We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious food and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rice Paper Scissors

Rice Paper Scissors
Ranked #6 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Rice Paper Scissors is modeled on the hawker dining bars of South East Asia with a shared-eating concept being the focus of our offering. We aim to serve only the freshest ingredients, sourced organically and ethically where possible - and all our sauces, pates and relishes are made in-house.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Really enjoyed a very late meal after Les Mis. Service was excellent, happy to serve us even though it was after 10:30. Food was excellent and easy to share.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chauncey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    338
    72
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Cocktails and Epic Finger Licking.....Food :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

You eat, you live, you breath and you eat! Oh..and sometimes you work, so you can eat. It was a birthday dinner with 9 of us squeezed into a small table and kicking in the evening with cocktails. As I told the server, I like full moon and I like panda's so I had the Full Moon Panda. It was boozy and refreshing. Go figure! The hit surely was the food. The selection was varied and the shared plated were just right. The ribs were ridiculously tender, juicy and flavourful. The fried chicken was nothing like I have had before. The betel leaf was used in an innovative way which worked well with the dish. And the simple lotus root fries were spot on. Although, I wonder how did they manage to get such big lotus roots! The service was excellent with the people taking good care of our group. All in all, the food was EPIC! I recommend reservations as it is a very cozy place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisIsTheGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Food is superb. Full stop!

We got the 5 tapas for $49 and it was excellent although this was too much to eat between just two girls. Although I recommend it anyway as you get to try 5 amazing dishes!

This place is a must if you're in Melbourne.

Helpful?
Thank sbar145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We met my cousin from Perth and we are so pleased we chose this restaurant everything was amazing from the staff to the cocktails and the food it was just delicious . We chose the $49 shared tapas plate by two everything was so so good if one was to pick a highlight it would be the pork rolls but everything was so good we chose the lamb ribs, laab Ped ( duck) ,pork rolls, crying tiger, and soft shell crabs rolls.
Please leave enough room for the desserts just mouthwatering all in all a great lunch would recommend this restaurant to everyone do yourself a favour and just get to rice paper scissors.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had the most amazing lunch with friends here. 5 courses for 2 people for $49- unbelievable value! This would have to be the best meal that we have had in Melbourne thus far and we have had some crackers! Thank you! The Terrarium dessert was sublime!

Helpful?
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Paper Scissors also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rice Paper Scissors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing