We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The stay was fantastic. Relaxing, made to feel special throughout the whole stay and the meal at the Melba was an experience of its own. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,372 - 5,378 of 5,695 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Langham is a well situated hotel on the South Bank of the Yarra. Check-in was prompt and friendly, room clean, bright and well decorated. The bathroom was very nice with a full-sized bath, raindrop shower and plenty of soaps, fluffy bath towels and robes, moisterisers and bits and pieces.
The room was reasonably large, and had a nice ivew. Inclusions: writing desk, flat screen TV, tea and coffee, plenty of hanging space, chais lounge, mini-bar and all the other extras such as iron and ironing board.
Breakfast was very nice (very busy on Sundays), with crispy bacon and lots of cereals, breads and cakes, as well as a chef to prepare omelettes and eggs the way you like. The one improvement I'd like to see would be diners being offered a pot of coffee rather than having to wait for refills from staff.
This hotel is walking distance from great shopping, the Casino and the train station and tram stops are also very close by.
Our 5-star room was very well priced through lastminute @ $395 including buffet breakfast, late checkout of 2 pm, valet parking, two hot chocolates and a cute little Langham bear as a momento.
Will definitely stay again when in town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Beautiful, quiet hotel in perfect location for a week of shopping , sight seeing and theatre in Melbourne. Breakfast is excellent, restaurant offers several options in styles. Staff are helpful at front desk, doormen very polite and welcoming. Located close to some of the best of Melbournes eateries and bars(try the Bear Brass located within the complex) as well as an easy walk to the casino. Transport is all close by, walk across the bridge to the CBD. Rooms were immaculate and staff from house keeping very attentive to all requests. The Langham will be our choice for next stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed at the Langham overnight with three friends for my birthday. We stayed in the Langham Club rooms, which entitles you to afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks and hors d'oeuvres. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left we felt like royalty. The staff were perfect, afternoon tea was indulgent, the view from the Langham Club while having pre dinner drinks was magnificent and breakfast at Aria amazing. My friends have travelled all over the world and agreed that this is the finest place they have ever stayed. If you are going out in Southbank the location is perfect as there are fantastic restaurants and nightlife just downstairs. You would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful place to stay. If you want to spoil yourself, stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneBonnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

As soon as we pulled up in the driveway the experience began. The doorman was very friendly and helpful, reception very welcoming and our room was terrific. Right down to the last detail and second we stayed in the hotel we had an amazing time. Highlights would definitely be the staff were all smiling and friendly, complementary bread and chocolates with dinner and the complementary water in car for the drive home. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel is lovely but certainly what you would expect for a typical five star Australian hotel. To be honest, I was expecting more wow factor given the reviews on TripAdvisor, particularly given it was the "#1 hotel" in Melbourne. I have stayed at other hotels in Melbourne that I consider equally as good, and better.
We paid a bit extra for a corner room. It was a decent size but certainly not generous - the view of the city skyline was very nice. The photos on the hotel's website didn't meet my expectations and I was disappointed with the decor of the room. More bland than wow with lots of pink thrown in. The bathroom was four star and pokey - very small shower and bath. And the shower leaks...why do hotels keep installing these? Annoyingly wet. I also noticed a dirty footprint on the bathroom floor... no thanks.
I was extremely impressed with the in-room dining menu selection - an excellent range of quality meals, especially for breakfast. This is a hotel that considers a choice of healthy meal options. Check-in staff and the 12 noon check-out was also impressive.
The location is great if on foot but if you travel a lot by taxi e.g to the inner city villages, as we tend to do in Melbourne, this hotel is not as conveniently located if traveling a lot by car compared to the city hotels. For this reason, we would stay in the CBD for ease of access.
Still.. lots of charm, handy to the South Bank and five star; however, there is certainly room for an edgier five star hotel in Melbourne. I was hoping this hotel would be it but unfortunately not.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Rooms so comfy it was hard to leave! Spa and Aria bar/restaurant also great. A wonderful High Tea

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,117 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,273 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,921 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $200 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing