We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All our expectations and more were met on our stay”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
1 review
“All our expectations and more were met on our stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

It was such an enjoyable weekend. Our room was lovely and the complimentary services really topped off our stay. The staff and service were excellent. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed. Will definitely recommend to friends and return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nboland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,102
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
858
2,718
287
923
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Langham. I have stayed at many hotels around the world and Langham Melbourne is in my Top 5. I received an email 3 days before my stay and a phone call 24hours prior asking if we had any special needs. We found all staff to be helpful and genuinely cared about our welfare.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Cannot speak highly enough of the professionalism, courtesy and friendliness of the service we received from every member of staff at The Langham during our recent conference. We received glowing feedback from our guests - all of whom are successful businessmen who travel the country and the globe and regularly stay in similar establishments. The Langham was a key component in making the launch of our latest vehicle one of the best we have undertaken.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzukiPRMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We spent three nights here and would recommend this hotel. We paid the extra few dollars to ensure a river-view room and were pleased we had; we were on the 21 floor and had a great river and city view.

The bedroom was very comfortably furnished and housekeeping was excellent. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've experienced.

The Aria lounge is a nice place for a cocktail and we had to smile at the 'fire'.

Breakfast choice was first-class with plentiful choice for both continental and cooked, they even have a chocolate fountain! ( A small criticism - tea/coffee is served and we found it very difficult to catch waiter/waitresses eyes to get a refill.)

Staff are very customer focused and service was prompt, friendly and efficient.

The foyer of the hotel is impressive and all public rooms are very comfortable.

We would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Near distance to everywhere!
Gentle and friendly staff in reception.
Currenlty swimming pool is under maintenance.
We got free internet included in our package too!
Langham hk, Langham melbourne - both great!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stay at the Langham Melbourne regularly on business trips. Great rooms, great position, good gym and excellent staff. Without doubt, the most extensive and delicious room service menu of all the hotels I stay in. Oh... and the beds... divine.

It’s a pleasure to stay in a hotel where nothing seems too much trouble. I always look forward to coming back and rarely consider staying anyone else when I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Langham's location in the heart of Melbourne, overlooking the Yarra river, would be hard for any hotel to beat. It is close to public transport, shopping, and the many amenities of the Southbank area.

We booked a two night package though the hotel's website which included valet parking and buffet breakfasts, and we paid a few dollars extra for a guaranteed river view. Our room offered all the facilities one expects of a 5 star hotel, along with glorious views of the city and river. The king size bed was very comfortable, although we found it impossible to regulate the air conditioning sufficiently low to enable a good nights sleep - a shame the window wouldn't open just a fraction.

We dined in the Melba restaurant one night, with a group of friends, and enjoyed the very extensive selection from the buffet (I believe there is also an a-la-carte menu). Similarly the breakfast buffet offers a wide choice of dishes, and very capable service by the smiling waiters.

All in all this was a very pleasant stay in a sumptuous hotel. A final comment is that we've stayed at the Langham a few times over the years, and the rooms will need refurbishment in the not too distant future - we could discern no changes since our last stay four years ago, and the furniture in our room was looking just a little bit scuffed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,292 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,657 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,875 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing