We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent bedroom: reasonable bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent bedroom: reasonable bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

The Langham is an impressive looking hotel.

Its location is most convenient, with excellent access by tram and train or for pedestrians.

My bedroom was fine and up to standard.

However, the bathroom could do with some work.

This hotel is reasonable value for money although it should be noted that I was staying in the period between the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups, also known as the Spring Racing Carnival in Melbourne, which is a fairly busy time for hoteliers in this city of 3.7 million people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom requires some attention
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,255
    760
    248
    74
    56
See reviews for
669
2,194
234
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Langham was our second hotel in Melbourne last week, we chose very carefully looking for a luxurious 5 star experience, which the Langham lived up to in parts but disappointed in others. Our room was a deluxe corner King, a slightly pricier option for increased space and light.
To get the negatives out first - we were on level 21 facing the neighbouring IBM building so no river view (very disappointing for the price). The room decor was older style, not to my more contemporary taste so adding to the disappointment with the lack of view.
The positives however - the bed was wonderful, comfortable with luxurious bedding - very top shelf quality - as were the towels, fantastic. The housekeeping, quantity of towels, turndown service & water etc, the bathroom had a double sink and a bath.
We loved the location, adjacent to the Southbank shopping & restaurant centre and riverside promenade which was great for eating and drinking out in Melbourne.
Checkin and Checkout were easy, the staff were friendly. I don't think we would stay at the Langham again as it didn't live up to our expectations.

  • Liked — Luxurious bed & bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Definately one of my favourite hotels in my home town, Melbourne.
Situated in one of my favourite precincts, Southbank, The Langham is superbly located for leisure travellers. Southbank is an entertainment precinct stretching along the south bank of the Yarra River featuring many fine dining options as well as more casual cafes, shopping, the massive Crown Casino complex and more... with a buzzing atmosphere especially at night. Location is also fine for business travellers also, short walk or tram ride into the CBD.
The rooms are slightly dated, but good enough with great views over the yarra River and city skyline if you book the river view rooms which are slightly more expensive but worth while.

Comfortable bed.

I love the pool and the spa. It's quite a large s spa and it's fun to relax in looking out at the great view of the glittering skyline at night!

We generally eat out at Southbank when there, but for breakfast the hotel restaurant was pretty good in my opinion.

I've never been dissappointed with the Langham and will continue to go back in the future.

  • Liked — Great Location and the views, the pool and spa were good also!
  • Disliked — Not alot.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameron85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimarães
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just returned from a visit to Melbourne (nice city!!!).
Loved the hotel, the personel was just the very best you can expect, anywhere else in the globe, friendly and warm... The facilities -5 star...
Mário Castro

  • Liked — All
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mário C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a lovely elegant hotel the Langham is. Full of old world charm which I hope never changes. The marble bathroom with its multitude of mirrors, the winged armchair and footstool, and the crisp cotton bedlinen added to the feeling of luxury. It was a lovely spacious room with a grand view of the river and city. The location was ideal with just a 10 minute walk over the river into the city, and all along the Promenade were a plethora of restaurants and cafes. The room was immaculately clean, with the staff being friendly, helpful and fun. Having wrenched my spine prior to arrival, it was helpful having a massage therapist insitu at the Spa.

I would love to stay at this charming hotel again.

  • Liked — Central location and it's cleanliness
  • Disliked — No in-room plates or knives with which to eat cheese & crackers I purchased
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellygoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbank
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The Langham Hotel which includes the Chuan Spa is without a doubt the very best of the best in Melboune.
I have stayed here for little "treats" for myself, and have been overwhelmed by the service and staff. I live in Melbourne, you see.
The Club Rooms are worthwhile for the excellent complimentary afternoon teas, evening cocktail service and breakfast with a choice of resaturants. Pay the extra and just enjoy. No need to ever leave the Hotel.
Immaculately clean rooms, fully equipped and Oh so friendly and helpful staff.
Ladies - the Spa is worth every cent. Magnificent massages, surroundings, staff and sooooo relaxing. Worth every cent. The Hot Stone Massage is sublime. All the "girls" are superb, softly spoken and excellent at thier jobs. The "Snail shower" - WOW.
I keep returning and feel special even if for just a night or two and will continue to sing it's praises. You are made to feel special and you really do relax! Ladies avail yourselves of their services, you won't regret it. Choose any one that suits you - go on.
I also treat myself to a monthly Hot Stone Massage and leave myself a full day to enjoy it's benefits.
I can't speak highly enough about this Hotel. First Class all the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank suerue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed at the Langham in a twin room with my sister who was in Melbourne on business. I opted for this hotel as I love luxury, having worked in the luxury hotel business for several years. We booked a package which included breakfast, valet parking and late check-out. The personnel were great, especially the concierge. The room was average. For the price, the little details were not as expected - wallpaper peeling from the cornices, a sweet wrapper beside the television and a tear in upholstery on the armchair. The breakfast was great, however tea bags just didn't do justice to the five star experience. For the price, I believe an update is in order. Lovely sleep in a great bed, quiet location.

  • Liked — Location, view, beds
  • Disliked — Rooms needing updating
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing