We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great service & atmosphere.”

Rice Paper Scissors
Ranked #7 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Rice Paper Scissors offers a punchy, share-style menu influenced by traditional South East Asian flavours. Guests will experience bold street food-inspired dining that showcases the very best in local produce. Indulge in our twice-cooked sticky pork belly, smothered in tamarind caramel or perhaps our sashimi grade, cured South Australian kingfish nestled on crisp prawn crackers. Rice Paper Scissors' mouth-watering menu is also partnered with signature cocktails, craft beers, and curated wines. Motivated by the excitable snapping of chopsticks and clinking of glassware. Rice Paper Scissors is a restaurant that prides itself on creating a space for guests to indulge in not only its menu but the company of others.
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

Went here for pre theatre dinner starting at 5pm with a girlfriend. Explained that we wanted to take our time and staff were very attentive in making sure that dishes staggered over 1.5 hours. Wonderful cocktails and we had the 5 dish service @$34pp. We had chicken special, Asian greens, BBQ prawns, barramundi with Apple salad, lobster and pork dumplings with burnt black bean & chili sauce. All very good with excellent clean flavours. Highly recommended. You should book as there was a queue to get in.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank lady5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 533 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

We visited during our dinner break from Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. This little gem of a restaurant was ideally located behind the Princess Theatre. Both the food and the service were excellent, we will definitely be back next time we are in Melbourne

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Lee_228048
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

i went here with my parents for an evening, we had never heard of it but we were close to chinatown and decided with she go to an asian restaurant at least once on our trip

wow

it was amazing
everything tasted incredibly authentic and i can’t fault any of the dishes i had the food was astonishing

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank the_short_charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

I went here to celebrate my birthday with a friend because I have eaten here before and every single time the food has been absolutely delicious.

On this occasion I found the customer service from every single staff member to be exceptional! They made my birthday celebrations so special!! Not only did they make a fuss of me every time they came over but I got a complementary dessert with a candle and every single person including the kitchen staff signed my receipt with a happy birthday message!!

A job well done to this establishment for serving amazing food and providing friendly and genuine customer service!!

I couldn’t recommend this place enough 🙂

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank mlong926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

Super friendly service from the moment you check in, right through the entire dining experience. The food is outstanding. If you are up for a cheeky chat during your visit or need help with Cocktails ask for Gorbachev. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nsjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Rice Paper Scissors also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
South Yarra, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Rice Paper Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.