We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Exellent hotel, but don't bother with the suite rooms as these really are not value for money, I paid $540 dollars with corp floor access and was disappointed with the size of the room. Otherwise the hotel is great, good location, great service, impressive chocolate fountain for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betts_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,046
    924
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
843
2,685
286
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay, central to everything and with wonderful views of a beautiful city.

The staff are extremely helpful, the food delightful and the facilities are first rate!

5 Star all the way

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne. I would highly recommend it to anyone and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great food and super rooms. Idea location for city centre and cricket / tennis centre's. Loads of good local restaurants

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I have had the pleasure to stay at the Langham twice this year and would have to say that the experience both times was excellent. The service upon arrival was professional and welcoming as only the langham staff can be. The room with a river view was clean, tidy, stocked with top quality amenities and the bedding just superb! The location is central to all the main Melbourne attractions and easy access to most places from the front door. Our stay was just so romantic and we will return again and again. From check in to departure the service, stay and overall experience was luxury at its BEST!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenbmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

When an establishment makes a promise, there is an unspoken expectation that it is kept. Frequently however, promises are broken and amends never offered or made.

The Langham Hotel offers elegance and fine service and did not fall short on either. We chose to stay in the City on Christmas Eve to avoid family arguments and just enjoy the night together. I should also add that I am a freelance travel journalist and was anticipating writing a story on Christmas in the City. The Langham Hotel were completely unaware of this. I purchased my room on Wotif.com.au, paying the going rate.

We selected the Club room, which was an excellent rate for that time of year. The room was spacious, with a small lounge area. I was a little disappointed that we had to pay an additional $40 for a view, which was not mentioned on the site. This was the only negative. I have no doubt though that had I pushed it, it would have been dealt with, if the hotel was not full.

The Club floor is something well worth trying for a special occasion. The service was beyond excellent, with staff not only remembering us, but looking out for my special needs. I have gluten intolerance but was looked after with a special platter cooked by the chef. On learning I also had a painful facial nerve infection, which caused terrible pain when I ate some foods, our attendant brought us some comfort food, all without our asking.

The lobby was equally as lovely, with attentive and efficient staff. My only disappointment here was that on Christmas Eve, it wasn't very Chrismassy! A live performer (usually Friday and Saturday nights) would have added more atmosphere to the night.

Overall, we were delighted. Breakfast was fresh and lovely in the Club and as promised, came with an air of elegance. They kept their promises and apart from a couple of minor marketing points I think they could improve on, it is a worthy hotel for any business traveler, couple wanting to be pampered or international guest wanting a great location in our wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creatavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff and they assisted us with any queries we had promptly. We enjoyed our stay and the facilities in the hotel spoilt us rotten.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistaPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing