We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it!”

Rice Paper Scissors
Ranked #7 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $43
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Rice Paper Scissors offers a punchy, share-style menu influenced by traditional South East Asian flavours. Guests will experience bold street food-inspired dining that showcases the very best in local produce. Indulge in our twice-cooked sticky pork belly, smothered in tamarind caramel or perhaps our sashimi grade, cured South Australian kingfish nestled on crisp prawn crackers. Rice Paper Scissors' mouth-watering menu is also partnered with signature cocktails, craft beers, and curated wines. Motivated by the excitable snapping of chopsticks and clinking of glassware. Rice Paper Scissors is a restaurant that prides itself on creating a space for guests to indulge in not only its menu but the company of others.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

Great food! Must try places in Melbourne for sure! Great prices and even better flavours. Good service. We had the 5 share plates for $59 and a dessert. Savoury food was delicious, my favorite and must order dish for me was the Galloping Horses, an absolute bite sized flavor bomb! The Vegan dish of tempura eggplant with papaya salad was good too. Although the dessert was decent but didn't deliver on Lemongrass flavour for being a Lemongrass and Ginger pudding with condensed milk ice cream, burnt palm sugar caramel and crumble. That being said the dish was technically well executed but was crying out for something to cut the sweetness. All in all a great meal.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Nidhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 624 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

My hubby young son and I attended at 12 on Sunday to enjoy some beautiful food before the theatre. We had the 5 plates lunch deal and 2 rounds of roti bread.
I can’t remember everything that we ordered but we loved everything. The peanut sauce that comes with the roti is absolutely stunning.
I know we had the lamb ribs and the dumplings and the seafood salad and the crying tiger and I can’t remember our last dish but it was all beautiful and the service was fantastic too

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BekBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

I was so excited to eat at Rice Paper Scissors, I mean the reviews are just outstanding....but honestly, what's all the fuss about? This restaurant was tiny and therefore noisy to boot! Four of us sat outside on tiny uncomfortable stools where we ordered tapas to share. The table was so small we had to put our drinks on the ground...seriously!! The food was underwhelming and the prices absurd. I would never come back here.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel_Foodie_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

It’s a little pricey but they do a great lunch menu and you get a great selection of items. They can do a lot of things vegetarian and the food is delicious. Staff are friendly and venue is cute

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Stephierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Rice paper scissors is a reason to visit Melbourne and as Kiwis in our 60s who love Asian fusion this restaurant is a treasure.
We have eaten there so often over several years while we holiday in Melbourne that the amazing team led by Travis treat us like family.
Sometimes you have to wait but to walk away is to miss out on what you will later talk about as the trip highlight.
Gary and Lee

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank GaryLee1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Rice Paper Scissors also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
South Yarra, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Rice Paper Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.