We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and will not stay anywhere else in Melbourne again. A wonderful experience both inside the hotel and out. Our room was comfortable, clean and extremely quiet. We used the pool and spa and were very impressed with them. We ate in the Melba Restaurant and had high tea at the Aria - honestly we could have been anywhere in the world, it truly felt like we were on holiday. The other positive is the proximity to the CBD - just a quick stroll and it's proximity to Southbank and Crown Casino, in fact we felt like we had everything we could possibly want at our fingertips.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byza2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,447
    791
    258
    76
    58
See reviews for
713
2,307
243
791
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I have every seen. It was lavishly decorated, the staff was outstanding and beds were soooo comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pony77459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The service at The Langham was impeccable. You would only have to speak to any of the staff once about your day or where you were going and the next time they saw you they would remember and ask how it was - it is these ‘little’ gestures that make your stay fantastic! The concierge and door men were absolutely marvellous and were only too eager to help! The room was quaint but up-to-date with technology. It was always clean and tidy and the turn-down service was amazing. The Aria bar and Melba restaurant were lively and the food was lovely. The Langham was in the perfect location – walking distance to the city and wonderful cafes and restaurants. The service at The Langham is second to none and is what sets them above the rest!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

From Peter at the door to David and Suzanne in the Club this was a great experience. The staff, service, the room, the food were superb and the ambience of the hotel matches the Royal Hawaiian.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I had heard wonderful things about this hotel but I have to say I was disappointed. Although the staff were really wonderful i found the quality of the hotel and the difference between what I saw on the web to be completely different.

My room had a continuous humming noise, the tv was fuzzy and did not access digital, the shower had shocking lighting so shaving was quite difficult.

For the money I paid the Hilton near DFO was so much better last year.

I don't think I will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. All the photos of bedrooms on our website are rooms as you will find them. I can advise that lighting in the bathroom has been increased in our new deluxe rooms. 42inch flat screen TVs are in all our rooms with an extensive list of TV channels. Additionally we are installing new digital wiring which will enable free to air digiital channels in all rooms.
I am sorry that a hum was apparent in your bedroom. We would always investigate any discomfort to our guests if brought to our attention so action can be taken.
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service from our staff and would encourage you to try us again. Please let me know when you are considering coming again.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

A great place to come 'home' to after exploring all day. Fantastic service - friendly, welcoming, polite yet unobtrusive. Although 'old style', the service from all staff in this hotel made it an exceptional stay. Apart from this, the location of the hotel is superb - very central on Southbank - close to a wide variety of places to eat, a walk across the Yarra to the city and walking distance to Melbourne Park and the MCG. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_traveler17111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Just spent a week at the Langham in Melbourne. This hotel is just awesome and I fully recommend it. The location is just superb, just on the Yarra River and a few minutes away from Federation Square and Flinders Street Station. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choices. The staff were also very attentive, and quick with any requests we had. We took a River Corner room with spectacular views of the river and the city...the couple of extra dollars we spent for this corner room were very worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvano1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing