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and unprofessional receptionist called Mae!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #146 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I checked in for a night at Harbourview Apartment Melbourne on Monday, 6/8/12.

On the morning of Tuesday, 7/8/12, we made our way to the lobby to check out and we were told that we have to wait awhile for the room inspection. After waiting for about 5 minutes, this receptionist named Mae, brought out a bathroom floor towel which was stained blue and asked us what was that. My friend explained that we washed our jeans the night before and left it to hang dry and we used the bathroom floor towel to soak up the water which was flooding the bathroom floor. Mae then told us that we had to pay $15 (to be deducted from our $100 bond which we paid when we checked in) for compensation of the towel. We tried to ask if we can avoid paying the $15 but Mae said no as the towels all have to be sent to the laundry and be bleached and etc etc etc. Mae told us that since we will be paying $15 for the towel, we can bring the towel back with us. We were appalled. Is that how one should treat their customers? Asking the customers to bring home a dirty, stained towel? It is plain ridiculous and it is an insult to us! If we have dirtied the towel, we will accept it as our mistake and pay the $15 as requested to and leave the dirty towel at the apartment! But we were completely shocked when Mae suggested to us to bring the towel back with us! This is plain rude and ridiculous!

Next, we asked Mae if we could wash off the stains ourselves instead. Then, she responded by saying we could bring the towel back and wash it and then mail it back to them. Then again, we were appalled! Is that really how one speaks to customers? Asking us to bring the towel back and mail it back? Seriously ridiculous! Firstly, we are tourists and we were leaving for another country. Did Mae expect us to wrap the towel up into a nice package and ship it back to the apartment? Did Mae expect us to absorb the postage costs? Did she even realise that it was yet another insulting statement?

Then, we asked Mae if it was possible for us to wash the stains off by ourselves right at that moment. She was stunned and all she could do was to look at us in the eye for a good 5 seconds and was not able to provide us an answer. We asked for another 2 to 3 more times before she replied "you could try". She then gave us the toilet key and we brought the towel into the toilet and washed the stains off within just 5 minutes. After washing the towel, we put it bag into the plastic bag and handed it over back to Mae. Mae only opened up the plastic bag and took a quick glance and passed it to the housekeeping department and said that she will refund us our $100 bond deposit in a minute. Mae did not even take out the entire towel to check if the entire towel was clean! It could have been clean from the way she saw it, but it might still have stains at the other non-visible parts of the towel! This shows that getting a clean towel was not important at all and Mae was obviously trying to rip us off the $15 because we look like young, gullible, weak and meek teenagers. She was obviously stunned when we suggested washing the stains off by herself because she knows that the stains are washable. She did not even bother checking thoroughly if we have washed the entire towel clean because even if it was not clean, the housekeeping department could wash it off easily and it would not even cost $15!

After that, when Mae refunded us our $100 bond deposit, she rolled her eyes to her colleague who was next to her, thinking that we could not see what she just did! Is that how a customer service representative of an apartment/accommodation should behave?

I am thoroughly displeased with Mae's actions and words and although the room we stayed in was clean and well furnished, this incident has left me a very bad impression of Harbourview Apartment Melbourne. We met a pleasant and polite receptionist named Sophia when we checked in, so I must say that Harbourview Apartment still has a certain standard of service, but Mae has spoiled our overall experience over at Harbourview Apartment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night after seeing fairly good reviews. Apartments are of good size but I couldn't help but notice the dirtiness. Business splatter on the toilet walls was revolting :/ floors were covered in dust and even rogue hairs. The seats and also the bed cover had cigarette marks/ burn holes and also food splatter on the stove. We were too scared to use the dishes so pre washed them for our satisfaction. I am not someone to usually pick but geez I would hate to know what someone else would rate the room we stayed in. Great location and staff were helpful

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shezazle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed with my two sisters, clean and comfortable. Good location, free city tram on the doorstep. Beds comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. handy to have Coles across the road a little way. Disappointed the cafe/ restaurant not open for breakfast mon - Friday, but found a great asian cafe on the next corner, good breakfast with hot drink $7.50. Not outstanding but good for the price and location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy6059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Harbour View Apartments on the corner of La Trobe and Spencer Streets in Melbourne while not the flashest place I've stayed in the CBD was certainly well priced and comfortable and conveniently located. Week day price was around $125. Plenty of room. Kitchen lacked an oven but still well appointed. If i had another meeting in the docklands, would stay there again. Across the road from the railway station, car rentals and Coles supermarket

Room Tip: great view from 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Functional hotel that is fairly well situated. Across the road from Southern cross train station, free city circle right in front of the hotel and Etihad stadium is just a short 10 minute walk away. We had a room that had one double bed and one single bed. There's a small kitchenette with a microwave. There's onsite, coin operated laundry (about the cheapest one around the CBD) and there's a small room with a treadmill and a few bikes for a bit of cardio.

The down side really is the look of the place. It looks dated and a friendly suggestion is that the place needs a bit of a patch and paint. Nothing major.

There's a tiny balcony where you can take about one step onto but to me, there's not a lot of point to it. The hotel might be better off just sealing the doors for security reasons and have a few pot plants there instead to improve the feel of the place (not to mention it'll hide the A/C units from view).

Overall, my recommendation is that this place is best suited if you're here for more than a week. There's few supermarkets nearby and Vic Market is only a few stops up the road. You can save a bit of money just making full use of the kitchenette. So families and group of friends.. hint, hint.

In other words, if you're looking for something that's glitz and glam, look elsewhere.

Staff has been pretty friendly and helpful, which I'm a little surprised about.

So to recap... positives: location, functional, clean. Negatives: looks a bit old and might be in need of an Exorcist... forgot to mention that bit, sort of sensed something when I walked in but that might just be me. :)

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better. I could deal with the little bit of noise from A/C unit but I've li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very hectic stay in Sydney for 5 night and wanted a nice stay in Melb before travelling home on the train. We stayed one night and found the apartment very nice, clean friendly staff and a walk to the station, also with Coles over the road we could cook our meal.We did not find the traffic noise too bad but then we were extremly tired and slept like babies in he comfy bed. Will definetly stay there again. Teresa and Mike

Room Tip: We liked the balcony room over looking Spencer St to enjoy people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 days with a group of friends. Booked 2 rooms, 1 was a 2 bedroom, the other 3 bedroom. The rooms were both clean, linen was crisp and towels white and fluffy.Rooms are serviced daily.
The apartments are extremely well located in that the free city circle stops at the door (literally!! ) as do the pay trams. Its also close enough to walk to Docklands. Spencer Street station is an easy few minutes walk and thats where you can get the airport shuttle bus from. They also store luggage for early arrivals and those with long days in Melbourne after checkout.
One drawback is if the room faces Spencer Street. Trams make a lot of noise braking (noticeable at night when you try to sleep) as do cars at the lights... not to mention trucks and street cleaners. Even with the window fully closed the sound is extremely audible.

While the reception staff were helpful in providing a cloak room and an 11 am checkout, they weren't so helpful in booking cabs. Seems the hotel has a rule that the cabbies have no knowledge of... that they must park their cab (bear in mind the hotel is on the intersection of La Trobe and Spencer Street , two main thoroughfares with no parking signs) and come into collect us passengers. This resulted in one cabbie arriving but the staff became quite loud and rude when I tried to get my party to move out into the cab. This resulted in the cab taking off. Another was called ...same almost happened but this time I ignored the rule. The cab driver ensured us he had no knowledge of the rule. So, get cabs on the street :)
A minor glitch in an otherwise great stay.

Room Tip: Not facing Spencer Sreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheG0Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,910 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#158 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#133 of 161 in Melbourne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
617 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 161 in Melbourne
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $79 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing