We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing, elegant, stylish! Every little girls dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is amazing, elegant, stylish! Every little girls dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The experience starts in the foyer, I've never seen anything more beautiful! Everything is pink & pretty and the staff are all lovely!
Just an FYI - they won't let you make any changes to your booking, which I thought was a little rigid... But the stay is amazing and totally worth the big spend!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aust1Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,435
    789
    258
    76
    57
See reviews for
709
2,301
243
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We recently had the pleasure to spend 3 nights at the Langham Hotel ( Melb). Couldn't have asked for anything better, the staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble, what an absolutely beautiful hotel, . Very conviently situated close to city, theatres & casino. Quite pricey, but worth the indulgence. Fantastic experience will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coota21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel during a very busy period - New Year's Eve. The service was second to none and staff took genuine interest in any concerns and ensured that our requests were acted upon. Breakfast was very good. I would definitely return to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was with my husband and my 2 kids in Melbourne for the New Year eve. The Langham was pricey for the new year eve, but we decided to treat ourselves ! But when my kids asked for a cold chocolate milk for breakfast, we were asked to pay an extra charge, since they have to make a warm chocolat cold! What kind of service is that in a 5 stars hotel!!! Since when a couple of ice cubes are charged when you pay more than 600$ per night? We were really upset, and we will certainly not go back in the Langham !Internet is also very expensive!! With a five stars hotel we expect a nice service, full of tact and without stupid supplements!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. I can confirm that the restauarant does not charge supplements for any coffee, tea or chocolate (hot and cold) for breakfast. However we do make a charge for milk shakes, which is made with ice cream scoops ordered by guests. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed at the langham on a new years eve package. Excellent location, service, and extras like access to the pool deck for fireworks viewing. Overall great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
968 reviews
308 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,452 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

After staying 2 nights at the Langham I really can't understand why this place is #1 of Melbourne Hotels. Yes, it's a good hotel, but I wouldn't even rate it 5*.

Why? Because of the rooms. We had a corner-room which I selected because of the view (which was really great) – but the complete interior, the furniture etc. “traditional” without having a great, opulent feeling like i.e. at a Ritz-Carlton. How can I express: a bit the furniture you threw away when your grand-mother died, nothing of value, a bit tasteless, a bit old.

In contrast to this the Club Lounge was great. Good service, excellent food with a wide selection (only something sweet was missing with the pre-dinner snacks).

One night they forgot our turn-down service…

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Langham rooms are classic in style with a timeless elegance, and we have photos of all our room types on our website. Many guests enjoy this style compared to modern or minimalist hotels. I am sorry that you did not like the decor. I am delighted that you enjoyed the services offered at the hotel.
Many thanks for your feedback
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We booked into one of their packages online, Wish Upon A Star, and requested River View Room. We would have assumed that due to the location, that a River View meant we could see the river, but instead, we got a room, that you could only see a very small bit of the water, but we could see the city skyline. The big issue here is that we were advised that we are on the 11th floor, instead the 11th floor is actually the first floor of hotel rooms, and from the 11th floor you could barely see a thing. The hotel itself was nice, we couldnt access the gym or pool, as the sign on the access to that was that we will be back soon. Soon never arrived. Buffet breakfast brillinat, location to Southbank superb, room was adequate, bathroom needed a good clean, bit mouldy. I would recomend but go high floors, anything above floor 14 is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigandblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay .I am sorry that your room allocation did not meet your expectations. The Gym is available 24 hours ,with access via the 10th floor using your room key and the pool access is 6.00am to 9.00pm via the 9th floor Spa reception. We will follow up with the Spa Manager about the temporarily unattended reception. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the rest of your stay.

Should you be returning to the hotel we would welcome the opportunity to ensure your room allocation meets your expectations.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,912 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing