We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An exceptional hotel. Almost perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exceptional hotel. Almost perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the Langham for a week and the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always polite and courteous. It's close to everything, including public transport. The rooms was a decent size - we had two singles. Beds were very comfortable, shower and bath no problem, very very nice toiletries and well looked after. If the breakfast coffee had been hot the hotel rating would be absolutely perfect. My daughter is a gym fanatic and she rated the gym as 'excellent' for a hotel gym.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoswellsMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,602
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,400
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

The staff were attentive and extremely pleasant at all times and the Hotel is pure Luxury!
We had a really fantastic break and would recommend The Langham to anyone who needs a little R & R.

Tricia

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Westernn Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Langham from 19/6 for four nights on a short break to Melbourne. Our stay was wonderful. At check in we were advised that we were in a non smoking room when I had requested a smoking room. This was smoothly sorted out and we were soon in our room on the 21st floor. Partial views of the Yarra and Southbank from our window. The room had all the amenities expected of a five star hotel. Lovely toiletries, bathrobes, in room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board. We both loved the bed and pillows. Very comfortable. Our room had one of the newly installed flat screen tv's that my husband made use of.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many options close by. We also didn't use the pool or spa facilities so can't comment on these.
Staff were always friendly and polite and check out was a breeze. Overall we had a great stay and look forward to staying here again. A quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lismar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed for two nights 12 / 13 June. It was fantastic, rooms were of a good size, really clean and the persoanl amenities were pretty nice. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble, even when we needed emergency safety pins! Breakfast was great, but didn't have dinner although the afternoon teas looked pretty special!

The hotel is set out really well and we loved the spa and pool area...we had it completely to ourselves which was a treat. We ordered room service and it was fast, fresh and overall excellent - the meal sizes were generous by hotel standards and the fresh complimentary breads were a great addition.

Definitely looking forward to our next stay....even though we only live around the corner....that gives you some idea of how impressive our stay was!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the Langham Hotel using Fly Buys points. The hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of Southgate i.e. close to restaurants, shops, Sunday market, Yarra River, Crown Casino (Village Cinemas) and the Melbourne Exhibition Centre.

We decided to stay here because my husband had booked tickets to a show at Crown for my birthday. In addition, there was a Print Expo at the Melbourne Exhibition Centre that weekend so everything was so close.

I received a call from the Langham a day or two before our stay - not just the routine courtesy call, but a call from David, the "Service Stylist", who wanted to know if there was anything at all he could do for us to make our stay better. He even gave me his personal phone extension in case I could think of anything later. I found this call very genuine and friendly - not a "routine" call at all.

Our room was clean and comfortable and I could not believe the amenities that we provided. Instead of just the normal shampoo and soap, there were also toothbrushes, hand shavers! Very up-market! The shower was fairly large, with a good, strong jet. We received a complementary newspaper in the morning and were able to get a late checkout for 2pm, after having a delicious lunch at the Melba Brasserie.(Just a hint with the restaurant - it is lovely but Sunday lunch is a lot more expensive than other times of the week.)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace-San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

The Langham Melbourne is the perfect location to stay whilst visiting the theatre. We saw Wicked at the Regent theatre and it was only 10-15 mins walk along Swanston St.
We had lunch in the Aria and breakfast the next morning in the Melba. Great selection of food on both occasions and nothing was too much trouble. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

very dated decor & for the price there are alot of newer nicer places in melbourne

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigfella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing