We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning hotel, friendly staff”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The hotel was beautiful - from the water feature at the entrance, to the exceptional chandeliers in the lobby, through to the grand piano upstairs - everything was gorgeous. The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times of the day (and all hours of the night!). The room was clean and tidy upon arrival and was serviced many times throughout our stay. The bed was 2 king single beds joined together, although they had something covering them both so it wasn't noticeable to sleep on. Very comfortable beds. Fully stocked minibar although all of the items apart from water and coffee had an extra purchase price. It took us a little while to work out which things in the room were complimentary and which things (e.g. internet) came with an extra price. They had comprehensive guides in the room covering all features of the hotel, restaurant information and information about other events/sights in Melbourne. Great soft lighting in the room created a romantic atmosphere, nice heavy curtains to keep the sunlight out in the morning for that little extra sleep in! Spa, pool and gym use were complimentary for all guests. I heard they also run a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel, although we didn't use this as we found out about it after we had already arrived. We found it convenient that when we wanted to go out to the theatre there was already a taxi waiting straight in front of the hotel too. The hotel isn't cheap, but we found it worth the money with its convenient location, extravagance and cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,043
    922
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
840
2,684
286
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

From the doorman through to porter, service is 10 out of 10, the only down side to the whole hotel was the way the staff in the breakfast room were out of control because of the busy room , but this gave the hotel an air of imperfection, Highly recommended and look forward to my next stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were in Melbourne for 6 nights in total and we stayed at the Langham for 3 nights to whilst attending a conference. It is in a great location at Southbank and has everything you would expect from a superior hotel in any capital city in the world. We have no complaints whatsover.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Brady_Bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed for 8 days in a Spa Suite on the 20th floor with Club lounge access - accompanying husband who was on a business trip. I think if we had booked a lesser room we may have been disappointed. The Club lounge facilities were excellent - David and his team were second to none, making our 5 year old son welcome. The lounge was great for a relaxed breakfast and it made a difference not having to queue at the Melba Restaurant. We chose to have breakfast in the lounge for our 8 days although we had the option of Melba Restaurant in our package.
Funnily enough, I had the same experience as a previous reviewer with regards to the sub-standard pizza and also being wakened at 8am by loud hammering. We complained and got $10 off the bill! There was clearly renovations going on, but management obviously felt secrecy was the best policy - even though we got little notes everyday with snippets of hotel info! The pizza issue was a real disappointment - especially in a place like Melbourne which is renowned for being a foodie city,
The Spa suite room was fantastic with stunning views over the Yarra. Location of the hotel, close by Southbank and centre of CBD was very convenient. I would stay at The Langham again - it was ultimate luxury with only minor 'bubble bursting' moments!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in a Spa Suite and the services of David and his team in the Club Lounge. We have a very extensive In Room Dining menu of which the Chef is very proud and he is disappointed that we have had shortcomings with pizza making. He has taken steps to ensure that we deliver exceptional pizzas in future. There was redecoration happening in some rooms to ensure our guests continuously enjoy the classic elegance of the Langham, which should not have incurred noise that disturbs other guests. I am sorry that you were disturbed. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Langham Melbourne is simply spectacular. My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and enjoyed every second at this world class hotel. From the moment we arrived in the opulent lobby, replete with jaw-dropping chandeliers and cascading fountains, we knew we were in for a treat. The entire hotel is perfumed with a beautiful (not overpowering) ginger-flower scent (my wife purchased several bottles as gifts), and the service is attentive and efficient (as guests arrived, a new employee would appear to check them in - NO waiting).

The rooms are comfortable and we had a great view of the Yarra River. The old world charm definitely carries over into the guest rooms, with opulent marble bathrooms, lovely high-end furnishings, and terrific feather beds with high thread count linens. The decor is a little less modern than I'd have in my home, but beautiful and appropriate for the property's style - can't fault the Langham on that! Room service is terrific, the Melba breakfast buffet is scrumptious (and I’m NOT a buffet person), and we loved the elegant afternoon tea service in the Aria lounge. The Chuan Spa, rooftop pool/bar and gym are also very nice.

The location is perfect, directly on Melbourne's South-Bank, which has excellent dining, shopping, and people-watching right outside your door. This is a great base for sightseeing in and around Melbourne (and for pampering and relaxing in general)!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please book again for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our one night at the Langham was a for romantic night away from our young kids. I purchased the "Chuan Harmony" one night package in a river view room. Instead we where given room 2022 which is basically the view of the Herald Weekly Times office, maybe the front desk thought we wanted to watch Mike Sheehan write his football column for the heraldsun then to actually give us what we paid for.

But I was determined to not let this spoil our special night, the room itself is lovely, comfy slippers, thick warm robes, all the necessities you can ever need in a room.

While watching the cleaners at the herald weekly times vacuum the floors, when we should have been watching the big lights of the city over the yarra. We decided to get some room service.

We decided to order the $28.00 pizza and the paprika fries, well let me tell you, you dont' have to be Gordon Ramsay to know that the pizza we were given was absolute rubbish! For $28 you expect something half decent, but it was terrible, I reckon I could have gone to the local Coles supermarket purchased a $3 dollar frozen one that would be better quality and bigger. Its not the Chef fault, but Kitchen management need to spend $28 out off there own pay packet and decide if its worth it...

The King size bed in the room is excellent, very comfortable.

Waking up to maintenance people working on an adjoining room at 7am not good at all.

Breakfast - As we turned up the Melba to be seated for Breakfast, there where 3 tables all empty by the window over looking the yarra, but we were going to be placed in the middle of the floor and I asked could we sit by the window and the waiter said no probs. Maybe this was the same guy that checked us in, he just didn't want us to have a view of the river..... The food itself during breakfast is outstanding and delicious.

The rest of the morning was pleasant enough, but I wonder what management would think when we and other guest waiting at the valet parking where watching staff members complain to each other about there shifts.

Maybe next time we will try the Quay West Suites or the Grand Hyatt.

I more than happy to provide all info the Langham to verify what I have just spoken about above.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrD0ubtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. I apologise that the service was not up to our usual high standard. We will conduct further staff training so that this will not happen again. We appear to have had some shortcomings in pizza making recently and this has been corrected by the chef.
We have your details and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss further. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed at the Langham for three nights. It hasn't not been renovated to make it more modern but to keep it's traditional charm that the Langham is known for which i was impressed by. The beds were by far the best i have slept on. We got two beds and you did not want to get out of bed - Just superb! We got room service - Got a burger. No it's not cheap at all. Would be much cheaper to go downstairs. But the room service, defintely could see the attention to detail. A vase of flowers, little jars of mustards/tom sauce etc, the trolley had a little oven under so the burger would stay warm. The staff were helpful and went out of their way to assist you. Its on the 'other side' of the river so you are away from the heart of Melbourne which is good. It's only a 10 minute walk across - and a nice walk too, to the otherside of Melbourne. This hotel is close to theatres aswell. Defintely would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBGG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,112 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing