We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“what a find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Just stayed one night at The Langham for a day at the Australian Open. It is located on Southbank, we travelled by car and it was easy to find. Doorman was extremely polite and helpful, our check-in lady was just lovely and we were upgraded to the 21st floor which was very nice. We stayed in a Classic Room, with a King bed. The room is an adequate size we felt, the bathroom is compact , but thats ok especially as it has a seperate shower and bath, so no climbing into the shower via the bath. Plenty of face washers, hand towels, bath mats and towels which is a ggod touch. Also all the bits you need soap shampoo hairdryer. Bed turn down and complimentary bottles of water in the evening a nice touch. The bed was comfy, pillows not though, linen crisp and fresh, good air-conditioning that you can adjust and really good block out drapes, we woke up the next morning and couldn't believe the time. sleep quality was excellent, really quiet. The pool and spa were lovely to cool down in and relax in after the tennis. We used express checkout and our car was brought up promptly with a complimentary bottle of water for the road.Also plenty of luggage assistance. we didn't use the restaurant for dinner or breakfast, with Southbank so close we chose to eat our meals out. There is also a 7-eleven very close by if you want any bits and pieces.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,912
    900
    287
    82
    69
See reviews for
815
2,619
275
885
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed only for one night (6th of Jan), but I must admit I cant restrain myself from saying a couple words... As we arrived very early I asked (in advance) to accomodate arounf 10am if possible and Hotel made that possible!! Though pity, SPA was overbooked :(( and I couldnt relax there... as I heard so many good feedbacks on their SPA.
Their concierge was a top-professional!! Their breakfast is diverse & tasty!! Their room, design & decoration were beyond all praises.
I had a little issue with the laundry service, but it was resolved quickly. Also at the room we stayed - was very noisy (doors opening/closing, chats of people, etc). There is nothing else to add, - all the rest was very satisfying.

I would like to tell "thank you" once again to the Hotel management who made possible our early check-in!! :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

5 star all the way! From the moment they parked our car, to when they returned it and we left we felt like Rock Stars all the way. Make sure you grab a Suite with a River View! Close to everything and above everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Very central. Easy to walk to most places. Breakfast good but they would do well to try a bit of variety. Staff all helpful and very pleasant.
Slightly annoying that in common with other hotels they want to charge too much to use the internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Lovely hotel. The location is superb and the room was spacious and well equipped. We particularly enjoyed the slippers! Bed was really comfortable. Struggle to find any fault with the hotel at all. If I had to find something to moan about breakfast at the weekend was busy, and pool isn't as impressive in real life as it is in the photos. But these are very minor things, we really enjoyed staying here, very fond memories and would go back tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel82Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

With all our family off on overseas trips, I took my 82 year old Mother to stay at The Langham in Melbourne for Christmas Eve 2010....and we had a ball. Having stayed at The Langham Hotel in Hong Kong,(also highly recommend!!) a couple of times over the past 18 months, we knew how fantastic the service,cleanliness and attention to detail would be....what surprised us was the friendliness, the gorgeous atmosphere especially in the Lobby and Bars and the generosity of all who looked after us to make our stay very memorable! Our requests of a City View were heeded and having also booked into The Club Langham, we felt very spoilt....Whether sipping Champagne and looking at our amazing city at night, enjoying a beautifully laid out breakfast or having our car delivered to the front door with a complimentary bottle of water with a pink and gold 'one for the road' sign, I can understand why The Langham is voted No1 ...I have added some pics. Thanks Langham Hotel for making our 2010 Christmas relaxing and fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have returned to this hotel for 13 years, once the Sheraton Towers and now the Langham it is still a wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing