We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“home away from home”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

patsy and i travel the world over, we have lived in 5 star hotels, bed and breakfast and even a 2 star hotel, there is no hotel that can beat the langham melbourne for its all round performance in the world.an exciting experience we will never forget.we are looking forward to visiting the langham melbourne again.thank you very much for all your kindness, a 110% performance and a 6 gold star hotel.
Ian creed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,046
    924
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
843
2,685
286
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Langham in Jan 2011 unfortunately only for 2 nights as we were moving on to our next destination. When we arrived the member of staff on reception was excellent, making sure we knew where everything was and that Australia day was the follwing day and giving us info to what was going on.

Our room looked out over the Yarra river and the city which was an excellent view especially as it came alive in the evening with the lights etc. The room and the bathroom were very large and had everything you could require. As i said in my title it had the most comfotabe, bed EVER!!! and made the stay extra special.

You got the usual 5* bits complimentary newspaper was a must have, unfortunately there was no wifi in the room but this was not really an issue but something you would maybe expect.

It is in a very good location with the Southbank shopping centre just below it, which had an array of shops and a huge food area serving anything from Nando's to Chinese. Federation square was a 10 minute walk over the river and right out of the train station . There is an excellent tourist centre their offering wifi internet and great advice for anything you wanted to do.

I would definetelty recommend this hotel as the place to stay when in Melbourne!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed at the Langham january , wanted to come and eat out at some of melbourne's great restaurants- chose hotel for the location mostly. Was a little daunted when we arrived - all that marble, fountains etc.
Despite overtop decor and room a litle too fussy for us - we had a great stay. Mostly due to the staff for whom nothing was any trouble. All very comfortable, great location for walks and taxis on tap for venturing further out.
made al lour gastronomic trips - including those out of town very very easy.
The Area where the hotel is located is on the river.The Southgate complex itself doesn't have the best shops or restaurants inn melbourne but they are all very close by - just across the river ,Would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodietraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This is the ultimate experience - it's only the second time I have stayed here but it won't be the last. I have stayed at about 15 hotels in Melbourne but this is the one I will be returning to. It's worth the extra cost. Great position and overall everything was of a great quality and personalised service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RheaKavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Langham is a beautiful hotel; from the moment you step inside, the hotel staff are friendly and attend all of your needs. The hotel itself is gorgeous, beautifully decorated and has every facility required by a guest.

The location is perfect, a short stroll from all of the best Melbourne has to offer; the city itself, Crown and Eureka towers, even the botanic gardens and the MCG are close by.

The quality of the rooms, facilities and services is top notch; the Langham boasts a beautiful restaurant, where breakfast is served with a picturesque view of the Yarra.

A truly fantastic hotel, I have always wanted to stay at the Langham, and I found it to live up to its reputation. If I ever come to Melbourne again, I won't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVictorianExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

There a lot of reasons that this is the #1 hotel in Melbourne and I don't intend to reiterate them all. I will say however that, regardless of the length of your stay, time spent in this hotel always seems to end to soon and when you leave you'll be trying to think of ways to come back as soon as possible. Hotels like this do Brisbane and Melbourne proud.
Only negative is the pricey internet. Would be good to get free wireless internet with the cost of the room - I had to find one item for improvement!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecharlie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagonisi, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After a long journey from Europe we had an unaccpetable reception. The confirmed booking was not available, the staff utterly unflexible to cope with the situation. The reaction of the management to our complaint inadequate and un effective. In addition prices for additional services very expensive, even considering the standing of the hotel. Exception: a very friendly concierge, helping to find our way through Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManolisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay on New Years Eve. Your booking was for three adults and a twin room with two double beds was confirmed to your travel agent. Unfortunately we do not have rooms with three beds in them as you understood. I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,260 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,602 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,124 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing