We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the Langham for six nights...”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stayed at the Langham for six nights...”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed at the Langham for six nights. Very comfortable bed and room had great view of the water. Melbas buffet was excellent for $70/pp. Staff very friendly & helpful. Internet was very fast in room. TV was 42in plasma. Highly recommend AAA++++

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,102
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
858
2,718
287
923
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Spent a lovely few days with my hubby for a short get away at the Langham Hotel.

It was a very nice hotel made more special by good freindly service. Aaron at the Aria
bar was sincely interested in how we were enjoying our stay. His welcoming service and
friendliest made what was special to our weekend. When you have such nice people to serve you life seems a better place.

The resturant Melba was lovely for breakfast. Lovely food efficent staff and a good selection of food. The view was nice and we felt very relaxed enjoying our time there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We always up grade to Club level. The service in the club lounge is wonderful and it feels like home away from home. The staff in the club lounge are very happy to help you in any way. The Corner river rooms are great and just that bit bigger. The Chaun Spar is a very calming and relaxing place and worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Giggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Beautiful Hotel with a very welcoming staff, entrance hall, staircase and water feature. Fabulous room with an equally fabulous outlook. Room and shower room very clean and all equipment required e.g. hairdryer, kettle etc. were in good working order. Beds a great size and very comfortable! I liked the bottle of water delivered to the room in the evening. Lovely pool and spa for a bit of relaxation. No 'scrimping' done with the robes and towels where there were plenty to be had.The staff had decorated the Hotel for Easter and it was very professionally done and looked amazing. Situated very close to the river, at the heart of many types of eating venues, shopping malls, tourist attractions and close to the Casino where the food is very good, reasonably priced, and there is a wonderful 'fire show' outside in the evening. Nicely placed Hotel for an evening stroll round the river. My favourite things would be the room for comfort and relaxation, and the delicious breakfasts for choice and temptation!! As I enjoyed it all very, very much I don't have a 'least' enjoyable thing. I'll just need to save up and make a return visit. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I took my 2 boys for a special treat during the school holidays to catch up with family and friends and decided on the Langham when i saw it was number 1 on trip advisor. It really deserves the ranking and would recommend it highly.

The staff have a lovely confidence about them - that they would do anything for you. The hotel itself has a lovely enchanted feel, opulent without being over the top.

The room was comfortable (beds amazing), with flat screen TV, lovely work area with roomy bathroom. Yummy big white monogrammed towels and a gorgeous box of toiletries in the marble bathroom were a highlight. I love the turn down service at night - when the boys had jumped on the beds during the day, they were re-made and ready for bedtime. Only fault was no Ipod dock for recharging.

Service was fantastic and staff very friendly including in Melba's where we had breakfast each day. The buffet was one of the best - a fantastic array of fruits, pastries, breads, cereals,hot foods - but I have never seen a chocolate fondue fountain (including marshmallows, strawbs, donut balls) or jugs of fruit smoothies, or ice cream to go on your pancakes!

The fitness area and pool/spa was brilliant - the view is great over Flinders St station and Fed Sq. I love the way the glass doors can slide back giving you an open air feeling while being protected from the elements. Plenty of towels and fantastic change rooms with ample toiletries after your swim.

The Langham does the little things well and makes it a stand out from other 5 star establishments. The location for us was perfect. We will be back.

Note - it is the first hotel that I have seen that levy a surcharge (1.5%) for using your credit card - we paid by EFTPOS to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haggis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

booked the Easter offer direct with the hotel which also included breakfast, arrived for breakfast at different times but had to queue for 10 minutes each day as everyone else must have been on the same deal. Breakfast quality was good and plenty of choice. Room very good, well appointed with seperate shower. Hotel corridors looked a little jaded and could do with decorating but the room was fine. Bed was excellent, great bedlinen and superb mattress topper. Also great selection of teas in the in room service.
Having stayed at a number of so called 5 star hotels in Australia this was probably as close as you can get. Location straight on the river was excellent and just a short walk across the bridge into the main shopping areas. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The service was excellent and exceeded expectations. All the staff were friendly and went out of there way to make sure we had a good stay.
the room was excellent (very clean, big tv well stocked minibar, nice bathroom, comfortable bed)
it is located in walking distance of Melbournes CBD
short distance to Flinders street station and Federation Square
located at South Bank; close to five star resturant boutiques, etc.
view of the Yarra River

The building itself is truely enchanting. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,292 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,657 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,033 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,876 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing