We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait”

Rice Paper Scissors
Ranked #7 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Rice Paper Scissors offers a punchy, share-style menu influenced by traditional South East Asian flavours. Guests will experience bold street food-inspired dining that showcases the very best in local produce. Indulge in our twice-cooked sticky pork belly, smothered in tamarind caramel or perhaps our sashimi grade, cured South Australian kingfish nestled on crisp prawn crackers. Rice Paper Scissors' mouth-watering menu is also partnered with signature cocktails, craft beers, and curated wines. Motivated by the excitable snapping of chopsticks and clinking of glassware. Rice Paper Scissors is a restaurant that prides itself on creating a space for guests to indulge in not only its menu but the company of others.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Great concept with tasty Asian food in a small restaurant in a side street off the top of Bourke Street. Choose 5 items to share from a wide selection of dishes for $70 for two for dinner or $60 for two for lunch. Caters for meat eaters through to vegans. Drinks are reasonably priced and decent sized.

Staff are friendly and seem to be enjoying themselves and the place has lots of repeat customers. Don't expect to walk up and get a table. They will take your mobile number and text you when they have a seat, stool, counter top - usual wait time is 30-60 minutes. Don't fret there are many drinking holes nearby.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 593 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

Went here on a Friday night at 7pm, first-in first-serve basis I think. Was a friend of ours’ recommendation. We put our name down at the door and the lovely host suggested table would be ready in 30 minutes.

Checked out Meyers Place across the street to kill time - amazing street art, like being in the tropics.

Great little restaurant - very popular, lovely and friendly hosts/wait persons.

We took the set menu (not including drinks) - all up 4 adults 1 child around $200
Tapas style food, small plates to share. Delicious, beautifully presented food; Asian - Thai style, some had spicy punch to it. And most important of all, cocktails to die for!

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LizNmArK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

This place is a little gem off the beaten track! Make the trek up Bourke St, turn left onto Liverpool St and you'll find food heaven. Asian inspired tapas, the hero dish is definitely "Galloping Horses" but everything is simply great, highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank chrisfP4553ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Cool fun and vibrant place.

Food was also fantastic. SEA tapas.

Small cozy environment with great friendly staff.

Whether you’re at the counter seat or otherwise, you’re in the centre of all the activities.

Choose the sticky pork and the bettlenut wrap....delicious.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank stevenpN5318FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

I visited RPS on a Wensday night, arrived around 8pm with 3 people no booking, it was busy so we left our name with the hostess and went to the little bar next door for a quite drink. We were seated within 15 mins and it was a great experience from start to finish. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable, the food really was top shelf and atmosphere buzzing. Oh.....do yourself a favor and try their take on a Bloody Mary outstanding!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank EatandSleep2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Rice Paper Scissors also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
South Yarra, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Rice Paper Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.