We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"Sensational"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelsea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Sensational"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed at the Langham for my wedding night. I arrived at 2pm on the day with my mother, auntie and step daughter. I booked the president suite and it was amazing. We went up to the lounge and had afternoon tea. The cakes were beautiful. We definately ate way too much.
We arrived back at approximately 12am. We had a view of flinders street station. The bed was sooo comfortable. We ordered room service and jumped around like 2 mad people. In the morning we went for a swim in the pool and looked over the city, We ordered breakfast in the room and had a late check out.
The service was great. We are going to continue to stay here every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,246
    757
    247
    74
    56
See reviews for
665
2,190
234
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Who said this hotel was 'one of Melbourne's finest'? They should cross over the Yara and stay at the Westin or Sofitel then... the Langham was probably once a great hotel..but now, faded frills. The decor is very late 80's Dynasty...the lobby all fountains, faux luxury and shopping mall lighting. The attitude at check in was non chalant and this is one of the most expensive hotels I visited in Oz. The fountain 'stair case' which everyone seemed to want pictures of...have people never seen a fountain before? honest..there were hordes of tourists coming in to photograph themselves by these fountains...the escalator was out of order the day I arrived and the door/bell staff were friendly...but that is where the 'hospitality' ended.

The room I had was on the 11th floor...1115... partial view of Melbourne...pink and grey/brown interiors. Dark bathroom with poor lighting and a small shower cubicle. The bedspread and duvet were un-natural fibres and the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered in weeks. The hallways were scruffy and the pool (indoor) was like YMCA pool. This hotel is over rated and dowdy, yet in a great location. I guess that is why people stay here. The rooms are not well insulated..I could hear guests on either side arrive, depart, shower and use their facilities...only earplugs saved my sleep.

As I said, next time it will be the Westin or Sofitel. Or, the Prince in St Kilda. Give the Langham a miss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Langham. It exudes 'victorian era' class and style. Staff are exceptional and the rooms were excellent quality. Very central location, with all the South Bank restaurants on your doorstep, and well as a pleasant 5 minute stroll to the city. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustDoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was attending Sealy Bed Launch and had a wonderful time . The Dinner was fantastic. My room absolutley wonderful and I sleplt like a dream on you guessed it.........on a king size SEALY bed. I had a wonderfull breakfast , there was everything there to choose from. Next time I'm in the city I will stay there again

Sue T

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smkmt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Been to the Langham a couple of times and it was both amazing. Good location and good service. The room is a bit smallish though, but it was adequate. Definitely my favourite hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinzeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Recently stayed at the Langham Hotel Melbourne. I chose to write a review as my stay was over and above expectations. Plane arrived early in the morning, and check in is not till 3pm, but the reception staff called housekeeping to clean us a room asap, and then found us at coffee nearby to deliver room key. All staff friendly and knowledgeable. Room was of good size and very clean. The location meant I could walk with kids to Mall, Aquarium, Federation Square, or even Museum. Meals could not be faulted. My 2 and 4 yo children were also treated well in this lavish hotel. I will be going back to try their famous high teas next.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AX008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed here for the Australian Open tennis. What a great hotel, can't wait to get back there. Situated on the Southbank near all the food and wine outlets and a short walk over the river to city. Quiet and beautifully appointed. The beds are amazing and the pillows to die for. Just go there

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Hoath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,908 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing