We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Checked in to hotel late Saturday afternoon, had a butler pick up our clothes for the night and iron them for us. Fantastic service, beautiful rooms and lovely hotel. Well worth the extra $$. Close to public transport and beautiful views off the city skyline.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmac3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and Club Lounge experience while you were here. I am happy you found our location situated next to the Yarra River and within close proximity to the CBD convenient and you thought the views of the City and Yarra River from your guestroom beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,608 - 3,614 of 6,065 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed in lots of lovely hotels and this one is a winner. Firstly, it is very nice- beautiful lobby, rooms, bar etc. The thing that got us was the fabulous and genuine service! The staff are either really well recruited or trained impeccably. They can make great, meaningful conversation. They know their jobs well and are so helpful. Loved the feel of this hotel. If this is the culture, Ill seek out the Langham Hotels when I travel.

Room Tip: I loved the view back over the river to the main station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351BC351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The quality of the hotel really went a long way for which turned out to be a very enjoyable weekend. Particularly liked the attention to little details, excellent and friendly service and high quality of food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FATWUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate it. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your guestroom comfortable, our food and service excellent and appreciated our attention to detail.We hope to welcome you back to The Langham Melbourne again soon for another pleasant visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Check in: outstanding greeting, very fast and efficient but most importantly a really nice attitude from the staff. Great lobby. Also a helpful bag attendant
Room: old style and very luxurious, a beautiful bed. Great shower and ammenities, probably could use international electrical plugs somewhere
Location: just outstanding, what a place! Walk outside to South Bank where the incredible quality bars, cafe's and restaurants are, feels like Prague! 15 mins walk to MCG. 5 mins to Crown Casino
Service: I was pleasantly shocked at how good service in Australia can be, whoever is training the staff please give them a pay rise because its unique. From the porters to the check in/out staff to the waiters at the bar- everyone smiles and seem really happy to serve you. I gave the porter a small tip for getting my bags up so quickly and he was genuinely grateful. Small things make such a difference!
Food: didn't eat here but the buffet restaurant looked outstanding when i dropped in for a quick look

If I come to Melbourne again, I'll stay here again without doubt. I was tempted to lengthen my stay just to hand around longer. Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: A view of the river would be VERY cool at night I would imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mush5273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stay at the Langham a few times during the year and it is always wonderful. The Club Terrace Rooms are great being able to look over Melbourne from the terrace is great. The Club Room service is good and the food is great. (maybe some more vegetarian options would be better). The ambience of the Langham is special. Its old world charm and service makes you feel like you have had a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for posting such a lovely note on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable visit and you were happy with our new Terrace Rooms, each with their own private balcony with panoramic views over the Yarra River and City Skyline. Our Club Butlers often liaise with our Club Guests for any specific dietary requirements they may have and would be happy to provide these requirements on your next stay. I am happy to hear that our traditional elegance and service allow you to relax and enjoy yourselves when here. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to The Langham Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Back to Melbourne for another round of footy, and back at The Langham after a short hiatus. And what a welcome home. Seamless check in, impeccable room, `delightful' crew at Club Lounge (shame about certain loud guests though); this hotel consistently outperforms the rest. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

People rave about The Langham, and yes, it is fancy and opulent if you enjoy 'old' style elegance. We had a room without a good view (package deal/sale). The room was a good size, furnished nicely, clean and the bed very comfy. The buffet dinner at Melba's is always a favorite with us. Checked out the gym and and although I didn't use it, it looked very well equipped and efficient. I expected the pool/spa area to be fancier - the one at Crown Metropol is a far more enticing experience. The valet parking service was excellent (although at a cost!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your guestroom, our Langham Blissful Bed and your dining experience in Melba. Our gym is equipped with state of the art equipment along with personal training sessions. Our guests are able to enjoy the wet and dry steam rooms as well as the heated pool and jacuzzi before and after their workouts, they can also indulge in a relaxing massage to soothe the muscles in Chuan Spa. I am pleased you appreciated our valet parking service and that it takes the difficulty out of trying to find parking in the city. We hope to welcome you back to The Langham Melbourne soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,508 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,964 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
969 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,125 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $199 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing